We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the countryside”
Review of Blarcreen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blarcreen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardchattan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

It's not very far from Oban but the journey along the loch and up the country lane means you feel you're in another world. It's a lovely old house which has been beautifully furnished and our room was a luxurious retreat. Sian is an excellent host with plenty of helpful suggestions for your stay. There's a wide selection of books in the comfortable sitting room and in the morning there was an excellent breakfast. A great experience!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This place is a bit out in the country, began to think we were driving lost when we finally arrived. Sian met us at the car and led us in to our room. One of the best rooms in our 3 week vacation, luxury from the beginning. Sian knew we were tired, so she brewed us a pot of tea and bought it, with homemade shortbread to our room. Her recommendations for dinner, and her call ahead topped off our evening. Wife hated leaving after one night wishing we had booked longer.

Room Tip: One track road most of the way, you will get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank daleahenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for luxury, hospitality, and a rural setting, this is your place! Sian met us in the drive and warmly welcomed us to our rooms, then invited us to the common room for hot scones and tea. We had a spacious room, beautifully decorated with classy linens, fine local art, and a 4 poster bed. There were beautiful views in two directions. Everything about this place was high class, without an exorbitant price tag. In my book the most important feature of any B and B is the hospitality and friendliness of the proprietors, and at Blarcreen house, we got it all- even breakfast was over the top superb. It's a little bit of a drive from Oban, but we got to drive through a charming sheep pasture and experienced a bit of authentic Scotland countryside! If you are looking for lodging anywhere in the region, I doubt you could do better than this gem of a B and B!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank she61woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Magnificent house, great hosts. Every detail well thought and presented from the beatiful thick robes, bubble bath, candies in room, outstanding breakfast. We even had a fun evening sharing a glass of wine and whiskey with the hosts and another guest couple. Just wish I had known about pre-ordering supper so we didn't have to go out but then we would have missed the cow crossing!!!! Spactualr garden and running river beside the property.

Room Tip: All seem to have beautiful views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We spent a night at this beautiful home which is a bit remote from Oban but well worth the interesting drive into the city. Our room (the Loch Etive) room was super with a large poster canopy bed and a view of the adjacent field complete with sheep. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast in the company of two other couples; one locally and one from Canada. There are two routes to the B&B and we took both. Different views but both drives enjoyable.

Room Tip: The Loch Etive room with a poster canopy bed is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blarcreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarcreen House

Address: Ardchattan | Oban, Argyll, Ardchattan PA37 1RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardchattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardchattan
Price Range: RM600 - RM660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blarcreen House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarcreen House is a Victorian granite farmhouse in beautiful, peaceful surroundings on the shore of Loch Etive, 12 miles from Oban. 5 star rating from the AA. Home cooking and Licensed with king size four poster rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blarcreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing