We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air of any kind and very eager housekeeping staff.”
Review of Super 8 Story City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Story City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Everything was fine until we went to bed and tried to control the air conditioner, heat, & fan. Nothing worked. It got pretty sticky in the room with no air flow. Also, housekeeping knocked two different times before 9:00 to see if we were out. We have until 11:00 to check out with being bothered. She was pleasant about it at least.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank stacyw304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 Story City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

I'm very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the air control. Our staff are readily available onsite and would be happy to move you to another room if you are uncomfortable in any way. I have taken note of this and will dispatch our maintenance to assess the situation, and invite you to give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Nicky P
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

The room was good but prices. The location was very close to I-35 (good). The internet worked well. Breakfast was so so.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 736dennisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 Story City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to rate your visit as well as comment on your experience. It's great to hear how much you like our location, great amenities, and good breakfast. We look forward to your next visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicky P
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The property is just getting old. Things are worn, toilets run on, furniture is missing from rooms, it is just getting old. With new and more modern locations going in nearby, I will search for other locations the next time I follow this route.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank John Mr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 Story City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

I apologize for anything that caused you to have an experience that was less than perfect. Thanks for your feedback I am addressing each of your comments in order to make sure that everything will be just right for all of our future guests. We value you as our guest and we hope that you will give us a second chance to give you a comfortable relaxing stay.

Sincerely,

Nicky P
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I came in on Thursday night and left Saturday morning. We had a great time and were greeted by a friendly woman at the counter. The room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely consider this location again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank ethaniveymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 Story City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

We're thrilled to have your feedback, it's always great to hear from our valued guests about all of the things they liked about their stays with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms and friendly service we pride ourselves on. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I hope you've found your "home away from home" in Story City.

Sincerely,

Nicky P
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Y8012DHjasona
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 Story City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Super 8 Story City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Story City

Address: 515 Factory Outlet Dr, Story City, IA 50248-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range: RM 292 - RM 394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Story City 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Story City hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 35, offers value in a picturesque Midwestern town. Only 45 minutes north of Des Moines and 10 minutes from Iowa State University, our Story City hotel offers easy access to local attractions and restaurants, including the antique Herschell-Spillman Carousel, VF Outlet Mall, River Bend Golf Course, Pizza Ranch, Happy Chef, McDonalds, Subway, and Dairy Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Story City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Story City
Story City Super Eight
Story City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing