We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campinh”

The National Showcaves Centre for Wales
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Pen-y-cae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Voted Britain’s Finest Natural Wonder, and the winner of all major environmental and tourism awards.There are three exceptional caves to experience - Dan-yr-Ogof, Cathedral Cave and Bone Cave. Each cave offers a unique underground adventure. In Dan-yr-Ogof you walk through beautifully decorated passageways for just under 1 kilometre; in Cathedral Cave you walk through enormous caverns, carved out millions of years ago. At the end of this cave you will walk behind 40 feet high waterfalls that cascade around you in the ‘Dome of St Paul’s’, an exceptional end to a truly breathtaking cave. In Bone Cave learn why 42 human skeletons are buried there, and why our ancestors used caves all those years ago.On site we also have one of the world’s largest collections of life-sized dinosaur models. Ranging from the ever popular Tyrannosaurus Rex and Brachiosaurs, to the lesser-known Tsintaosaurus. There are over 220 models to see – you are bound to find your favourite dinosaur! The Shire Horse Centre offers the excitement of two indoor children’s play areas. We also have the farm experience. Why not make friends with the gentle giants – our Shire horses are waiting to say hello. Include the Iron Age village, museum, stone circles, and you have plenty to see and do for all ages. As we are situated in a National Park, you might like to consider staying on our Caravan/Tenting site for your visit to the caves?For those who may want a break, there is our Coffee shop, and finally the Rock and Dinosaur shop to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superb campsite with the caves literally on the doorstep. Beautiful part of the country with lots to do.

Campsite is excellent and can arrive late. Warden in particular very friendly and welcoming as are the staff.

Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan O, Manager at The National Showcaves Centre for Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Dave. Thank you for your very kind words regarding our campsite and visitor attraction, and for awarding us 5/5 stars. I will pass your lovely comments on to Ashford and the rest of the team, and we hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cathedral cave"
in 251 reviews
"bone cave"
in 185 reviews
"dinosaur park"
in 116 reviews
"shire horse centre"
in 114 reviews
"other attractions"
in 28 reviews
"play area"
in 34 reviews
"an iron"
in 16 reviews
"dan yr ogof caves"
in 20 reviews
"small farm"
in 15 reviews
"school trip"
in 12 reviews
"great family day"
in 17 reviews
"farm animals"
in 21 reviews
"iron age village"
in 32 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 30 reviews
"own pace"
in 16 reviews
"brecon beacons"
in 24 reviews
"national showcaves"
in 15 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend came here for a day out while staying in the area. It is quite a strange combination, caves and dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are clearly aimed more at children however the caves had me interested straight away. The first cave was the longest to walk around and very informative, with sound and videos playing in places. The bone cave was kind of disappointing especially after such a steep climb to the top. However, the cathedral cave made the whole trip worth it. It was breathtaking. The waterfalls flowing into the cave are just amazing! I wasn't surprised when I heard you could get married there. I imagine the photos would be stunning. Cathedral cave definitely made the trip worth it. It was £15 per person to get in, which is a bit steep.

1  Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan O, Manager at The National Showcaves Centre for Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to leave this review. Our 250+ life-sized dinosaurs are a firm favourite with children, but there is no denying their popularity with visitors of all ages; our social media channels are full of people taking selfies with them!

Cathedral Cave is very special indeed, and is arguably the most breath-taking Showcave in Britain with its twin waterfalls and enormous chambers. Many couples ‘tie the knot’ in Cathedral Cave every year, and the cave looks even more beautiful when it is full of candles and flowers.

We hope to welcome you for a return visit the next time you are in the Brecon Beacons National Park.

Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited during the Easter long weekend. The caves were great with some beautiful natural features which are well signposted so you don't miss them. The dinosaurs situated across the site are also a fun addition. The site does get very busy (expected, especially over the Easter break) so I'd recommend getting there reasonably early to make the most of the visit. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and will hopefully be back at some point myself.

1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan O, Manager at The National Showcaves Centre for Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Mary. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review following your Easter visit to our attraction. I’m delighted you thought the three Showcaves were beautiful.

We really value your recommendation to others, and we’d love to welcome you back in the near future.

Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were delighted that our dog was allowed in.
The place is very well laid out and offers a lot to learn and see for both kids and adults. Car park was free, admission £15.00 (Tesco’s vouchers are accepted), very nice cafe and a large picnic area. Well stocked and reasonably priced gift shop with a great selection of leaflets for activities in the local area.

Thank LenaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan O, Manager at The National Showcaves Centre for Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Lena, for awarding our attraction five stars following your recent visit, and for recommending us to others.

Well-behaved dogs are most welcome. They are allowed everywhere on site except for our coffee shop and farmyard areas. All we ask is that they remain on a short lead at all times, and that you bring along some doggy bags, just in case.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on a cold rainy day and we were really happy with the caves. Really fascinating walks with spectacular scenery.

Friendly staff and you can bring a dog with you, although not to all areas.

Food in the cafe was nice and at reasonable prices which is always a bonus.

Only downside is the lack of toilets as you can get affected by the dripping water and you’ll have a bit of a walk to find the toilets. Yes, it happened to me.

Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Showcaves Centre for Wales also viewed

 
Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The National Showcaves Centre for Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing