We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent night's stop”
Review of American Inn Colby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
American Inn Colby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Other than a few flies that got into the room as we were unloading our vehicle, room was clean and beds were comfortable. Free WiFi was adequate. Thought we were going to have a noisy night with our neighbors, but Mother Nature drove them away with a rainstorm. Close to the interstate, but there is a building between the hotel and the road, so road noise was not noticed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2016

First impression wasn't favorable. The parking lot is in rough shape with some humps and dips with some crumbling pavement. It took a while to get somebody at the front desk, but we stopped in a little earlier than normal I suppose - it took the clerk a while to find my reservation. So not the best start. The room was mostly clean and neat. It had a small fridge and a microwave as well as a strong wi-fi signal. The AC worked well and the lights and appliances all worked and were in good shape. The mat on the bottom of the tub in the shower was dirty, and the bath towel I used had some old stains on it - so I made sure the other towel that my wife would use was clean, The place is showing its age but the bed was comfortable enough and the room was in decent shape. The wife wasn't that happy with it; so in restrospect I should have forked over the extra $10-$15 to get a little nicer place and keep her happy. I'd be fine staying there again if I were traveling solo - it's cheap, clean, and convenient to the highway,

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIVUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Everything was clean and tidy. Right off the highway and quick access to a truck stop across the street. Also a good restaurant and bar across the street behind the hotel over there. Breakfast was weak coffee and sugary foods, plus an orange drink. We travel with instant coffee bags, so I heated some water in the microwave and had that, then got coffee at the truck stop. For the price ($56 for two people, two queen beds), it was a steal. All we want is something clean , and we always look for a place we can park outside our door. This had both, the breakfast, if you like that sort of thing, and I know lots of people do, is a perk. Owner was friendly and fast to check us in. We had no trouble with the owner or his wife, whom we never saw. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gotogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Motels along the interstate are so expensive, I call it highway robbery. After a long day driving I reserved this room through booking.com. I mistakenly thought it was part of the AmericanInn chain. When we saw it i was surprised but we were tired so we settled in. The owner/clerk was rather abrupt and he did not realize that we had made a reservation through booking.com. However he charged us lower than the quoted rate. The next day Booking.com contacted me to say that he had reported that we were a noshow. I told them he was in such a hurry and that he didn't catch that we had a reservation, so that wasn't a problem. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The wi fi worked. The grounds are in poor condition and in need of attention. But it was an okay place to stay, quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omabluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I am on the road a lot and I know what to expect from a lower end hotel. But this night I will not soon forget. Checking in was a nightmare. The man seemed to be angry at me for wanting a room but after 30 min I am finally opening my door to get some shut eye. No such luck. I turned the light on set my things down and entered the bathroom the toilet seat was up and there was pee and poo in the bowl ..so that explained the smell that hit me when I walked in. I went to pull back the covers only to find a bare mattress..when I called the front desk I was told to come down and get them myself. So after making my own bed I notice a lil black bug on me long story short their were fleas all over the room I flicked so many off that I went and just slept in my car....do not ever stay at this hotel people you would rather sleep in their parking lot

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Richontheroad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colby hotels
3.9 km away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
0.7 km away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
319 reviews
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
174 reviews
0.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
278 reviews
0.8 km away
Super 8 Colby
Super 8 Colby
#3 of 10 in Colby
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Colby

Address: 2320 S Range Ave, Colby, KS 67701-9056 (Formerly Knights Inn Colby)
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range: RM188 - RM330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Pool ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Colby
Best Western Colby
Colby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing