We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Oasis close to the National Parks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of fivespot cabin

fivespot cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
fivespot cabin
the front porch kitchen and dining at fivespot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
fivespot cabin
the front porch
kitchen and dining at fivespot
living area
fireplace with mantlepiece tchotchkes
queen bed in the bedroom
loft bed for the kids in the bedroom
bathroom with a shower and tub
the clawfoot tub has golden feet!
cubbies for your stuff in the bathroom
covered back patio with seating for outdoor lounging
sauna and outdoor shower are behind the house in the back patio
use the sauna after those long hikes in the Park
the view of Logger's Point from the back patio when wildflowers are blooming
looking down on the back side of the cabin from the hill behind
walking distance: a year-round stream with Native American grinding holes and a tiny swimming hole
walking distance: a historic bar and restaurant is a favorite of locals with pool table and jukebox
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pinehurst, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
familyhik...
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis close to the National Parks”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in this lovely cabin with our 2 girls (8 and 5) which is a 15-20 minute drive to the entrance of Sequoia/Kings Canyon National Park. We left each day early in the morning and hiked and explored the parks until late in the afternoon returning to a lovely oasis with all the amenities. In the early evening, the girls explored the property, my husband read and I thumbed through all of the fabulous back issues of magazines and old books the owners have collected. At night, we hiked up the hill on the property to view the stars with a fantastic view of the Milky Way. The kitchen is well stocked with all the tools to make breakfast/lunch/dinner. The beds are comfortable and the cabin is well appointed with everything you need for a lovely getaway. Mahalia provided detailed directions well in advance of our arrival and provided valuable suggestions for picking up provisions before heading to the cabin. NOTE: The California drought is a reality here and in the park. Mahalia ensured we were aware of the safety procedures for wildfires and had extensive instructions for what to do in an emergency. This did not detract from our stay but made us mindful of a day to day concern for the residence of California.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeckahr...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“breathtakingly beautiful!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cabin was perfect. Tons of special details everywhere. The property was immaculate and felt very welcoming. Their is Even a beautiful local cat that comes and visits you. I would highly recommend the property!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieb214
Austin Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This lovely cabin has everything a spoiled traveler needs - sauna, a good kitchen, a deep tub, art, and good mattress. We stayed for a long weekend in October and found Fivespot as advertised and reviewed. The property was charming, quiet, and private and within walking distance of the local watering hole. We drove each day to hike in Kings Canyon and were happy to have a comfortable place away from the tourists to return to each night. Those prone to car sickness should know that the road from the park will truly test you - we seemed to do better each time we drove it. We found the kitchen well appointed with a good mix of utensils, pots and pans, and dishes which allowed us to cook a couple of complex meals that we wouldn't have attempted in most cabins. The sauna was a treat after star gazing on chilly mountain nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatAK25
Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, peaceful cabin near national parks.”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved staying here. Near to the King's Canyon park entrance in a pretty, peaceful location. Very good accommodation, open plan lounge/kitchen etc. but it's the porch, back patio and garden that makes the place. Relaxing after a day's exploring with a cold beer and watching numerous humming birds come and go is rather special. We would recommend staying here for anyone who wants a few days in the mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility of the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Home from home: This cabin is really very special”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Fivespot cabin felt so much like a real home . It has been furnished and decorated with real love and care so unlike many rental properties. The kitchen is very well equipped (a coffee maker and a cafetiere for example) and all we could ever need to prepare meals which is our preference in a rental property. The bathroom was luxurious and also beautifully tiled and decorated. The outside sitting area meant we could watch humming birds on the feeder and walk up the back field for extensive views across woodland to hills in the distance. At night we went back out and sat in the chairs at the top of the field and watched shooting stars in a chrystal clear night sky.This was a wonderful, cosy place and we wished we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishing and colours used in the decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;