We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners coming, hope they gut it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Was in town for business, not sure how I ended up here but I did not make arrangements. This place was probably awesome in 1988 and nothing has been done since then. The room was clean but in bad need of repairs and maintenance. I think maybe four rooms were occupied for the night which was creepy. The sheets were maybe 200 thread count, pillows terrible, mattress worse. I don't think my air worked, it's debatable.
The staff was nice and I hope for thier sake the new owners gut this place and do a major remodel. The name is changing so be on the lookout for that. I'd wait a year or more before even thinking nof staying here again. A local apologized to me that I stayed here, that isn't a good sign.
It was clean, just worn down. If you need a place to crash for the night I'm sure a room is rather affordable.

Room Tip: Watch for name change and hopefully renovations
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Highland Hotel and Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2015

We had an excellent stay here during our bird excursion in Kansas. The hotel is quite big and has great facilities, and the staff is very kind and helpful. We stayed in the outside dome and the rooms we got were quite spacious and clean. Probably the best value for your money in this city.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Paige F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We booked several rooms for a weekend wedding. The rooms were very nice and clean. The managers and desk clerks were very helpful and always willing to assist us in any way. Thank you for the fine service!

Room Tip: We had inside dome rooms and were very nice!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when he was here doing some business in Great Bend. We had made a last minute reservation at this hotel after being recommended to it by a friend who is from Great Bend, and at first, we were a bit weary because of the reviews it had received. But we went with our friends' advice and took a leap of faith. We're glad we did, because our stay here was not as bad or as chaotic as other fellow reviewers had.

While the hotel is definitely in need of some major updating, as the facilities are quite dated, it is clean. We got a great deal to stay in a large room so no complaining there. The only problem was the AC did not seem to work, which made the nights less pleasant. This is coming from someone who is used to high and humid temperatures during the summer, so I can't imagine how others were feeling!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights last month. The hotel is definitely dated, and you can tell renovations are taking place, but still haven't been concluded. Thankfully, our stay did not meet with any major unfortunate happenings. Our room was clean and spacious. We did encounter some problems with the internet/wifi not working though.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Bend hotels
482.4 km away
Best Western Angus Inn
Best Western Angus Inn
#1 of 8 in Great Bend
268 reviews
480.6 km away
Days Inn Great Bend
Days Inn Great Bend
#7 of 8 in Great Bend
129 reviews
481.0 km away
Travelers Budget Inn
Travelers Budget Inn
#4 of 8 in Great Bend
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
481.4 km away
Comfort Inn Great Bend
Comfort Inn Great Bend
#5 of 8 in Great Bend
80 reviews
481.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Great Bend
481.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 8 in Great Bend
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3017 10th St, Great Bend, KS 67530-4261
Region: United States > Kansas > Great Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Largest full service Hotel in Great Bend that has a Restaurant (excellent food), Lounge & Fun Dome all under one roof. 171 guest rooms which include the normal amenities i.e wifi, coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable TV. Fun Dome includes over sized indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, games, exercise room, coin operated guest laundry. Over 25,000 sq. ft of meeting space so whether your meeting is large or small we have a room for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Great Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing