We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are they even open? ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

I tried to reach this hotel close to my booking date & never got a call through. I made sure trip advisor canceled my reservation. Called other hotels in town. They never came out and said it plainly, but this place is a dump, to say it politely.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 260danat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

I don't care how late it is, I don't care how tired you are, go elsewhere. Common area lights burned out, room smelled like someones basement. Slept, more or less, with my gun nearby. Nothing happened but it was a very scary place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hekjlk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We reserved this hotel online mainly because of the indoor pool. I was traveling with my grandson and that was his main requirement.

We drove past wondering if that was the place. The parking lot was almost empty. We checked in no problem and hit the pool. The pool was as expected. The hot tub was a bit cool for my liking but acceptable. We had the place to ourselves. In fact I only saw 1 other person the whole time. My grandson had looked out the window and said he saw another.

The restaurant was closed. There was a sign they were not serving the continental breakfast.

The place looked a bit worn. There was a small hole in the carpet in our room. It was clean and the price was right. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank unclesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I came to Great Bend for training and booked a room at the Highland Hotel...also, called the Parkside Hotel. I tried to connect to the WiFi several times before calling the front desk. The response was that it was working at the front desk, but she could get someone here tomorrow. I have training then, and need WiFi now. I bought microwave popcorn to eat while I worked. The microwave didn't work. The good news...she can get me one in the morning. Yes, when I have training. The Highland/Parkside is also a convention center, but I can't imagine booking a convention here.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

They have been renovating rooms (just ask for one) and try mine (#127 inside) was Great... smelled like a clean hotel room, Coffee/microwave/fridgette all in working order, carpet/upholstery clean, bathroom clean, sheets smelled freshly laundered, room nicely appointed for sitting and sleeping, pool area clean and clear water.
Only bad points:
No Breakfast...
Could not get any good lasting WiFi signal in the room, but the hotel computer in the lobby was fast for directions and reserving a hotel in the next city on my Road Trip....

Stayed: December 2015
Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Bend hotels
480.6 km away
Days Inn Great Bend
Days Inn Great Bend
#7 of 8 in Great Bend
130 reviews
482.3 km away
Best Western Angus Inn
Best Western Angus Inn
#1 of 8 in Great Bend
272 reviews
481.0 km away
Travelers Budget Inn
Travelers Budget Inn
#3 of 8 in Great Bend
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
481.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Great Bend
481.4 km away
Comfort Inn Great Bend
Comfort Inn Great Bend
#5 of 8 in Great Bend
80 reviews
481.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Great Bend
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3017 10th St, Great Bend, KS 67530-4261
Region: United States > Kansas > Great Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Largest full service Hotel in Great Bend that has a Restaurant (excellent food), Lounge & Fun Dome all under one roof. 171 guest rooms which include the normal amenities i.e wifi, coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable TV. Fun Dome includes over sized indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, games, exercise room, coin operated guest laundry. Over 25,000 sq. ft of meeting space so whether your meeting is large or small we have a room for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Great Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing