We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency Inn Kansas City
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ok we had booked two rooms, checked in and was told that they were in the process of cleaning up the rooms. So we decided to go to world's of fun. When we got back to the hotel they gave our rooms to someone else. Even though we had paid for ours. They clearly need to learn how to make sure they aren't double booking rooms. So we ended up with a king size bed with five people to share the same room. The girls had to sleep on the nasty floor. There was no extra pillows, only two towels and the porn channel on the tv wasn't secured for young eyes. We ended sleeping on top of the blankets. In a very uncomfortable part of town. And worst of all its not what they make it out to be. Come on selling condoms and lube in thr vending machine? So not a family hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the worst hotel we have EVER stayed in!!! The room was disgusting! A hole in the wall (literally!), holes in the furniture and bedding. The room smelled. Cigarette stains on the furniture. Refused to take our shoes off! And slept in our clothes. I worried about my safety and also that my car might have gotten broke into or stolen! It was dingy, dirty, an awful!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emgerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I can not believe the pictures viewed here. The room my daughter and I rented was so filthy that my daughter slept in the car. I only stayed in the room (and slept in my clothes} because I am 79 and there was not room for two of us to sleep in the car. We did not look at the room first, My big mistake. There was no toilet set on the toilet. The room was so dirty it should be condemned. I would have ask for my money back, but knew he would have refused to. We had our dogs with us so we stayed because they accepted pets.We did not want to let our dogs down on the dirty floor.Dirty sheets,towels whole place should be closed down. Health department should be called on them.

Room Tip: do not waste your money.rooms a terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to make these sincere comments. I apologize to you for the property falling short of your expectations in so many ways. I only wish you had reported these issues to us at the time. While there’s no excuse for our lapses, we could have probably moved you to another room or taken other actions to significantly improve your stay if given the chance. If there are any unresolved issues or your have additional comments, don’t hesitate to contact us directly. We strive to satisfy everyone, and I apologize again that we were unable to provide a satisfactory experience to you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

One room is 60 bucks a night. Seems average price, but it is not worth the stay!!

First thing we noticed was that it was in a bad neighborhood. Then, we watched as three cars worth of people walked into one room. Very shady...
The swimming pool outside was closed. The area full of trash, did not look like they were going to be renovating or fixing it up any time soon...

We got a non-smoking room and there were burn marks/holes in the bed, floor, and table. There was a used needle on the floor under the table! Blood and urine stains on the bed and sheets - they were not cleaned at all. Small hairs in the towels and the knob to the bathtub was broken off. There was mold growing from the wall near the heater. The smoke detector was ripped out of the wall and left behind the tv. We went and complained but could not get a refund so we got a smoking room.
The room was slightly better, but still not very clean. There were bugs lined up against the wall behind the bed. One of the lamps were ripped out of the wall. The other had exposed wires. There were bugs in the bath tub and the floors of the room were all damp.

Please, save yourself 60 bucks and keep yourself healthy, don't stop here.

The pictures shown were obviously taken over a decade ago when this place opened. It's now used for shady drug deals and who knows what....

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, ESPECIALLY if you have children or pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

we’re sorry that your stay with us was less than ideal. I’m glad to see that the manager on duty was able to provide a replacement room. If it was not satisfactory, we could have moved you again. We have taken great effort in the last several weeks to clean and refresh our property, and the city is making progress improving the quality of our neighborhood. Rest assured that we provide security to keep our property safe. Our goal is to continually improve this motel so that every guest experience exceeds expectations. Whenever we fall short, we apologize and do what’s necessary to make it right. I hope you will stay with us again in the future and allow us to win your trust and your business. Again, we apologize for being less than the best during your stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hate this hotel. Filthy, no hair dryer, had hair all over my bed and bathroom! The guy in the front is extremely rude and doesn't know how to treat his customers! I would never recommend this hotel for anyone. There is no cleanliness in the room either.

Room Tip: Rooms are very dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay at our Kansas City, Kansas hotel did not meet your expectations and hope we can make it up to you during your next stay with us. We want to win your business and your trust. We have retrained our desk employees and made some staffing changes, including changes to our housekeeping staff to make sure every room is always clean and comfortable. We strive to provide the perfect combination of value, amenities and comfort so guests will come again and again. We sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay with us. Our goal is provide exceptional service and quality rooms that will make you want to come stay with us again and again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#13 of 21 in Kansas City
112 reviews
12.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
5.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#7 of 21 in Kansas City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
9.8 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,249 reviews
10.8 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#26 of 109 in Kansas City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn Kansas City

Address: 4725 State Ave, Kansas City, KS 66102-1745
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: RM190 - RM270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Regency Inn Kansas City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Inn Hotel is ideally located off Interstate & I-635, Exit #5, on Hwy-24(State Ave.); At 47th Street & State Avenue corner, near & north of I-70 & I-635 junction in KC-KS, just minutes away from Schlitterbahn Vacation Village water park and The Legends at Village West entertainment and dining district. This Kansas City, KS hotel is convenient to popular attractions like the Kansas Speedway, Cabela's, Nebraska Furniture Mart, the Sprint Center and Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, amusement parks. The University of Kansas Medical Center is also in the area. Argosy Casino Gambling is just north on I-635, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Regency Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing