We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money.”
Review of Kansas Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kansas Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Room not updated in 30 years. Heater could not be controlled got so hot had to unplug. Gravel parking lot. Smell of manure probably from cows outside room. Reviews online were probably from family members because they were grossly inaccurate.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Guest, we are under new management and have several new staff members. Unfortunately, your reservation was entered by a front desk clerk that had very little experience at the time. She put you in an economy room that is usually only occupied by crew members that are looking for affordable, long term accommodations. I can assure you our parking lot is paved and the only "gravel" areas are the RV Park and the truck parking. The cow smell only happens occasionally, and is because we are downwind of the local feed lot. Fortunately, it is a rare occurrence and the smell stays out of the rooms. As for the heater, some of our units are on a time delay to allow the unit to cool before shutting.

We are sorry that your experience was unpleasant and we hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you if you are ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2015

This is the 2nd Kansas Kountry Inn I have stayed in and I have been pleased with each experience. This one, in Oakley, was a one night stay on a long trip. It was very economical, including a free breakfast and WiFi. The rooms were clean, the WiFi worked well, the TV was about 35" and had full cable hook ups. The beds were comfortable and the heater/AC unit was efficient. I discovered that I had left my bag of toiletries behind. When I called them they were very gracious and agreed to mail it to me. All in all, it's a great price for a friendly comfortable little motel that is just far enough away from I70 to deafen the traffic noise.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It was a pleasure having you here and we're glad we could help you get your bag back. Thank you SO much for the lovely thank you note and chocolates, we all enjoyed the treat!

Just for the record, we are now Kansas Country Inn, not associated with Kansas Kountry Inn in Wakeeney.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as we were traveling to see family. Reviews were nearly spot on. We did get a newly remodeled room, clean and friendly folks greeting us when we checked in and out. Beware light sleepers! There are many oil/gas workers temporarily residing here. They are overall very quiet, but are up at 5-5:30 getting ready and going to work.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank MJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Thank you for taking time to review us and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please understand that we had done quite a bit of "shuffling" of our long term crew guests to accommodate the pheasant hunters that came in for the season opening, which was the weekend you stayed with us. We understand the guys aren't exactly quiet in their work boots, and we sincerely apologize if they interrupted your sleep. We have "reshuffled" everyone and moved their office to a better location to avoid the early morning noise for our travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We had a very nice overnight stay at the Kansas Kountry Inn, 3538 US Hwy 40, Oakley, Kansas! Large Room, good beds, microwave, coffee machine, refrigerator, TV in the room. Very clean! The price was doable on our budget and the people were wonderful. The new owners are remodeling the newly purchased motel and doing a good job. We really enjoyed the hospitality of the people working there. We would stay there again when we are traveling through Kansas...this time on purpose...not just a "tired" whim!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We have stayed there twice and loved it. They are very friendly and the remodeled rooms are very nice and clean. Bonus - you get free breakfast in the morning and that includes waffles. Plus it's been very quiet. A nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM021417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Thank you for the kind words and we'll have the waffles ready next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
2.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
33.1 km away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
326 reviews
32.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
578 reviews
36.2 km away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
1.4 km away
Annie Oakley Motel
Annie Oakley Motel
#4 of 6 in Oakley
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas Country Inn

Address: 3538 US 40, Oakley, KS 67748-6001
Region: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range: RM 316 - RM 339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kansas Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a lot to see and do in our area and the Kansas Country Inn provides our guests with the best value in Oakley whether staying for business, pleasure or just passing through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kansas Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas Kountry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing