We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room in Oakley”
Review of Kansas Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kansas Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2016

A very clean, friendly, place to rest your head, price is just right and they have a free breakfast. Take the time to drive the extra mile to stay there, you will not regret your choice! Also swim, as soon as it warms up.

Room Tip: The room faced the road but was very quiet. The construction is much better than the ones that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raelee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear raelee f,

Thank you for the review. We are always striving to keep our guests comfortable for a reasonable price. Thank you for pointing out we are worth the extra mile and we will go the extra mile to make sure our guests are well taken care of. (Sorry if that was cheesy, but I couldn't resist!) You'll be happy to know the weather has finally warmed and we've started working on the pool! Hope to see you again.

Safe Travels,

Maria D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay. Clean, comfortable and no bugs. They offer pilot cars a little discount as well. The staff is awesome. They serve a nice breakfast. It's conveniently located off of HWY 83 an only a few miles from I-70. They also offer a RV park. Just down the street from TA truck stop.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

We always enjoy having Pilot Drivers and we respect you all for keeping things safe while guiding Oversized Loads. Thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Was here for two separate nights a week apart. First night was good. Was in a newly remodeled room. Clean enough, fridge,micro and 4 cup coffee maker.

Second stay, a week later, got an older room. No coffee pot. Front desk advised they are only in remodeled rooms. She looked for a coffee pot for me to use, but no joy. Thank goodness I carry instant with me. Fridge and micro, heater worked fine, but the room REEKED of bug spray, so much so that I got a headache.

Nice staff.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank _MaverickTravelor_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can assure you that we take the utmost care to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible, and we regret that your room was unpleasant. The only spray we use, other than a light air freshener, that has any odor is to combat smoke odors. It is possible that you were unfortunate enough to follow a smoker in a non-smoking room, or it was a smoking room that was over-sprayed. We are under new management and are making great improvements daily. We are working on remodeling the remaining rooms and offering amenities, such as coffee makers, in all of our rooms. We sincerely apologize for the headache and we hope you will give us another chance, should you be in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Room not updated in 30 years. Heater could not be controlled got so hot had to unplug. Gravel parking lot. Smell of manure probably from cows outside room. Reviews online were probably from family members because they were grossly inaccurate.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Guest, we are under new management and have several new staff members. Unfortunately, your reservation was entered by a front desk clerk that had very little experience at the time. She put you in an economy room that is usually only occupied by crew members that are looking for affordable, long term accommodations. I can assure you our parking lot is paved and the only "gravel" areas are the RV Park and the truck parking. The cow smell only happens occasionally, and is because we are downwind of the local feed lot. Fortunately, it is a rare occurrence and the smell stays out of the rooms. As for the heater, some of our units are on a time delay to allow the unit to cool before shutting.

We are sorry that your experience was unpleasant and we hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you if you are ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

This is the 2nd Kansas Kountry Inn I have stayed in and I have been pleased with each experience. This one, in Oakley, was a one night stay on a long trip. It was very economical, including a free breakfast and WiFi. The rooms were clean, the WiFi worked well, the TV was about 35" and had full cable hook ups. The beds were comfortable and the heater/AC unit was efficient. I discovered that I had left my bag of toiletries behind. When I called them they were very gracious and agreed to mail it to me. All in all, it's a great price for a friendly comfortable little motel that is just far enough away from I70 to deafen the traffic noise.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Public Relations Manager at Kansas Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It was a pleasure having you here and we're glad we could help you get your bag back. Thank you SO much for the lovely thank you note and chocolates, we all enjoyed the treat!

Just for the record, we are now Kansas Country Inn, not associated with Kansas Kountry Inn in Wakeeney.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
2.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
33.1 km away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
328 reviews
31.9 km away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
282 reviews
36.2 km away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
32.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Colby
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas Country Inn

Address: 3538 US 40, Oakley, KS 67748-6001
Region: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range: RM 317 - RM 360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kansas Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a lot to see and do in our area and the Kansas Country Inn provides our guests with the best value in Oakley whether staying for business, pleasure or just passing through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kansas Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas Kountry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing