We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little quiet in a remote cottage”
The Lainhart Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Single bathroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Second bedroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Outdoor Dining Area
Additional Outdoor Dining Set
Entrance / Driveway to the Cottages
Picnic Area for Large Groups
An Overlook of the Pond
The landscape between the cottages
Beside The Elwood Cottage / Driveway
The Elwood Cottage
Just the right amount of natural Light. Come take a looksie from the balcony...at The Elwood Cottage
A breakfast nook and laundry room, too!
The Price is Right!
First bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Extras in the second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Covered Patio
Outdoor dining area at The Elwood Cottage
Easy Breezy
Smell the Flowers
Daniel Boone National Forest -- View from the covered patio beside the Hot Tub
Hot tub at The Elwood Cottage
From the driveway beside the Pond   *all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
So colorful!
Beautiful Autumn here at Hisel Valley Retreat
*all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mc Kee, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CTHope
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little quiet in a remote cottage”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Upon arriving, we were greeted by Emery (along with three friendly dogs) and were directed up the hill to the Lainhart cottage. He was very welcoming and took the time to show us the property, which more than met our needs and was well-stocked with a variety of useful items. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet that the cottage provided, as well as the hot tub, and generally just spent our two nights there relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet; hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve a
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at this property for a three night get away. This place way surpassed our expectations. The pictures did not do this place justice. The owner was very gracious. Our stay can not be simply put into words. We can not wait until we have the opportunity to visit here again. Would highly recommend to anyone who is considering renting this cottage/house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion/hot tub
Liked least: Rain every day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Remote”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Elwood Cottage at Hisel Valley Retreat for one night. It was a very hot day, so we walked around the land a bit with our dog, cooked a good meal (used the grill on the porch), and when it cooled down, we went in the hot tub and did some stargazing. The cottage had everything you could need for your stay. Emery was a great host and his dogs were cute and friendly. We would love to go back! It's very peaceful there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newtonr41
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hisel Retreat is a fantastic place to get back into the country life and relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The cabin was very comfortable and well stocked with almost everything you need. WiFi is available making it easy to stay in touch with the world if you desire to do so. The beds were extremely comfortable making for a terrific nights rest. You need to plan well in advance what supplies you will need as the retreat is very secluded and remote. Emery is very sociable and will help with any needs that arise.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing