We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome History”

White Hall State Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Hall State Historic Site was the home of Cassius Marcellus Clay, 19th century emancipationist, politician, newspaper publisher, Ambassador to Russia, and friend to Abraham Lincoln. The restored Italianate mansion was built in 1798 and remodeled in the 1860s. General Green Clay built the original brick Georgian-style home called Clermont. Cassius M. Clay inherited the house upon his father’s passing. He and his wife Mary Jane Warfield Clay built the new addition that more than doubled the size of the house and added such modern amenities as indoor plumbing and central heating.
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This place was absolutely amazing. If you are a history buff, or simply just like huge old houses, you must visit White Hall.

Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

Thank you for the review! We are glad you stopped in and enjoyed your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cassius clay"
in 17 reviews
"historical home"
in 4 reviews
"small visitor center"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating history"
in 3 reviews
"kentucky history"
in 4 reviews
"every hour on the hour"
in 2 reviews
"small lake"
in 2 reviews
"answered every question"
in 2 reviews
"history lovers"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide was very knowledgeable"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"mansion"
in 6 reviews
"tours"
in 11 reviews
"playground"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

White Hall offers a great historic experience combined with a beautiful small lake, playground and bike riding, walking and running trail that covers a lot of the scenic grounds of the site. Just a few miles off of I-75 and the lake has a small dock that is a great spot for fishing.

Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and I visited White Hall on a Friday afternoon and were very pleased. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and his passion for the building was evident. I will visit again, hopefully for one of their special events.

Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Thank you for visiting White Hall State Historic Site! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again and we thank you for taking the time to review our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The tour guide had tremendous historical knowledge and a real love for the place. Defiinitely worth the small fee.

Thank DarethaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 May 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your tour of White Hall State Historic Site! We hope you come back and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

White Hall was the home of the Clay family. The son, Cassius Clay, was an emancipator in the 1840's, which made him very unpopular. Muhammad Ali's (aka Cassius Clay) grandfather was a friend of Mr Clay's and that is who Muhammad was named after. The White Hall Cassius Clay lived a pretty wild life. Home is wonderful to view and full of pieces original to the family. This site is a little off the beaten path but well worth the visit.

Thank Ann093013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 May 2017

We are glad you that you have enjoyed White Hall State Historic Site. We are a little biased, but we agree that our history is pretty fascinating. Cassius is not very well known by most people, but he was certainly influential in his time. We hope you come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hall State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to White Hall State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing