We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day to visit a beautiful place”

White Hall State Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Hall State Historic Site was the home of Cassius Marcellus Clay, 19th century emancipationist, politician, newspaper publisher, Ambassador to Russia, and friend to Abraham Lincoln. The restored Italianate mansion was built in 1798 and remodeled in the 1860s. General Green Clay built the original brick Georgian-style home called Clermont. Cassius M. Clay inherited the house upon his father’s passing. He and his wife Mary Jane Warfield Clay built the new addition that more than doubled the size of the house and added such modern amenities as indoor plumbing and central heating.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My daughter, granddaughter and I visited here yesterday on a beautiful fall day. The grounds are lovely and the old house beautiful . We had a very knowledgeable guide who gave us a one hour tour of the house. This house that Cassius Marcella Clay’s father started is very beautiful. He and the house have a very interesting history. I highly recommend a visit here. A side note , people were there preparing for an outdoor wedding. This place would make a lovely wedding venue.

Thank Auntiedd1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cassius clay"
in 17 reviews
"historical home"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating history"
in 3 reviews
"small visitor center"
in 2 reviews
"kentucky history"
in 4 reviews
"every hour on the hour"
in 2 reviews
"small lake"
in 2 reviews
"history lovers"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide was very knowledgeable"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"mansion"
in 6 reviews
"tours"
in 11 reviews
"life"
in 7 reviews
"playground"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

This beautiful home is one you don't want to miss. Stephanie, our guide, did a great job guiding us thru each room and providing us with a lot of history about the home and the family who built it. Unlike some tours you do get to see basically the whole house right down to the basement ! Please not that are quite a few steps and no photos are allowed inside the house. If in the area be sure to stop in.. you will love it!

Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Than you so much for taking the time to review White Hall. We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour through the home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful historical home with an amazing story! One of my favorite places in Richmond. So many historical pieces inside. Cannot visit enough.

Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much for the review! We are glad you enjoy visiting White Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Have been meaning to tour the White Hall for many years. Finally got the chance this afternoon and had an excellent experience! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining, and took us though a very interesting journey as we viewed each room and level of this historic mansion. He was able to answer additional questions we had about home renovations via archived photos on his phone. Definitely a must-do in this area regardless of your interest in the historical significance of the home, the political achievements of the Clay family, the architectural features (and oddities) of the structure, or the paranormal activity which is said to occur in the house. We will be coming back for additional tours.

Thank Brandon_Olive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review! We are glad you enjoyed your tour of White Hall. Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This beautiful and historical mansion is easy to get to off I 75 exit 92. It is the former home of Cassius Marcellus Clay and many of the artifacts belonged to his family. They give tours of the mansion every hour on the hour from 10 - 4. The tour is given by people in period clothes and the lady who was our guide was very informative. The cost for the tour is $8, $7 for seniors. The house is not handicap accessible and there are a lot of steps.

Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour off White Hall! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our historic site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hall State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to White Hall State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing