We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
25
17
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
17
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake michigan watch the boats sister bay west side door county first floor green bay sunset balcony wi accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2015

There are two choices--modern condo or 1950s style motel room. We always opt for the latter. The hotel is adjacent to a traditional Wisconsin-style restaurant that offers solid though unimaginative fare. The rooms in the motel are exactly what you'd expect for a motel at that price point. However, for those seeking something right on the water, this is among the best in all of Door County. The passenger ferry to Washington Island is next door, as is Charlie's Smokehouse (best smoked salmon in the entire world) and an interesting nautical museum. The car ferry to Washington Island is also a short drive away. Anyone seeking a more relaxed and exclusive Door County experience (e.g. avoid the throngs of people in Egg Harbor, Fish Creek and Sister Bay) should spend some time in Gills Rock. Don't tell too many people, though, or else it will lose its charm.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room if you want a terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

While the drive to the tip of Door county is long, the view is really fantastic. Good sunset from the hotel. The restaurant next door (different management) has excellent servings and view, a must.
The motel was a disappointment. The room was clean and the sheets were fine, but other than that, it was very uncomfortable. I spent a good 45 minutes swatting the flies (the room comes equipped with a fly shatter). The internet came on only next day in the morning. We stayed downstairs, and the floors creak. Lady upstairs decided to take a shower at 10 pm, those pipes are loud. The screen door needs some muscle. The bath tub drains at a drop a second only. We decided to check out after one night and pay the cancellation penalty. Should have checked the condos instead of the motel. The TV (itsy-bitsy) also did not keep us entertained as we found it hard to sleep.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. We did.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CowboyRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in lower level of 2 story motel while traveling in the area. Greeted by ants crawling on counter upon entering room. Housekeeping was very questionable. Room decor was dated. Lacking general maintenance & upkeep on the building in general. Desk clerk made no mention of restaurant on site. Trip Advisor did not even list that there was a restaurant at this location either. Needless to say we did not eat at restaurant. View overlooking water was only plus.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

My son and I came up with our cousins for 2 days. Very nice drive up from Lake Geneva.

Pros:
Absolutely beautiful scenery. Each room has a back deck or balcony looking out at Lake Michigan. Chairs and picnic table out back to watch the sunset.
Well equipped rooms with a microwave, small fridge, coffee, popcorn,paper towels, even a cutting board! Comfortable beds and couch.
Very quiet area, no traffic.
Lots of non-chain restaurants and shops in the area. Not a McDonald's in sight!
Dogs allowed in some rooms for a small fee.

Cons:
No cell service (not the hotel's fault, no cell towers in the area) and a lot of the rooms don't have phones. This may be a plus for some folks but we had relatives we needed to keep in touch with. Internet was very spotty. Smallest TV I've ever seen.
We were in the last room, 107. There was some type of utility room under us that made loud noises 24/7 and made the floor shake. Didn't bother me but my son got no sleep.

All in all it was a great trip and we're already talking about going back next fall. Lots of beautiful views and sightseeing opportunities. Probably not the best vacation spot for families with teenagers, because of the above mentioned lack of fast food and cell service.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Couldn't be happier with my condo and my overall entire experience. The condo was very spacious and clean with a full service kitchen. The quiet atmosphere makes for a great weekend getaway from the bustling city life with the best view of the sunrise/sunset.
They offer a booklet full of fun activities to do around the area. We went to the Viking Grill for breakfast and they had delicious corn beef has. We also did went to different wineries, breweries, and cider mills and sampled the most delicious cider I've ever had.
Overall amazing experience, definitely would go back to try all the water activities.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephanie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews