We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
15
15
10
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
15
10
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs gazebo fridge bayou house
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

If you are expecting a sparkling, brand new B and B with a proprietor doting over your every need, this is not the place for you. However, if you are interested in a beautifully renovated(check out the before and after photos!) Cajun cottage on Bayou Teche, then give it a try. Yes, the owners live in Maryland...seriously. However, the housekeeper and her husband are available by phone. Upon arrival to room #2(Lemelle), the key was under the mat with the $10 breakfast vouchers. The room was clean and rustic with a pretty antique four poster bed. After grabbing some waters from the community kitchen, we spent the afternoon in rocking chairs on the gazebo over looking the bayou. It was glorious. The breakfast routine on a Saturday morning is: get in line at Cafe Des Amis by 7:30 AM to insure a seat which is family style. The doors open at 8 AM and there is a $5 cover per person for the band. The voucher will probably not cover your breakfast and the food is not great but it's really about the experience. If you just want breakfast, the other restaurant that honors the voucher is down the street. The location can't be beat. The town is not big, everything is within walking distance. Check out the cemetery next to the church. Just remember, this is an old,creaky building and you can hear your neighbors walking around.

Room tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a private bathroom in the room. 3 and 4 have their own bathrooms but they aren't actually in the room.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

......overpriced. We had no interaction with hosts at all. It was a Friday night and we were only guests. We were a bit put out at the lack of a cup of coffee in the morning. If you spend $140 on a room, you at least expect to get a cup of coffee! The common area was locked up tight, though the flyer left with our key indicated coffee would be available. Don't expect to get breakfast on Saturday morning unless you are willing to wait. Cafe Amis was hopping with a zydeco band, and it was so jammed there were no tables. We went to Buck and Johnny's instead. Not having the ""free" breakfast made the price even less of a value. Will probably stay elsewhere next time...

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 748lydias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We stayed for one night in room 2. The TV was a flat screen BUT everything else was neglected. The shower curtain was full of mildew, the AC in the bathroom could not be turned off and was blowing a small gale making it very cold. The toilet was in danger of being flooded as a plumber's helper was part of the toilet "amenities".Everything was dusty to downright filthy. Noone was there to meet us, the keys were in an envelope under the doormat. Housekeeping was not available. The best were the complimentary soft drinks,

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 189ralf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

It is $100 over priced. The rooms are old, in the style of early 1900s. We stayed in the Picou room. Our bathroom was at the end of the hall. There was NO AC in the room, the AC is in the hall outside, so if you want to get some in your room, you will have to sleep,with your doors to the hall open and there is another room at the end of this hall, so the guests will go by and see you inside yours. The keepers are nice and helpful and will come to meet you no matter what time you come in. There is a refrigerator and coffee maker at the end of the common hall next to the bathroom. The area is gorgeous, right by a bayou, a historic church, a historic bridge and in the little downtown that has some nice antique shops and little restaurants. Parking is in the back of the building by the visitor's center, so you have to walk on the grass to reach the old house with the rooms. For sure not worth $200 a night. No food available in the premises, just a $10 breakfast voucher for local restaurant, that we didn't get to use.

Room tip: Ask about bathroom and AC in the room before hand. Neither one was available in our $200 a night room.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Went to Breaux Bridge and stayed in the Mason design Amis. First the parking is behind the Tourist center. Then the room just felt creepy. The TV was almost an antique as well. The coffee pot, frig and all was in a glass enclosed area. The gazebo while beautiful at a distance was filthy. Must have flooded before we got there and it was unusable. The only good thing about it was the breakfast at Chez Jacquelines. Steer clear from here.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank KenBerry1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews