We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirkside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Upper Largo, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
craftysch...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Kirk side cottage is in a lovely location,has everything you would find in your own home for your comfort & convenience & the folder of local take-away menus was very helpful.the gifts of wine,cake & preserve were very thoughtful & much appreciated.Myself & my husband & our two mini schnauzer dogs had a lovely holiday in this beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Not a fault of the cottage but a shower would have been easier for my husband rather than a bath.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your review we are delighted you enjoyed yours stay at Kirkside. Simon and Becca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Hi Douglas, thanks for your kind review and we would love to welcome you back when the weather is more clement. Simon and Becca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and homeliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Hi Mabraid, many thanks for you kind review we hope you can come and stay with us again in the future. Simon and Becca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem in a beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This wee cottage has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday.
We were only a 10 minute walk from the beach in lower largo, where we visited with our dogs on a daily basis. The coastal walks are a great way to see all the adjoining towns/villages too.
Everyone is so friendly in Fife, even our dogs were made welcome in the local pubs.
The owners left us some gifts which was a lovely touch. The king size bed in the master bedroom is one of the comfiest we have ever slept on - so much so, we have asked the owners where they bought it from - I feel a purchase coming on.
A great holiday - thank you sooo much. We will be back! X

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future (hope you get the mattress purchased)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archie W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Fife”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Simon and Becca are excellent hosts and cottage has become a wonderful home away from home for us having just returned from our third visit! Everything you could possibly need is supplied and the extra welcome gifts of wine jam and cake and Easter eggs are lovely touches. if you want to get away from it all its perfect, but the sights and wonders of Fife are all within easy reach and being close to the Upper Largo hotel for a meal out is an added bonus. I can't recommend Kirkside highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable with all the amenities of home
Liked least: A bigger garden would be nice!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are delighted you had such a great stay in Kirkside and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing