We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beachcombers Hotel(Arnos Vale)
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Hotel(Arnos Vale)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
30
30
17
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
30
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightwould stay here againocean viewstaff was very friendly and helpfulcaribbean breakfastnice hotelribsthe room was nicemangolocation is greatvincentnikonerrorislandbarbadosrenovationgems
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Stayed here again on a return visit to the islands. Staff was great and the updated dining and pool bar seating was lovely, not to mention the comfy new beds in the rooms. The beach and pool bar was busy several days from cruise ships and had a lively vibe. Views of the sunset from the grounds can’t be beat, truly amazing. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Wesley S.
Thank you for your ongoing patronage.

We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy some of the improvements that we have made. The pool courtyard has new dining sets, bar stools and sun beds - the beach bar and pool grille are open for business. New dining room and lounge furniture is in place. Room renovations continue slowly to limit impact to our guests -all bathrooms are being re-tiled and retrofitted. As you mentioned, all rooms have new luxurious euro-top beds dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and duvets. New in-room safes are on property as are new 40" flat screen TVs and will be installed soon. New bedroom furniture is on order and new drapes are being made.

We are also revamping our menu with new tastes to temp including freshly baked breads....stepping up our game to celebrate our 45th anniversary.

Sunset Shores is very proud to have served SVG for many years and look forward to expanding our services to meet the demands of word travelers who will be arriving in greater numbers at the Argyle International Airport.

We look forward to your next visit and providing Island Hospitality at its Best.

Warmest regards and safe travels. :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We were taken here from Sharons bar in Kingstown just to visit and catch some rays . During our four hour stay we had the opportunity to zee the rooms and the food and both seemed a good standard . Barstaff were very friendly and accommodating. The beach was volcanic sand so is black but the snorkeling is brilliant on the right hand side of the beach it's like swimming in an aquarium. Although I did not stay in this hotel on first impression I would recommend it as a base go visit the island.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Sunset Shores Beach Hotel is the perfect spot for visitors who want to relax and restore or be adventurous and explore. We are located directly on Villa Beach which has a view of Young Island and some of the Grenadine Islands. Our beach bar and pool courtyard have been recently renovated with high end loungers and dining furniture so guests can enjoy the sun, sip on a cocktail and indulge in tasty treats by the pool and sea. As the day comes to an end, guests can sit back and watch spectacular sunsets. That's what inspired the choice of our name :)

The entire property is being renewed. This month, new dining room furniture will begin to arrive. All rooms will be retrofitted with luxurious new linens, pillows and mattresses before April. Guest room furniture will be replaced later this year (some have already been updated). All bathrooms are being renovated - this is being done slowly to minimize impact to our guests. We are moving to a 4 star standard and will strive to pamper our guests with 5 star service.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines offers some of the finest scuba diving and snorkeling on the planet. Our front desk can arrange land and sea tours for those who want to experience the natural beauty that SVG offers. It is our mission to provide "Island Hospitality at its Best". We will share this review with our staff. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it.

When you return to St. Vincent, we hope you will choose to stay with us. Warmest regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Ok Hotel for a vacation for sun lovers. The staff was friendly and professional but like the rest of the Caribbean islands, slooooow. We where a bit surprised one night when the staff decided to have a party in the reception, playing so loud that our windows was vibrating even we had a room most far away. Nobody at the hotel had a calm evening/night that day. We was compensated for one night the next day. It was a strange and bad decision by the staff. All in all, it was a good stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JDTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunset Shores. We are located directly on Villa Beach overlooking some of the Grenadine Islands. Most of the time, Sunset Shores is a very relaxing place. It sounds like you were there during the staff end of year holiday party. It normally shuts down at a relatively early hour but we were celebrating the approach of our 45th Anniversary. Apologies again if the party went on later than planned. We know that some guests joined in on the fun.
If you return to St. Vincent, we hope you will stay with us again.
Island Hospitality at its Best - Proudly serving SVG since 1973.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel continues to be in a great location , with the ability to do better . I can't say much about the grounds as I only was there during the night . My interaction with the front desk was a very pleasant one .
I would stay here again .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank boyce1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for being a loyal customer and for sharing feedback about your stay. Sunset Shores is situated directly on Villa Beach. The hotel is surrounded by lovely tropical gardens and has a great view of some of the Grenadine Islands....and wonderful sunsets. Guests can choose to lounge by the pool which overlooks the sea and enjoy cocktails from our beach bar and delicious food from our poolside grille or main restaurant. The pool courtyard has been refurnished with comfortable lounge chairs and new dining furniture. Our staff try to ensure that every guest is made to feel welcome at their home away from home, whether you visit for business or pleasure. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We stayed here en route from Bequia to Barbados. The location is great, right on the beach. Our room was a little 'tired' - cracked plasterwork on the ceiling and a water-damaged bathroom door. It was a little curious that, with a largely empty hotel, the room above us was also occupied and there was a certain amount of noise resulting from that.

Our biggest complaint was about their billing. The first occasion was at breakfast when my husband ordered a Full Caribbean breakfast consisting of salt cod and bakes served with toast, juice and coffee. When the food arrived we queried the non-existant bakes and were told that 'there weren't any today'. It would have been nice to have been informed of this when ordering as without them the Full Caribbean was a bit Empty. Worse was that when we got the bill, the Full charge for the Full Caribbean was made. When we asked why, we were told that toast had been supplied instead of the bakes though the menu was clear that toast was always served. After much discussion, the staff finally relented and a small discount was given.

The second billing error occurred at dinner. The main dish ordered by my husband was not available and he substituted another. When the bill arrived, he was charged both for the unavailable item and the one that was served!

The third error occurred at checkout. Included on the bill was the room rate, which we had paid in full on our arrival!

None of these errors could have resulted from stress due to the number of guests being served in the restaurant or handled by reception as, barring us and the person in the room above us, there were pretty well no other people staying in the hotel that night!

Please Sunset Shores management, get your act together so that your hotel and staff live up to the wonderful location.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Carol C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while en route to Bequia. We must apologize for the billing errors. Despite your experience, the staff are usually very competent with billing. Having said that, we will review your case with each department involved to see what we can do to ensure that our procedures are followed properly. Our staff strive to provide "Island Hospitality at its Best". That is our motto. We can't live up to that standard if our actions are remiss. We will also investigate why bakes were not available. They should always be in ample supply.
We are conveniently located between Argyle International Airport and the ferry dock which is just a short drive from the hotel. This makes Sunset Shores a convenient place to stay overnight for travelers who are going onward to the Grenadine Islands.
The hotel is presently undergoing renovations. All public areas are being upgraded with new furniture. Rooms are being completely updated from the floor to the ceiling with draperies, bedding, mattresses and furniture being replaced in the process. Renovations are progressing slowly to try to minimize impact to our guests.
We agree that our location is wonderful - directly on Villa Beach with a southern exposure. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the Coral Deck by the pool bar where renovations have been completed and new dining and lounge furniture complete the look.
If you return to St. Vincent, we hope you will try us again. We are certain you will enjoy the changes. Warmest Regards & Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews