We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Naladhu Private Island Maldives(Naladhu Island)
US$1,365
US$1,279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$496
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maafushi Village(Maafushi Island)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
COMO Cocoa Island(Cocoa Island)(Great Value!)
US$1,144
US$900
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$196
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
US$174
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,197 results
Traveller rating
1,751
307
77
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,751
307
77
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua barthai restaurantkids clubwater villafishoverwater suitebeach gurufushi cafeour honeymoonsunrise villaroom boywater sportsspecial thanksfront office managersister islandmaldives resortoutdoor bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 2,197 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

The Island is really beautiful and the Hotel bungalows are perfect. The staff is warm and friendly but the service is sometimes very slow.

Food and beverage is extremely expensive. The average for a lunch or dinner, without wine, is 70 USD per person. A coffee and a bottle of water in the pool is 20 USD, one beer is 9 USD and so on.

Room Tip: Fantastic bungalow. I can not imagine a more relaxing place to relax and rest.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank trebornara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denys H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear trebornara,

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful experience with the TripAdvisor community. We always try our best to deliver heartfelt hospitality to each and every guest.

The natural beauty of our island is indeed unpretentious and we are lucky to share the lagoon with two of our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, which offers our guests access to an even wider choice of restaurants and numerous facilities.

Thank you and it will be my pleasure to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime please do keep in touch through the updates on our Facebook page; you can find us under “AnantaraDhiguMaldives” and keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I can't say enough about Anantara Dhigu! This was truly a vacation to write home about. From the moment we stepped onto our shuttle boat at the airport, upon arrival, to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. The staff was absolutely amazing and attended to every need, from changing beds to dinner reservations to activities for the kids, etc. The food was fantastic as well. The breakfast buffet was so diverse and abundant that we often found we just needed snack at lunch, then save up for an amazing dinner. We rented paddle boards and also kayaked across to the small island for drinks each day, with a stop off at the over water swings for the kids. The kids say this was by far their favorite vacation spot to date. I agree! We rented a beach front villa with a pool and took full advantage of the pool and beach each day. Writing this review makes we wish to be there again!

Room Tip: Beach front, with pool villa. Amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CamelsnSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denys H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear CamelsnSand,

Wow ! What rewarding feedback, allow me to thank you for sharing this with the TripAdvisor community.
We are so lucky to share the same lagoon with our sister islands of Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, It gives a wider range of facilities to all our guests. Each island has its own unique features.
The culinary team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sumptuous food in our restaurants. The variety certainly means that dining never has to be the same during your stay. Snorkelling is great around our picnic island Gulifushi and it is the perfect place for a small get away too. There are enough activities on Anantara Dhigu to keep the whole family occupied.
We always try our best to deliver heartfelt hospitality to each and every guest. The entire team will be very excited to see you back again in the future. In the meantime please do keep in touch through the updates on our Facebook page; you can find us under “AnantaraDhiguMaldives” and keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

I stopped reviewing hotels due to time.We travel a lot and stay in 5* resorts. However, the Anantara Dighu was one of the best holidays we have had.It is difficult to write everything in this review. SO MANY POSITIVES!
Our family of four, two adults and two children (aged 9 and 6) stayed at the Anantara Dighu for one week in Feb 2016. We chose the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and also it's location. Just a 30 mins speedboat from Male.
During our stay we were celebrating Valentine's day, our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. We could not believe the amount of effort the hotel went to make us feel special on those occasions. As soon as we stepped off our speedboat the staff greeted us with singing and local drums. Sammy (Guest relations) made sure checking in was swift and he also looked after us for the duration of our stay. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a sunrise over water villa which was stunning. Our housekeeper, Ahmed spent so much time and effort making sure the room was clean and tidy throughout the day. His beautiful wedding anniversary and birthday messages of flower arrangements on the bed and towel animals were lovely touches to our special days. It did not stop there! To help us celebrate, the hotel sent bottles of prosecco and chocolate cakes to our room as well!
The pool staff even surprised my husband by singing "Happy Birthday" poolside with local drums. Which brings me to the pool area.

THE POOL AREA

The pool was clean, lagoons were beautiful. Respect to the hotel who make sure the lagoons around the hotel are regularly cleaned.The pool staff were very attentive. At the start of the day Shameem, Hassan and Remu would bring fresh fruit and water to your sun loungers. Throughout the day we would also get little shots of fruit cocktails, Evian sprays, ice lollies, cold towels...the list is too long to mention!It wasn't any different at night
The pool bar was a nice area to relax and watch the night entertainment whilst Paban would mix you up a nice cocktail. If nothing on the menu excites you then Paban will listen to what you like and create a signature cocktail just for you! Mine did not disappoint. He even sent over some amazing jelly shots for us to try. Coming from a city of good bars I am a little apprehensive having a cocktail on holiday as I feel they always fall a bit flat. Not the case with Paban. He will also do mocktails for the non drinkers and children. Fantastic. Just waiting for a mixology class next year Paban!

FOOD
The drinks are on not only on point, so is the food.Again too many good restaurants to mention as but I will try.
The buffet breakfast at Fushi was outstanding. Jezzie and the team would remember your orders from previous days. With regards to food, you are spoilt for choice. The porridge was lovely and creamy, my made to order omelette was light and full of mushrooms,onions and tomatoes. Washed down with fresh watermelon juice and orange juice. Great ambience as well. Lovely chilled music playing in the background just adds to the whole experience.

The dining at night did not disappoint.
Places with greats views of the ocean include Sea, Fire and Salt, 73 degrees and the Baan Huraa (Thai restaurant on Veli island).
One restaurant that is a must is the teppenyaki nights at Orgami, on Veli island. Not only great entertainment but the food is fantastic. We had a five course meal and could hardly move afterwards.Whether it was a salad, the miso soup or the Wagyu beef and crab dishes; all cooked to perfection. I can still remember how the beef just melted in my mouth and that's why we returned to celebrate my husband's birthday meal there on our last night.
Food is expensive but it is an island in the middle of the Indian ocean! It surprises me when people moan about the cost of the food. It's not like the hotel can just pop out and go to the supermarket! Go for the half board or full board options, great value.The food is also a high standard, you will not be disappointed.
The only thing missing for us was a Indian restaurant. That would just be the icing on the cake. I am sure this is only a matter of time!

THE SPA
For my husbands birthday we did a family spa experience. This is the first time we have heard of a hotel welcoming children to a spa. Obviously, they have to respect the area but whilst we were having our treatment, the children were also having massages as well. They both feel asleep during their massages! The spa staff gave all of us a 5 star treatment. Another day of memories.

SPECIAL MENTION TO STAFF
Denys, the cluster resident manager was fantastic. He is a real asset to the Anantara brand. He was there from the moment we arrived and even made sure he was there on the jetty to say goodbye. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Denys genuinely wants to make sure your stay is a perfect as possible. I understand that people will have niggles on holiday but rest assured the team at the Anantara will do everything they can to try and accommodate you. A big thank you also to Imthy in guest relations and Chris in food and beverages. What a team! We are staying at the Anantara on the Palm (Dubai) this October. We can only hope the level of service and general experience will equal that of the Maldives. I will be surprised but the Anantara Dighu has set the bar very high. I urge the Anantara group to come and look at the team at Dighu island and let them set an example for the rest of brand around the world.
Our only regret was we were there for one week. Well, there is always next year!

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank jandnhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denys H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Dear jandnhols ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and recommending our resort to the TripAdvisor community. I have shared your glowing feedback with the entire team, especially the team members mentioned by name, they all found it very rewarding to hear your kind words.

The Maldives is certainly an amazing place to celebrate Valentine's Day, a birthday or an anniversary and we are glad that we made it feel extra special when you came to celebrate all three!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable holiday. In the meantime please do keep in touch through the updates on our Facebook page; you can find us under “AnantaraDhiguMaldives” and keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well.

Sunny regards,
Denys Hordiienko
Cluster Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We are so glad we chose this resort for our honeymoon stay at Maldives. 30 mins by boat from the Male airport, this resort is amazing for a relaxing romantic stay. We stayed there for 3 nights. Our beach villa 77 had a beautiful view with swimming pool, which the staff said is the largest out of all the swimming pools in the resort, right right next to a restaurant and cafe. Staffs are super friendly and always ready to help. We dined in from all the restaurants on the island and not a single complaint there. Everything tasted delicious from drinks to desserts.
Definitely recommending to friends and family for a heavenly stay in maldives

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denys H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Shaheen S,

We are delighted that you chose Anantara Dhigu Resort to celebrate such a special occasion and found us to be perfect romantic getaway. I'm glad that you had an amazing and relaxing romantic stay on our slice of paradise. Thank you for sharing your heavenly honeymoon experience on TripAdvisor.
Your observations on our close proximity to Male, only 30 minutes by boat is highly appreciated and it great to know you enjoyed your beach villa with beautiful view of our famous infinity swimming pool.
We aim to deliver unforgettable experiences at every turn with a touch of Anantara’s heartfelt hospitality, so I am pleased that you found all our staff to be friendly and always ready to help. The culinary team is delighted to hear that everything tasted delicious, from the drinks to the delectable desserts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for more wonderful holiday experiences!
In the meantime please do keep in touch through the updates on our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well.

Sunny regards from our little paradise,

Cluster Resident Manager
Denys Hordiienko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We spent 5 nights here and it was absolutely perfect. Not a single complaint. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the rooms were so clean, and the views amazing. It's pricey; get ready for it. But so worth it for a once in a lifetime trip. There's not much to do in the evening and some activities or shows would have been nice, but enjoyed our stay the same.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jessa_leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denys H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Dear Jessa_Leigh,

Thank you for your sharing your perfect Anantara experience with the TripAdvisor community. It's great to hear that you found our rooms to be so clean with an amazing view. We aim to deliver unforgettable experiences from every corner of our paradise island with the Anantara touch of heartfelt hospitality, so I am pleased that you found our staff to be exceptionally helpful.

The natural beauty of The Maldives is indeed breathtaking, and we are lucky to share the lagoon with two of our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, which offers our guests access to an even wider choice of restaurants and facilities. I have taken note of your observations on evening activities and will work with our team to enhance our offering.

Once again, thank you for choosing Anantara Dhigu Resort as your holiday destination. We would love to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise soon, in the meantime, please do keep in touch through the updates on our Facebook page; you can find us under "AnantaraDhiguMaldives” and keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well.

Sunny Regards from The Maldives,

Cluster Resident Manager
Denys Hordiienko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews