We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Judge Porter House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Judge Porter House B&B before.....but this last week-end we stayed in their "guest house" which was the garage turned into cute little cottage.
We loved it!! It has a great living room with gas fireplace, a full kitchen, winding staircase that goes up to the loft bedroom. You have your own deck outside the living room with a wonderful view of the beautifully landscaped backyard and gardens. The azaleas were in full bloom and just breathtaking!! Don't let the Fraternity across the street scare you away. They are a pretty quiet bunch of guys.....even on a Friday and Saturday night. You still have the big breakfast every morning in the big house with the other guests and it is "not to be missed". This guest house is probably mine and my husbands most favorite place to stay in Natchitoches, LA from now on. He would say that the best part is that it has a great air conditioner that actually made him cold (and that doesn't ever happen), so we started the fireplace, LOL. Great ambiance. I would definitely recommend this place.. I

Room Tip: Just request the "guest house"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

First off, let me just say the house is beautiful. The decor and furnishings are great and fit the time period of the house very well. We stayed in the New Orleans room and enjoyed it very much. It was quiet for the most part. The only noise we heard was around breakfast time. The inn keeper was moving around in the kitchen and office below us.

There are a few things I did not appreciate about the Judge Porter house. First off, when we arrived the frat house across the street was playing music so loud you could hear it down the road before we even saw the house. No big deal during the day but if you are visiting for a romantic night or an anniversary or something, I could see a frat party being a BIG issue. Unless of course you want to redeem your youth and party like you are 18 again, these guys will surely offer you a few beers! I also feel this house could use a little TLC in the form of dusting. When I tried to walk onto the upstairs deck I found lots of cobwebs and dead bugs on the window. I even found a cigarette butt. I should also mention here the only window that lets you onto the deck is in the sitting room upstairs.

The last thing I will mention is that there are A LOT of B&B's in Natchitoches. This one is within walking distance to Front Street & all the shops but next time I think we will be staying at one a little closer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatSmart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We loved everything about our stay at the Judge Porter House! It is conveniently located, has ample parking and is just plain wonderful. The ceiling in the dining room is painted blue with clouds...it was just one little touch that we enjoyed. The breakfast was fabulous. The common rooms are stunning. Our bedroom was on the ground floor, with a jacuzzi tub in the bath. You can see how lovingly restored this house is...from the bedding, the furniture, the window treatments, even the towels. Our bed was gorgeous, with beautiful linens and the furnishings are stunning, also. Our favorite place to stay in Natchitoches, LA.

Room Tip: Go to their website and browse all the rooms...they are all equally gorgeous!! Our ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViktoriaSacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

A recent trip to the Judge Porter was relaxing and enjoyable. The inn is within easy walking distance of downtown attractions, and the neighborhood is pleasant. The inn's rooms are comfortable and well appointed, although the front upstairs bedroom is close to a street that is quite busy until very late at night (after midnight). I have a few minor observations to pass along that would make the experience at Judge Porter even more enjoyable, and all can be easily addressed. They are, in no particular order: cobwebs in the windows; visible dust under furniture; staff who sit on the front porch and smoke; and hearty (i.e. heavy) breakfasts with no apparent lighter alternatives. We were there several days and never saw the owner, which would have been nice. Overall, the inn offered a good traveling experience, but there is room for improvement. We hope to return someday for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed in the Garden Room. We loved the beautiful window treatments (even in the bath) Extra TV in the bathroom was just plain fun! Having our own entrance and deck made it easy to replenish our drinks as we gazed over the lovely garden.Plenty of parking and in the heart of where you want to be in Natchitoches. The breakfast was unbelievably huge portions! We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden Room on the first floor with its own deck and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizlilinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.8 km away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
87 reviews
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
406 reviews
6.8 km away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
135 reviews
0.6 km away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 24 in Natchitoches
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judge Porter House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judge Porter House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 321 2nd St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4373
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: RM613 - RM755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxurious Bed and Breakfast located in the National Landmark Historic District of Natchitoches, Louisiana. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing