We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas bash 2016”
Review of Ravenous Beastie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenous Beastie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Just back from the Ravenous Beastie with my hubby,John! What to say other than a huge thanks to Moira for being such a great hostess - nothing was too much trouble at all! Lovely wee bottle of wine and welcome card on arrival, thanks Moira!! Such a big, sumptious bed to sink into after a day out in Edinburgh much appreciated, shower and bathroom area spotless as was the whole place. Breakfasts so tasty with change to menu no problem - had eaten so much/drank so much could only manage small brekkie on Sunday! Thanks again for your hospitality and hopefully we'll make it an annual event if we don't see you sooner.....

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely view over the bridges.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceC523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira C, Owner at Ravenous Beastie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear JaniceC523
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review for Rooms at Ravenous Beastie, your comments are welcomed and gratefully appreciated. I am so glad you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend. It would be great to see you both again
I wish you a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2017
Warmest regards
Moira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

The Ravenous Beastie, left me wanting more…. I booked this place as a quick overnight stop on the drive from Inverness to Cheshire. I stayed 1 night, but wished it could have been longer. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and the bed comfy, comfy, comfy!. I had an excellent night sleep. There is obviously a lot of love and pride that goes into running the B&B. The breakfast was superb, nothing seemed too much trouble for the owner, who despite having to deal with a burst pipe, still very calmly and cheerfuly cooked up wonderful breakfast and hot steamy tea. I would say the Ravenous Beastie is small and perfectly formed. I would not hesitate to go back or recommend it to others. A memorable place to stay. As a solo female traveller, I felt very safe and at home.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ridersofrohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira C, Owner at Ravenous Beastie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Ridersofrohan, Thank you very much for taking the time to give Rooms at Ravenous Beastie, a review. Your comments are gratefully appreciated.
I will ensure the staff have a chance to hear your review as they are just as important as the bricks and mortar that make the property. They all work very hard for RB..
It is good to know that solo female travellers feel welcome, and safe

Kind regards

Moira Cunningham
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean ,traditional guest house in amazing area. We stayed in 2nd floor and saw bridges from the window. All area around the hotel is lovely, good bars and restaurants, perfect place for a walks.
The lady that met us in hotel was very friendly,offered to book a taxi (as we had to leave early in the morning ) , made sandwiches with the snacks and left them near the door, saying that we can eat that in the airport! Only negative thing that water in the shower keeps switching off an on itself. One second there is no water, another second it's ok ( maybe it's doing that when someone downstairs having shower and there's not enough pressure). Planning to go back there in couple of months for a weekend because i think all area is magical in Quensferry

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vilne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie065, Owner at Ravenous Beastie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello Vilne,
Thank you taking the time to complete a review for Rooms at Ravenous Beastie, your comments are welcomed and grAtefully appreciated. My apologies about the shower, I just discovered Saturday night that there was a fault. Repair is organised for Monday 5 September, as the engineer has to return with a part.
Thank you once again for your lovely account of your time in South Queensferry,
Kind regards
Moira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Large room with very comfortable bed and and pillows. Facilities included Microwave, Fridge, Safe and tea and coffee making facilities. We were in Room 5 which had great views of the Rail Bridge from the front window. We were there for a boat trip and the harbour was only minutes away. It is worth walking along the front for a few minutes to find a great choice of bars and restaurants. We had a lovely welcome on arrival and all the staff were keen to ensure we had a good stay. Good choice at breakfast - all very fresh and made to order. Would recommend to others and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Great views from front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TLMurrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I have stayed in dozens of places since living in the UK and this was by far my favorite experience. The staff was super helpful and the food was perfect Scottish fare. I have been back many times since.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBaldari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
899 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, Sou...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
305 reviews
Parkhead House
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
84 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#109 of 395 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenous Beastie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenous Beastie

Address: 15 West Terrace, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range: RM384 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenous Beastie 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at Ravenous Beastie. The entrance to Rooms at Ravenous Beastie, is through our 6 table tearoom / cafe, which is open daily, from 8am through till 5pm , in the winter. We have 4 bedroom with en-suite shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ravenous Beastie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing