We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tugboat inn,boothbay harbor maine”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

nice hotel, all rooms are over the water and have chairs outside of your door. continental breakfast was awasome,, bagles, pastrys waffel machine, coffee, orange juice..every room has a beautiful view of the harber,boats coming and going at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamistilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

I am so very pleased that you liked our complimentary continental breakfast! We added the make-your-own waffles just this spring and they are a big hit! Thank you kindly for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tugboat Inn for one night on our way to Bar Harbor. We had a room at the very end of the pier, with a magnificent view over the bay and the harbor. The boats were passing by so close that it felt like being on a ship. We had the most delicious fresh fish for dinner at the hotel restaurant. We can highly recommend Tugboat Inn.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TCPCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

I am so glad that you stayed with us and had a true Tugboat Inn experience, you had a fresh seafood dinner and a room with a great view. Thank you kindly for being our guest. We hope that you will return to us soon and I hope Bar Harbor was just as enjoyable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Tugboat is a great mix of location, service and amenities for a much more affordable price than some of the other more highly rated hotels in the area. The rooms were not luxurious, but beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Views from almost all rooms are scenic in one way or another. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location, while not in the immediate center of Boothbay, is within walking distance of just about anywhere. I actually found the Tugboat Inn's location a bit more appealing not being in the center of town--less traffic and fewer pedestrians at the farther end of the town where the Tugboat is. Breakfast was just ok, but acceptable. I'd definitely stay here again the next time I passed through!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for acknowledging our value, service, location and amenities. We are striving to be the best hotel that we can possibly be. We greatly appreciate the input of our guests. We want to be your first choice for lodging in Boothbay Harbor. We want everyone that comes to Boothbay Harbor to experience what we have to offer. We do have great entertainment in our lounge, we do have great views from our rooms, we do have a fun restaurant with great food and we do have a great staff. We thank you for being our guest. We want you to return and bring your family and friends. We hope to see you soon. Travel Safely and Often, Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed two nights in the Red Building, Room 502. It has two queen beds, plenty of room and it was very clean. We had the perfect view of the harbor. The only better view would be the Crow's Nest above us, which is a suite. The Inn is located at the end of the shopping area so we didn't have any tourist traffic like some of the other places. Continental breakfast is basic, but good. The complimentary harbor cruise on the Harbor Princess was great and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have stayed at the Tugboat Inn 5 times now and do so because of the location. It is convenient to walking downtown and the view from there is unsurpassed in the area. We like to stay in a room at the end of the pier so have a view of the island. There are big bay windows in 2 directions with fantastic views both ways. The upper room does get quite a few people walking by for the views, so privacy is an issue. The room itself is small, especially the one on the lower level. It only has a queen size bed and the room is a bit dated. But we love Boothbay Harbor and this view. Also, this last time, they gave us free passes for a boat ride out to see lighthouses and seals which we throroughly enjoyed. Breakfast is okay, better than many.

Room Tip: Stay in the room at the end of the first pier for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiquetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
514 reviews
1.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
545 reviews
0.4 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
384 reviews
2.8 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: RM545 - RM871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing