We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tugboat Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell House B&B(Boothbay Harbor)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Ark Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
220
174
61
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
174
61
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastroom was cleanmain buildingwithin walking distancegreat viewin townprivate balconyhaddockpark your carouter harborshops and restaurantsbit datedclosed for the seasonwould stay here againwatch the boatshot tubvisit to boothbay harbor
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tugboat Inn for one night on our way to Bar Harbor. We had a room at the very end of the pier, with a magnificent view over the bay and the harbor. The boats were passing by so close that it felt like being on a ship. We had the most delicious fresh fish for dinner at the hotel restaurant. We can highly recommend Tugboat Inn.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TCPCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

I am so glad that you stayed with us and had a true Tugboat Inn experience, you had a fresh seafood dinner and a room with a great view. Thank you kindly for being our guest. We hope that you will return to us soon and I hope Bar Harbor was just as enjoyable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Tugboat is a great mix of location, service and amenities for a much more affordable price than some of the other more highly rated hotels in the area. The rooms were not luxurious, but beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Views from almost all rooms are scenic in one way or another. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location, while not in the immediate center of Boothbay, is within walking distance of just about anywhere. I actually found the Tugboat Inn's location a bit more appealing not being in the center of town--less traffic and fewer pedestrians at the farther end of the town where the Tugboat is. Breakfast was just ok, but acceptable. I'd definitely stay here again the next time I passed through!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for acknowledging our value, service, location and amenities. We are striving to be the best hotel that we can possibly be. We greatly appreciate the input of our guests. We want to be your first choice for lodging in Boothbay Harbor. We want everyone that comes to Boothbay Harbor to experience what we have to offer. We do have great entertainment in our lounge, we do have great views from our rooms, we do have a fun restaurant with great food and we do have a great staff. We thank you for being our guest. We want you to return and bring your family and friends. We hope to see you soon. Travel Safely and Often, Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed two nights in the Red Building, Room 502. It has two queen beds, plenty of room and it was very clean. We had the perfect view of the harbor. The only better view would be the Crow's Nest above us, which is a suite. The Inn is located at the end of the shopping area so we didn't have any tourist traffic like some of the other places. Continental breakfast is basic, but good. The complimentary harbor cruise on the Harbor Princess was great and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have stayed at the Tugboat Inn 5 times now and do so because of the location. It is convenient to walking downtown and the view from there is unsurpassed in the area. We like to stay in a room at the end of the pier so have a view of the island. There are big bay windows in 2 directions with fantastic views both ways. The upper room does get quite a few people walking by for the views, so privacy is an issue. The room itself is small, especially the one on the lower level. It only has a queen size bed and the room is a bit dated. But we love Boothbay Harbor and this view. Also, this last time, they gave us free passes for a boat ride out to see lighthouses and seals which we throroughly enjoyed. Breakfast is okay, better than many.

Room Tip: Stay in the room at the end of the first pier for the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiquetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Tugboat Inn is located directly on the Boothbay Harbor and near shops and restaurants. We traveled with our dogs, and they readily accommodated us with a pet friendly room.

Tugboat Inn staff were friendly. Accommodations were not lavish, but were comfortable! The restaurant served great food and the staff were very accommodating! We received a complimentary harbor cruise with our stay; it was excellent! I'd definitely recommend it!

I'd definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the pet friendly building...it was great! Every room has a private deck that overlooks the harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieLovesSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews