We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell House B&B(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard House Lodge(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
223
178
65
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
178
65
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastroom was cleanmain buildinggreat viewwithin walking distancein townhaddockprivate balconypark your carshops and restaurantsbit datedwould stay here againwatch the boatsstayed one nightlabor dayvisit to boothbay harborhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We just spent a long week-end at the Tugboat Inn. A friend of ours had recommended it to us and the TA reviews convinced us. Indeed, the Tugboat is a great place to stay in Boothbay Harbor as it's right on the water and the view of the inner bay and the coming and going of boats is quite spectacular. The hotel has three buildings: the original building - and the largest, with three floors - faces the harbor (due east) and two side buildings - each with two floors. The decks face south which allows guests to watch all the harbor activities from their private decks. The rooms are OK, with two queen beds, though the bed closest to the bathroom is so close to the wall that you can't get on to the bed from that side...This obviously is a problem! The rooms come equipped with a small fridge and a large flat-screen TV. The A/C works fine and is not too noisy. The mattresses are very comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small, but functional. The shower/bath is also OK but at the price one pays for this type of room, one would expect a better shower head. This comment also goes for the deck chairs. One would expect something more than the cheap plastic chairs provided.
Notwithstanding these small complaints, we quite enjoyed our stay and would surely go back. It certainly merits serious consideration if you're planning a trip to Boothbay Harbor!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-level room so as to get a better view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The view brought this review up quite a bit. Although I would stay here again if this is all that was available, I will be trying a few other places in the area. We stayed in the building on the pier and the room was very small for one with two queen beds. I would have preferred a king bed and would like to see if those rooms are laid out better. We barely had room to walk past the foot of the beds. The room could certainly use some updating as well. The shower curtain had mold on the bottom. I did report this as we left and assumed it will be changed out. There was a tremendous amount of dust on the coffee pot (although the coffee pot was a very nice addition beign a Keurig). The door to our room didn't lock automatically - you had to give it a hard shove.
The breakfast was okay - a free breakfast and you get what you pay for. However, the restaraunt was not clean. Both mornings looked like they had not cleaned the floor from the night before and 3/4 of the restaraunt was closed - leaving very few options for sitting. Most of the front desk staff were friendly with one exception. We had a nearly flat tire our first night in the parking lot and asked for help finding a place to get air. The young man behind the counter was borderline rude with his "just go to a gas station" comment. Obviously we were not local so we didn't know our way around.
Overall, it was not a horrible experience, and the view is amazing, and the room was quite, I woudl not choose to stay here if other places were open. I would like to try one of the rooms in a different building with a private balcony to see if the rooms are cleaner and perhaps larger.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 226PeggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do have several different room types. We would like for you to come and see some of the other options. We have tiny single queen bed rooms on the end of the pier, standard size rooms, and we have large guest rooms with one king or 2 queens. We have rooms with shared decks, rooms with private balconies, and we have suites. We are shocked at the condition of the curtain and we wish you would have said something while you were staying with us so we could have fixed it for your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are in the area. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A good weekend at the Tugboat Inn in Boothbay Harbor Maine. Room was clean and everything in working order. Enjoyed the music in the downstairs lounge. Food was average except the breakfast - better off to walk down the street. Overall a comfortabe stay. Would stay again just for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

had a great time the people friendly and the rooms clean and front desk always helpful ...and the restaurant has great food and the complementary breakfast is good with a waffle machine and fresh fruit and pastries

Room Tip: i like the main inn you can sit on the pouch and watch the boat going in and out of the harbor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNw46054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I feel superfluous submitting this review on top of all the other good ones here. We escaped to Boothbay from Hurricane Isaac and welcomed the beautiful Maine weather and waterfront setting at the Tugboat Inn. We spent alot of time in the deck chairs on our balcony enjoying the view and harbor activity. Schooners, tour boats, and yachts passing by add to the activity. The Keurig coffee machine in the room and free continental breakfast brought from the restaurant next door kept us content in the morning until we wandered a couple of blocks to town for a proper breakfast.

The room was clean, though slightly outdated. Overall the property is well maintained. The Tempurpedic beds were a new experience, but quite comfortable. Wireless internet worked well. The shower had good pressure and thermostat controls.

In the restaurant next door, our lobsters were cooked to perfection. Service was cheerful and prompt. The vocalist in the bar downstairs sang a gamut of songs, from the 60's to Jimmy Buffett to the present day and received lots of enthusiasm from the crowd.

Without exception the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The property is well-located and you are in walking distance to everything. We look forward to returning to the Tugboat Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatLong2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews