We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View In Town”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Tugboat Inn is a lovely little hotel on the water in Boothbay Harbor. Our room was right on the water, literally! Our room was directly above a dock looking out at the water, with views of the entire harbor. We enjoyed watching all the boats coming and going, and the sunset was unreal. There was also a lovely deck on the upper level which was a great place to hang out. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In the morning, we arrived just as breakfast was ending, but were not rushed at all. We were encouraged to take our time, and enjoyed the complimentary goodies while taking in the view from the sunny dining room. I highly recommend the Tugboat Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayceLannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

We just spent a long week-end at the Tugboat Inn. A friend of ours had recommended it to us and the TA reviews convinced us. Indeed, the Tugboat is a great place to stay in Boothbay Harbor as it's right on the water and the view of the inner bay and the coming and going of boats is quite spectacular. The hotel has three buildings: the original building - and the largest, with three floors - faces the harbor (due east) and two side buildings - each with two floors. The decks face south which allows guests to watch all the harbor activities from their private decks. The rooms are OK, with two queen beds, though the bed closest to the bathroom is so close to the wall that you can't get on to the bed from that side...This obviously is a problem! The rooms come equipped with a small fridge and a large flat-screen TV. The A/C works fine and is not too noisy. The mattresses are very comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small, but functional. The shower/bath is also OK but at the price one pays for this type of room, one would expect a better shower head. This comment also goes for the deck chairs. One would expect something more than the cheap plastic chairs provided.
Notwithstanding these small complaints, we quite enjoyed our stay and would surely go back. It certainly merits serious consideration if you're planning a trip to Boothbay Harbor!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-level room so as to get a better view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The view brought this review up quite a bit. Although I would stay here again if this is all that was available, I will be trying a few other places in the area. We stayed in the building on the pier and the room was very small for one with two queen beds. I would have preferred a king bed and would like to see if those rooms are laid out better. We barely had room to walk past the foot of the beds. The room could certainly use some updating as well. The shower curtain had mold on the bottom. I did report this as we left and assumed it will be changed out. There was a tremendous amount of dust on the coffee pot (although the coffee pot was a very nice addition beign a Keurig). The door to our room didn't lock automatically - you had to give it a hard shove.
The breakfast was okay - a free breakfast and you get what you pay for. However, the restaraunt was not clean. Both mornings looked like they had not cleaned the floor from the night before and 3/4 of the restaraunt was closed - leaving very few options for sitting. Most of the front desk staff were friendly with one exception. We had a nearly flat tire our first night in the parking lot and asked for help finding a place to get air. The young man behind the counter was borderline rude with his "just go to a gas station" comment. Obviously we were not local so we didn't know our way around.
Overall, it was not a horrible experience, and the view is amazing, and the room was quite, I woudl not choose to stay here if other places were open. I would like to try one of the rooms in a different building with a private balcony to see if the rooms are cleaner and perhaps larger.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 226PeggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do have several different room types. We would like for you to come and see some of the other options. We have tiny single queen bed rooms on the end of the pier, standard size rooms, and we have large guest rooms with one king or 2 queens. We have rooms with shared decks, rooms with private balconies, and we have suites. We are shocked at the condition of the curtain and we wish you would have said something while you were staying with us so we could have fixed it for your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are in the area. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A good weekend at the Tugboat Inn in Boothbay Harbor Maine. Room was clean and everything in working order. Enjoyed the music in the downstairs lounge. Food was average except the breakfast - better off to walk down the street. Overall a comfortabe stay. Would stay again just for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

had a great time the people friendly and the rooms clean and front desk always helpful ...and the restaurant has great food and the complementary breakfast is good with a waffle machine and fresh fruit and pastries

Room Tip: i like the main inn you can sit on the pouch and watch the boat going in and out of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNw46054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
1.3 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
2.2 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
0.6 km away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: RM532 - RM815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing