We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury Apartment stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pavana Homestay

 Luxury Serviced Apartment in Cochin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Luxury Serviced Apartment in Cochin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Luxury Serviced Apartment in Cochin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
pete_n_pa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Time for an honest review about this place”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On the face of it Pavana is a modern 3 bedroom duplex apartment capable of accommodating a large group/family so for the two of us it would give us lots of space to relax. On arrival we found the the building to be quite different to the artists impression on booking.com. The apartment is on the 2nd floor (served by a lift) but the ground floor is a finance company and an engineering works. Silvester and his family have the other apartment on the 2nd floor. On arrival we were told to go to the second floor by a complete stranger who approached us outside. There was no sign at the door, so we went up in the lift and met a lady who turned out to be Silvesters wife but she didn't introduce herself, just said he would be with us shortly.
When Silvester arrived we were shown around the apartment and we thought it would be good for 3 nights instead of the one we had booked. We soon realised the apartment was under equipped, beds hard, air con only available 10am till 10pm, no written information other than menus from local restaurants. The apartment was soleless and how up to 8 people could be accommodated is beyond belief. As my photos show most of the cupboards in the kitchen are empty or junk and not enough cutlery.
There is free wifi but uses a password which seems to mean something to him but needs to be simpler like PAVANA or at least written down somewhere, maybe part of the information package you would expect to find in a place like this.
When we first saw Pavana on booking.com we thought this may suit us for future stays in Cochin but never again. Things like, this was surposed to be a serviced apartment but during the 3 days the beds weren't made, rubbish bin not emptied and there was still washing up and old water bottle from previous guests. We were asked on arrival if we were married which I found to be quite rude and none of their business, in over 400 hotel stays in Asia we have never been asked that before.
Silvester himself was too busy trying to be funny instead of giving us good customer service. This was a missed opportunity for him as if he had tried harder and the apartment was better kept we would have returned. Normal there is an inventory list within an apartment, not here. Also normally there would be a send off with thanks for the stay but not here just a message 2 days after we left about how he would have liked to arrange a cocktail party for us!!
In all my Tripadvisor report which is over 100 now I have never been so annoyed about a stay as this one and never taken the time to write a long report or show photographs of the horrors of Pavana homestay, I feel I owe it to other people who might have considered this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything else.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
The whole review is a made up story. Not even 10% truth in his writing. I strongly believe that it is a paid advertisement of my competitor and he wanted to ruin my business.

Guest booked my property through Booking.com for a night. I guess, because booking.com will not publish stranger's review. So he wanted to damage my property name through booking. Tripadvisor allows free posting so he can damage my property name in there as well.

He extend the stay for another two night. First of all, if he doesn't like the place why he extend the stay. He could have check out next morning itself. I didn't collect money for the extended days until the night he checkout (I didn't ask for it, his wife gave it to me )

I asked whether you need to use the kitchen and they said, No we are on vacation we do not cook. Then why they so much worried about the kitchen? My kitchen is very large and has lots of cabinets and I have kept all the kitchen urinals in the bottom cabinets. If they want or missing something they could have ask me.

He also complaints about the air-condition -"works only 10AM to 10PM" is a BIG LIE because, If there is no air-condition how can he sleep at night??? If there is no air-condition, why he stays for three nights. I don't understand his statement.

His next concern is "how up to 8 people could be accommodated is beyond belief" my apartment is 2500Sq.feet in size which has three bedrooms two living rooms, dining area and kitchen. Each bed room has queen size bed and in the master bedroom has king and queen size bed and I have three extra singe beds. Now you can guess how many can sleep But my question is why this guest is so much worried about it????

Another complaint was I asked whether they are married. To answer the questions is, It is not my business to know whether they are married or not.

Every day I asked him do I need to do anything for him his answer was they are comfortable and if he need anything will ask. On 2nd day they gone early morning then I send a whats app message to them are they OK , or do they need any help I still have the message in my phone as a proof. Once he left the place he posted this review (made-up story) in trip adviser and in booking.com. I strongly believe that he wrote this review on behave of my competitor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liyasha G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Apartment stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was lovely and all the furnishings were well chosen. Everything we needed including a powerful A/C plus fans, hot water and good wifi were there. The apartment is in excellent condition and was very clean. It has 3 bathrooms and bedrooms and plenty of space for large groups. The only downfall would be the distance from Fort Kochi, the main tourist site in Kochi.

My friends and I had a lovely stay and would recommend a stay with Silvester any time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was lovely and had great air-conditioning. Silvester was very friendly and keen to help out with deals in the neighbourhood.
Liked least: It was further away from the main site seeing destinations than described.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Dear Liyasha, thank you for your comments. we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future. Sincerely, Silvester (Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soma D
San Diego, California
1 review
“Excellent US style apartment place for stay for Kerala, India trip”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were traveling with kids from the US to Kerala, India. The apartment is a high-end duplex apartment, stylishly done and very comfortable to stay with a US-style layout and amenities. Restaurants and conveniences are close by including grocery store which is across the building and we found it very safe. The owner and his family are very friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this for families visiting India especially if they would like some extra space and do not want to stay in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice apartment with conveniences
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Dear Mrs. Soma D, thank you very much for your wonderful review.I thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Cochin.
Best Regards,
Silvester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Robinso...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Very Modern, Very Clean, Great Owner”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Pavana Homestay for a few nights in October 2015. It is a really nice and well maintained apartment. Very clean and good quality air conditioning and mod cons (flat sceen tvs, cable TV channels etc). We stayed there with young kids and had a great time. The owner, Silvester is a great guy who could not have been more helpful in arranging anything we needed whilst we were there. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Sehr geehrter Herr Peter
Danke soviel als nehmend die Zeitrechnung zu schreiben ein Rezension. Ich verwende Google Translator. Wenn irgendwelche Fehler, bitte entschuldigen Sie mich. Leider konnte ich Ihnen nicht die Wohnung geben, die Sie gebucht haben. Wie ich mit Ihnen sprechen frühere Gäste Kinder beschädigt die Wand durch das Schreiben und Zeichnung von Bildern mit Stift und Bleistift, auch beschädigt ein Bad. Also klagte ich mich an den Booking.com und Sie sprach mit dem Gast für die Schäden und die bereit, das Geld zu zahlen, um die Wand neu zu bemalen und das Bad zu reparieren. Aber ich habe die Arbeiter nicht bekommen, alles zu reparieren, bevor Sie einchecken. Ich entschuldige mich für die Situation. Jetzt ist die Wohnung komplett fixiert. Ich werde dich nächstes Mal nie enttäuschen. Nochmals vielen Dank für Ihr Unternehmen und Support. Ihr seid fantastisch. Wir sehen uns in nächster Zukunft. God Bless ...
Alles Gute,
Silvester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$60
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing