We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service and very luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service and very luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Everything was simply perfect! When we arrived we were greeted at the car by a friendly guy who also assited us with the luggage. Check in took less than a minute and the luggage was already in the room when we arrived. The room was luxurious with the most comfortbale bed, a bathroom with a steam shower and Jacuzzi/soaking tub and Molton Brown amenities, my favorite! A seperate living room, gas fireplace, coffee maker and two large flat screen tv's with DVD players...my husband was in heaven (so much for romance right???). Besides all the luxury, the service is what strikes most. From housekeeping to the innkeepers, everybody seems to be super commited to provide you with personalized and flawless service. For instance after you enjoyed your breakfast the room was already attended by housekeeping and in the evening, after you had dinner, the room was transformed in a cozy retreat with a faux fireplace on your flatscreen TV, chocolates on your bed and bottled water with a glass on your nightstand. As reviewers commented on before, staff is leaving you personalized notes, whising you a good night sleep, or housekeeping informing you that they servised your room..and always accompanied with a gift. The people at Camden Harbour Inn elevated service to a complete new level, not only at the inn, but also at the restaurant. Breakfast is the best we ever had anywhere and during the day we enjoyed cookies and cake in the lounge in addition to a champagne. All included and part of the ongoing pampering. This was the first time we spend a few days in our home-state and in our wildest dreams we would not have thought it would be one of the best experiences ever. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amsterdam Suite. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whites514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    36
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
247
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My hubby surprised me with a long weekend at Camden Harbor Inn & I was very surprised at the level of detail and luxury I found there. The front desk staff members were all very helpful & courteous. Our room was complete with every amenity one could ask for-from heated marble floors in the bathroom to a Keurig coffee maker complete w/an array of beverage options. The bed was very comfy, which was important to me because I'm 5 months pregnant. The gas fireplace was a nice touch to the elegant & luxurious feel. My only complaint would be that our room was located near a busy ramp in the hall and we heard every creak of the floors, but this was only a minor disturbance. The living room and main areas had hardwood floors and the bedroom was carpeted (they thought of everything). The views from the room were great. There were lots of boutique shops within walking distance as well as several restaurants. I cannot wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe suite. We were in room 8, which was a little close to a ramp so maybe choose a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our innl and staff.


We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Everything was perfect from beginning to end: service, amenities, room, bar. We immediately felt at home. The bed in Deshima was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The view from the second floor room of the harbor and Mt. Battie was wonderful. I appreciated the little touches like the special seasonal decor all around the inn. Just gorgeous - these folks take pride in their business. Even though the stairs are very steep, there was someone there to help us with the luggage. Breakfast each morning was delicious with something for everyone. We went after leaf peeping season when the rates were more reasonable, and were not disappointed in the wait. We did not eat in the restaurant because the menu was not light enough for our taste, but the bar menu solved the issue - and a good bar it is. The only drawback is the very small bathroom, but that is to be expected in an old building.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

The best part of our road trip to Maine has to be the town of Camden and the stay at The Camden Harbour Inn. A million thanks to all the people we met along the way that recommended for us to visit here—thank you very much. I was in awe with the chic décor of the Inn, the rooms and yes, even the bathrooms. Lovely! Everyone was courteous, helpful, without the impression they had to be, just came natural to them, I guess. I read a sign somewhere along the way in Maine “The way life should be”; congratulations Camden Harbour Inn for getting that right.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepecrusader70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our inn and staff.
Indeed we believe that life at Camden Harbour Inn is how we envision 'The Way Life Should Be'
We will share your compliments with our always committed and hardworking staff!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We booked the Deshima room with the foliage package for our stay. I wanted to stay at a top rate place for our visit to Camden and was basically left to choose between the Camden Harbour Inn or the Grand Harbor Inn. The foliage package and the character of the Inn helped sway me rather than being smack in the middle of the Harbor at a more commercialized looking establishment.

Upon arrival a bell hop immediately greeted us and took our luggage. This pretty much set the tone for how the service would be for the trip. Inn employees were exceedingly friendly and would go out of their way within reason to accommodate. Breakfasts were my favorite time of the day at the Inn. The gourmet meal set the tone for the day. Plus, we had them bring up breakfast one morning - no extra charge. Part of the foliage package included a lobster picnic. It poured most of the time we were there so we picnic'd right on their front porch. Inn employee brought us to glasses of champagne to celebrate our recent engagement. Again, the service was wonderful and they really went above and beyond.

The room was nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom left much to be desired. Prefab shower / tub combo and a sink with no counter space. We had to keep toiletries in our main room because of the lack of counter space.

Dinner at Natalie's was delicious but painfully overpriced. Foliage package came with "5 course tasting menu at award winning Natalie's". After we were given our menus we made up our minds on each course before the waiter arrived. After I told him what we wanted, he started listing items that were not on the menu. I called him back to the table after ordering since it didn't make sense why he was listing these other options and he explained that we had a "special separate menu" which was not what we were ordering from and it required a $14 up charge on each of our meals. I thought this was very disingenuous. If there is a separate menu then advertise it and post it.

Our couples massages were alright. It was in a separate room off the Inn next to the kitchen. So while you are getting massaged you hear kegs getting tossed around among other loud noises. No fault of the masseuse.

In short - the service was incredible and that's really what you're paying for. I would recommend staying here, sans special package. Go to Natalie's if you're rich and you don't care. Skip the "spa" offerings altogether.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.
Based on your review we have decided to change our policy regarding our gourmet package as apparently it was confusing. All our guests regardless if they book a gourmet package or when they dine in our restaurant will enjoy the same 5-course tasting menu. As always the menu is not published as it is a Chef's Tasting menu using locally sourced and daily fresh ingredients. Our staff is available to inform our guests about the different courses. We agree that in comparison with the local available restaurants, our restaurant is slightly more expensive. However considering the beautiful ingredients that we use, the service that we provide (including all the extra complimentary dishes that we send out to the guests) a certified sommelier and an extraordinary Food&Wine Magazine nominated best chef in the USA, we believe our pricing is still more than reasonable. We like to think that dining at Natalie's is a unique experience not to be missed when visiting the area.

We have also taken note of the noise you heard during the massage and made adjustments to avoid this in the future. Our spa offers wonderful treatments including hot stone, zero balancing and deep tissue. We highly recommend guests to book our packages as the packages always offer a great value.

Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.4 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.8 km away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#5 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 km away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Property: Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price range (per night): RM832 - RM3,343
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing