We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel East
Nearby Hotels
St. Andrews Motor Inn(Saint Andrews)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picket Fence Motel(Saint Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossmount Inn(Chamcook)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granite Town Hotel(Saint George)
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Stephen Inn(St. Stephen)
US$62
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winsome Inn(St. Stephen)
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
12
12
13
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
12
13
15
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Many of the guests seemed to be heavy smokers and the rooms reeked of smoke. In September, the motel catered mostly to construction workers (that may have explained the smoke) who carried on loud conversations and joking from one floor to the next. Management paid little attention to detail; there were missing light bulbs in the room and no soap in the bathroom. There, however, was an ice machine available. At best, this served as a place to stay overnight as there were few other choices. I was sorry that our two-week trip ended with a stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
4  Thank Car0leDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We made reservations here months ahead as there were few places to stay in Eastport. I expected a minimal motel room. However, our room was very big with two queen beds, table, two big chairs, a desk, tv cabinet with drawers and a kitchenette with refrigerator & microwave. Also, a large, clean bathroom. To top it all off there were glass doors leading to a small private balcony with seating for three overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A friend and I were touring the Eastport area and were looking for a place to spend the night. There are not many places to stay, so we decided to try the Motel East. We went to the office and it was closed. We had difficulty with our cell phones, so an employee at one of the stores on the main street was kind enough to make the call for us. The owner met us at the motel and we checked in. We were given room 12. The view was great, however there were quite a few issues with the room. The chairs were filthy. I can't imagine anyone actually sitting in them. The carpet had burn marks; the baseboards were dusty and dirty. The balcony door did open, but the screen did not fit and there was a huge gap that would let in the mosquitoes and flies. The beds were comfortable and clean. (We checked for bed bugs). The bathroom was okay although very outdated, and the aluminum blinds were bent so if someone wanted to they could see in.The room was very large, and had a microwave( which we didn't use), and a refrigerator. The location and view were great, and all the staff we encountered were very nice.This has the potential to be a really great place to stay if someone were to invest some time and money to fix and update it a bit. Access to the beach would be helpful as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

WOW! We were pleasantly surprised with Motel East. Being pretty much the only motel in town, $120 for a LARGE 2-queen suite complete with small fridge, microwave and sink we were very happy. The view from the balcony was like a postcard. Ok, the room isn't the Hilton, but I don't stay at the Hilton unless it is a comp room required to stay there for a conference. Room #12 was MUCH better than most "inexpensive" chain motels at a very reasonable price considering the location, view, and lack of competition. Room was clean, bath was large too stocked with the necessary amenities. Being family owned I was not disappointed with the office hours, the hours are clearly posted; the owners deserve a decent life too. I cannot recommend Motel East as well as a visit to Eastport enough, you will fall in love with the escape from the rat race of the city in Eastport during your stay at Motel East. Like others said, 30-second walk to town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This motel has location, location, location! The rooms are average, but were clean. All of the rooms have an ocean view. We had the end room at the ground level and enjoyed the balcony a great deal, esp. at sunrise and sunset. It's a 30 second walk to the center of town, where you can get fresh bakery goods from Moose island bakery, or a 5 min. walk to the Chowder House, Which all the locals recommend, and so do I !!!! We recommend a whale watch trip on the schooner, Ida C Lore. Overall Eastport is a quiet, quaint little town and so is the Motel East and it fits right in and we will go back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the left end room at ground level. there is only one balcony devider and neighbor, But all rooms have a great ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews