We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and serene”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maine Idyll Motor Court
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

If you are looking for peace and quiet; relaxation; down-time, this is it!! We had a lovely stay in cabin #20 for four nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. Convenient to Freeport village, day trips to Camden and Bar Harbor or head south for a day trip. Great location. Our cabin was clean but will admit ants also liked to stay with us! But you will sometimes have these issues when in a wooded area. A high recommendation from us!

Room Tip: The cabins closer to Rt. 1 seemed to be quieter (less traffic noise) than those in the back closer t...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phyllischase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Quaint clean quiet cottage for a quick one night stay. Tucked in among the trees. Nothing fancy but everything we would need if there was time to stay longer. Wish there were more places like this to stay all over the US.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jktraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed there on consecutive nights but in different cabins(#11-handicapped-huge bathroom)and #7(non handicapped but two bedrooms)Prices were $119 and $129 I think.They do vary but are way cheaper than downtown Freeport.I LOVED it and would stay again in a minute.My friend loved it too.Staff was very helpful with recommendations,accommodating an 11:45 PM check in(they are not staffed at desk 24 hours-small family run place)There was confusion on the second night's check in.Someone came by at 8:30 AM and indicated he didn't know the cabin had been rented by phone the day before.Very nicely decorated and each cabin has its own style.Way better than cookie cutter standards elsewhere.Wish there were more of these.

Room Tip: No creamer provided in rooms(coffee and sugar only)Creamer in lobby.Breakfast bar 7:30-10:30 AM
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Confession: Someone recommended this location on my Facebook page and, looking for a cheap place to get away for a night, my husband and I booked a night ... then looked up to see where it was.

We stayed in cabin 10, which has a queen bed, shower only, but a fridge, cook top, microwave and sink. There was even a fireplace.

The room had plenty of space for the two of us, with a reclining sofa,a table and chairs and a desk, as well as two chairs on the front porch. If we had more than one night, we would have enjoyed these more.

We had one complaint, but we believe that the way a place responds to a problem is the most important thing, so we did not mark them down: We found the water a bit "skunky." This used to happen at my husband's little house in the woods when the water tank needed to be drained, so we assumed that the room may have been vacant a few nights. But the woman at the desk said a new water tank was on order because of a problem with the still new water tank, so the problem was being addressed.

In the morning, there was coffee and baked goods in the office, which got us on the road.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

What travel accommodations 50 or 60 years ago were like. Have been staying at Maine Idyll since the early 70's, on our trips up the Maine Coast. Definitely not for for folks looking for modern luxury but worth a trip back to an earlier time. Reflects what we appreciate about Maine. Ask to see the antique Packard in the Garage.

Room Tip: Descriptions on their website are accurate and reflect the features of each cabin.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChadConsuegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
6.9 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
10.3 km away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
3.8 km away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Idyll Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Idyll Motor Court

Address: 1411 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7108
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#5 Family Hotel in Freeport
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maine Idyll Motor Court Hotel Freeport
Maine Idyll Motor Court Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing