We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not necessarily as advertised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2013

These cabins are in a convenient location; we have been there three times over as many years. At first it was novel to be in what promised to be well managed property that carried lots of advertised amenities: Pool, coffee all day, walking distance to beach, frequent renovations, BBQ grills, kids play area. But it is a small area to house so many cabins, the beach is some distance away and only drivable, and Renovations and maintenance are sporadic.
This year, we encountered poor management response, the driveway was sealed during our stay leaving us to park at a further end of the property, nearly nonexistent housekeeping without towel changes or daily cleaning, and the cabin door was left unlocked after one of their visits. Management did not respond to our complaint about the unlocked cabin. we had taken advantage of an off season rate, and at check in received a dining coupon for a restaurant intown so dollars spent on this accommodation made the stay economical. Our experience there this year with so many nonsense irritants will not doubt be our last, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this trip to us. The weather did NOT cooperate with our plans to repair and seal the driveway. It had been scheduled for 3 weeks prior to your visit. However, each week we had rain early during the week, we certainly did not want to schedule it for a weekend, and so the time during your visit was our last chance to get it done before the summer really began. Living in Maine, it is NOT possible to get it done in winter, as you may know. We have changed our Housekeeping Policy several years ago to be more Green, which means if your towels are hung up, if do not exchange them. IF your Green Housekeeping card was missing, we apologize. There is also a note in the office, we can make it is more noticable. I did hear about your door. We were leaving for our son's wedding and could not respond personally. very sorry. apparently these 3 things conspired against you on this visit. Please contact us so we can give this priority in person. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room looked like it was all remodeled with new everything. Very cute little kitchen and the bed was very comfortable. The jacuzzi and bathroom was all brand new and everything was kept clean. Sonja was very hospitable. It is not exactly on the beach--but it is a fun little trek to the beach. We trekked up there and flew our kites. It is a small trek away from the town of Kennebunk also--so it is a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DetroitStar48226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, General Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to enter your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your notice of our efforts is appreciated. We do not advertise that we are on the beach. And it is a beautiful 10 mins 'trek' over to it. Thank you so much, Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

It was very close to all the shops, location great. Very clean and lots of hot water and heat. Well built cottage felt safe and secure. Had the jacuzzie tub it was very nice to have. People nice,
muffins home made and coffee with price. Very Clean bathroom which was very important to me and had everything you need. Kitchenette well stocked.

Room Tip: A tip for travelers is to tell them what you want. Very accommodating to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We vacation in Maine every October to celebrate our anniversary, and were at the Shorelands last week from Wednesday to Sunday. We have a new dog with separation anxiety issues, so this year we needed to find lodging where we could have him with us. My husband found The Shorelands online, and our first stay there was perfect for our needs. Sonja patiently answered all of my e-mail questions as we planned our trip. She was really pleasant when we met up with her throughout our stay, was an excellent cook...fresh made almond bread, cranberry bread, muffins, and chocolate chip cookes...all from scratch for sure. She knew I was apprehensive about bringing our dog, and when we checked in she told me "just relax", it will be fine". And she was right. We'll definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Because we were vacationing w/ our dog and granddaugher, we specifically chose a cottage unit that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I came here for our fifth wedding anniversary and LOVED IT!! The service was wonderful, our cottage was the cutest :) We fell in love with it!! The bathroom was very spacious and the kitchen met all our needs. It was so quiet that we never heard much of anything from our surrounding neighbors. We loved that we were only a few minutes from the beach! We got the see the sunrise and set in one day and it was incredible!! The beach was clean and never overcrowded! We were centrally located so it wasn't too far to Wells, York or Kennebunk Port. There were grills for our use and onsite laundry facilities if you needed them. The only thing we were not happy about during our visit was the tightness of the parking and how close our car was to the grill area. We were lucky to get in our parking space because the other guests vehicle was so big and didn't fit in their parking space. We cannot wait to come back next year and bring our daughter as they have a pool and a play area!! YEAH!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTFoodlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 km away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
3.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
3.8 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.1 km away
Kennebunk Inn
Kennebunk Inn
#10 of 14 in Kennebunk
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: RM392 - RM883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing