We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waldo Emerson Inn(Kennebunk)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
US$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Kennebunk(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
20
27
14
9
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
27
14
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparsons beachrachel carsonmini fridgesmall bathroomperfect locationmileogunquit
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

To be honest, when we first pulled up to the cottages we were a bit concerned. They are older and do not come across well. However, the beds were very comfortable, the cabin was clean and it is nice and quiet. The location is convenient for going into town. We stayed in a two room cabin with a twin, double and king size bed. There was a frig, hot plate, toaster, microwave, silverware and other utensils. We weren't crazy about the small bathroom especially for my daughter in a wheelchair. But that was a minor inconvenience. We felt at home almost immediately. There was coffee and tea and sweets in the main office. But best of all for us was the daily visit by the owner's cat - the sweetest, friendliest cat this animal loving family ever met. Would I go back and stay there again? Yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your time to provide us with your comments. We do hope to have you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

These cabins are in a convenient location; we have been there three times over as many years. At first it was novel to be in what promised to be well managed property that carried lots of advertised amenities: Pool, coffee all day, walking distance to beach, frequent renovations, BBQ grills, kids play area. But it is a small area to house so many cabins, the beach is some distance away and only drivable, and Renovations and maintenance are sporadic.
This year, we encountered poor management response, the driveway was sealed during our stay leaving us to park at a further end of the property, nearly nonexistent housekeeping without towel changes or daily cleaning, and the cabin door was left unlocked after one of their visits. Management did not respond to our complaint about the unlocked cabin. we had taken advantage of an off season rate, and at check in received a dining coupon for a restaurant intown so dollars spent on this accommodation made the stay economical. Our experience there this year with so many nonsense irritants will not doubt be our last, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this trip to us. The weather did NOT cooperate with our plans to repair and seal the driveway. It had been scheduled for 3 weeks prior to your visit. However, each week we had rain early during the week, we certainly did not want to schedule it for a weekend, and so the time during your visit was our last chance to get it done before the summer really began. Living in Maine, it is NOT possible to get it done in winter, as you may know. We have changed our Housekeeping Policy several years ago to be more Green, which means if your towels are hung up, if do not exchange them. IF your Green Housekeeping card was missing, we apologize. There is also a note in the office, we can make it is more noticable. I did hear about your door. We were leaving for our son's wedding and could not respond personally. very sorry. apparently these 3 things conspired against you on this visit. Please contact us so we can give this priority in person. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room looked like it was all remodeled with new everything. Very cute little kitchen and the bed was very comfortable. The jacuzzi and bathroom was all brand new and everything was kept clean. Sonja was very hospitable. It is not exactly on the beach--but it is a fun little trek to the beach. We trekked up there and flew our kites. It is a small trek away from the town of Kennebunk also--so it is a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DetroitStar48226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, General Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to enter your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your notice of our efforts is appreciated. We do not advertise that we are on the beach. And it is a beautiful 10 mins 'trek' over to it. Thank you so much, Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

It was very close to all the shops, location great. Very clean and lots of hot water and heat. Well built cottage felt safe and secure. Had the jacuzzie tub it was very nice to have. People nice,
muffins home made and coffee with price. Very Clean bathroom which was very important to me and had everything you need. Kitchenette well stocked.

Room Tip: A tip for travelers is to tell them what you want. Very accommodating to your needs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We vacation in Maine every October to celebrate our anniversary, and were at the Shorelands last week from Wednesday to Sunday. We have a new dog with separation anxiety issues, so this year we needed to find lodging where we could have him with us. My husband found The Shorelands online, and our first stay there was perfect for our needs. Sonja patiently answered all of my e-mail questions as we planned our trip. She was really pleasant when we met up with her throughout our stay, was an excellent cook...fresh made almond bread, cranberry bread, muffins, and chocolate chip cookes...all from scratch for sure. She knew I was apprehensive about bringing our dog, and when we checked in she told me "just relax", it will be fine". And she was right. We'll definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Because we were vacationing w/ our dog and granddaugher, we specifically chose a cottage unit that was separate from any other units (#24). It had a separate bedroom w/ 2 double beds, a small kitchenette, a very clean, up-to-date bathroom and a living area w/ a futon, chair and a table and 4 chairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews