We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location & better than the reviews suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We enjoyed staying here even though I was apprehensive (see below). The cabin we had was very bright and sunny, there was a mini fridge, microwave and hotplate, which was nice. We had no issues with the housekeeping and the staff seemed pleasant. It was hot and the AC worked just fine. The location is very good - just a couple miles to Kennebunkport town center with all the restaurants. And I loved Parson's beach - a 10 minute walk away - very nice not crowded beach and I was allowed to bring my dog after 5 p.m. These are not fancy cottages with super lush furnishings. Just a place to crash in between beach and enjoying the outdoors. That said the bed was comfy.

What initially had me a little worried was the pet policy. It is on the website, but after booking we called and clarified about what the word "accidents" meant - #1 also, or just #2? I imagined it would be the latter, but it is both - basically you cannot walk your dog to do any of its business (even just #1) on any of the grounds period, you have to go across the road. I understand the reasons for this, but after I found this out I was worried because my dog is an older lady and I was not sure she would make it to the road before doing #1. My solution was to carry her to the area where dogs could be walked. It worked out fine. Carrying the dog would not have been necessary had we been staying at a cabin in the front by the road, but we were in the back a little distance from the road.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

To be honest, when we first pulled up to the cottages we were a bit concerned. They are older and do not come across well. However, the beds were very comfortable, the cabin was clean and it is nice and quiet. The location is convenient for going into town. We stayed in a two room cabin with a twin, double and king size bed. There was a frig, hot plate, toaster, microwave, silverware and other utensils. We weren't crazy about the small bathroom especially for my daughter in a wheelchair. But that was a minor inconvenience. We felt at home almost immediately. There was coffee and tea and sweets in the main office. But best of all for us was the daily visit by the owner's cat - the sweetest, friendliest cat this animal loving family ever met. Would I go back and stay there again? Yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your time to provide us with your comments. We do hope to have you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

These cabins are in a convenient location; we have been there three times over as many years. At first it was novel to be in what promised to be well managed property that carried lots of advertised amenities: Pool, coffee all day, walking distance to beach, frequent renovations, BBQ grills, kids play area. But it is a small area to house so many cabins, the beach is some distance away and only drivable, and Renovations and maintenance are sporadic.
This year, we encountered poor management response, the driveway was sealed during our stay leaving us to park at a further end of the property, nearly nonexistent housekeeping without towel changes or daily cleaning, and the cabin door was left unlocked after one of their visits. Management did not respond to our complaint about the unlocked cabin. we had taken advantage of an off season rate, and at check in received a dining coupon for a restaurant intown so dollars spent on this accommodation made the stay economical. Our experience there this year with so many nonsense irritants will not doubt be our last, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this trip to us. The weather did NOT cooperate with our plans to repair and seal the driveway. It had been scheduled for 3 weeks prior to your visit. However, each week we had rain early during the week, we certainly did not want to schedule it for a weekend, and so the time during your visit was our last chance to get it done before the summer really began. Living in Maine, it is NOT possible to get it done in winter, as you may know. We have changed our Housekeeping Policy several years ago to be more Green, which means if your towels are hung up, if do not exchange them. IF your Green Housekeeping card was missing, we apologize. There is also a note in the office, we can make it is more noticable. I did hear about your door. We were leaving for our son's wedding and could not respond personally. very sorry. apparently these 3 things conspired against you on this visit. Please contact us so we can give this priority in person. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room looked like it was all remodeled with new everything. Very cute little kitchen and the bed was very comfortable. The jacuzzi and bathroom was all brand new and everything was kept clean. Sonja was very hospitable. It is not exactly on the beach--but it is a fun little trek to the beach. We trekked up there and flew our kites. It is a small trek away from the town of Kennebunk also--so it is a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DetroitStar48226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, General Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to enter your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your notice of our efforts is appreciated. We do not advertise that we are on the beach. And it is a beautiful 10 mins 'trek' over to it. Thank you so much, Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

It was very close to all the shops, location great. Very clean and lots of hot water and heat. Well built cottage felt safe and secure. Had the jacuzzie tub it was very nice to have. People nice,
muffins home made and coffee with price. Very Clean bathroom which was very important to me and had everything you need. Kitchenette well stocked.

Room Tip: A tip for travelers is to tell them what you want. Very accommodating to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
3.6 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
3.8 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Lodge at Kennebunk
The Lodge at Kennebunk
#6 of 8 in Kennebunk
174 reviews
3.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
2.4 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: RM380 - RM859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing