We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great! Don't rely on the (-) reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stopped in despite all of the negative reviews because the price was right & the location was excellent. It was clean & there was plenty for kids to do :) the room was equipped with everything you needed- even had a small kitchen. There were bikes to borrow there was ping-pong there was a heated pool that was basketball at a playground! There was even coffee and fresh baked muffins every morning! It's no romantic getaway and it definitely wasn't luxury but for the price we found it pretty amazing. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 - it was clean and well equipped :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Big mistake booking 2 nights paid $189.15 a night for a cottage unit they put in an outdated hotel room on the second floor w/no elevator. Bed linens smelt like BO, Be extra careful booking at this place!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Wendy, we are very sorry that you felt it necessary to use this vehicle for your dissatisfaction.
I recall you coming to us about the bed linens, which I KNOW where changed before your arrival. And I offered to have our staff change them for you. BUT you stated you only wanted new sets and were comfortable doing it yourself. Nothing in your demeanor allowed me to see your disappointment. You are correct in noting that this was an older unit, again, you told me everything else was very clean.
we also allowed you to bring 2 dogs, when you had only one registered before arrival.
we do have a variety of accommodations here, which most of the time is part of our charm. We also advertise Casual Country Comfort, there is no elevator nor $250+ rooms like ijn town. where they would charge you $35 - $40/n for a dog, IF they allowed 2.
again, we are very sorry for your disappointment, Had you told us, we might have been able to do something.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I made the mistake of booking 2 places for one night , so We arrived at Shorelands at 8 am the morning that We should have spent the night.The owner was too busy to deal with Us so She blew Us off and said to come back after 2 pm.We came back at 4 to check in for the evening , She told Us that She gave Our room (payed for) to another guest that wanted to stay for another night.We had no place to stay because everything was booked so My husband had to drive hours for home .She could have cared less.The envelop with Our info in it was on the top of the garbage pail.She could have called Us , our cell phone was clearly on the info.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

When you arrived in the morning, you did NOT let us know that you had booked 2 rooms by mistake! I merely took you for one of our regular scheduled check ins for that day. So I told you to please come back after 2 pm, which is our check in policy. Weekends in August are extremely busy, and we held your room from the night before all the way til 7:30am.
you name was on an envelope, which we had taped to our office door, with key & map inside, we left our office AND front sign lights on all night, expecting your arrival..
so when one of our returning guests called us in the morning to find out if we had anything available, we rented the room we had expected you in to them . Hotel policy allows us to do so after 6am, which we did.
I did help you find another accommodation in our area, however, we could not do anything else here. I apologize if I appeared uprupt. we were 2 staff down that day and I doubled up in laundry. we wash all blankets and comforters for arriving guests, as well as the normal load of towels and linens. so, yes, it was very hectic in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Excellent location with beach a short walk across the street from nice little cottages. No frill cottages, but still very nice. Rooms were clean and grounds well taken care of, including a small pool and hot tub, with lots of flowers. Very close to Kennebunkport, about 5 miles, and other surrounding towns. Excellent spot to enjoy Maine and what it has to offer. Sonja, the owner has been there since 1965, and knows the area well, just ask and she will point you to where you want to go. Already thinking about going back next summer. Cottage 24 is the one i stayed in and it is small, but comfortable. I add that it is also pet friendly for small animals without a problem. Can't wait to do it again. Wonderful for beach goers and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _ctgzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

thank you for taking the time to respond. We do appreciate your comments. btw, Dock Square is a little over 2 miles away, although sometimes with traffic it may seem like 5...
thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This place lost my reservation. We traveled from PA to Maine to pull in after a very long drive to find out that they had no record of my pre-paid reservation. I produced my receipt and confirmation. The lady who owns this place is very unprofessional and was not helpful at all. She told me it was not her fault that she never received my request from Hotels.com. She never even looked for it in her emails, but it did not matter because they had no rooms. So I stood there with my children for an hour trying to figure out what to do, with no help from this "resort." Instead, I got bit by the horseflies surrounding the property. The grass was overgrown and the place looked horrible. We found accommodations elsewhere and Hotels.com helped getting us rooms for our vacation. The entire time I was in the lobby the lady was on the phone dealing with unhappy guests and complaining about everything. Very rude and I am really surprised they are still in business.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracie1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We are very sorry for this mishap. however, we checked through all of our email bookings, and somehow, you were not included in them. Computer systems work well for the most part, but every now and then mistakes can happen.
I did stay on the phone to the company you booked through, with you, for at least 30 minutes, on a busy August weekend. I took several of their phone calls and explained the situation, and I did find you alternative accommodations, which you chose not to take.
I do not know what else we could have done. we were fully booked for the weekend, there were no more rooms available here. I know that was NOT acceptable to you, but I believe we DID try to help you the best way we could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 km away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
3.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.8 km away
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
4.1 km away
Kennebunk Inn
Kennebunk Inn
#10 of 14 in Kennebunk
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: RM392 - RM886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing