We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2017. 3rd time staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This is my 3rd time staying here. The price for the parking pass has gone up. I believe it was $5 in 2015 and now cost me $20 for use during a 2 night stay. The location of this hotel allows them to charge over a $150 a night during high season as if these buildings were not so close to the ocean and swanky beach town they wouldn't get away with this price but compared to any other b&b or hotels in Kennebunk/Kennebunkport you would pay another $100 dollars a night. So embrace the savings and be ready to laugh at the decor as if it's replaced you will be paying more money. There are no elevators so if you are using a walker or wheelchair be aware that the walkway on one side of the building has a steep incline to get to the level for breakfast, or you could drive the person to the lower parking lot by the pool where there is a door into the building also for breakfast. I didn't like that people were locking their bicycles to the ramp in the front of the building making the handle bars stick into the narrow walkway for those with walkers and wheelchairs. The hotel should invest in a metal bike rack or tell it's patrons that they are being rude.

Room Tip: No elevators so if stairs are an issue make it known when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston1978Boston1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I made a reservation for a Saturday and Sunday night. The person who took the reservation erroneously reserved Friday and Saturday nights instead. I NEVER received a confirmation. Upon arrival it was revealed that the email confirmation was sent to an incorrect email address, a mistake on the part of the SAME person who made my reservation for the wrong dates! They insisted that I pay for the night I did not book, in spite of the fact that it was THEIR error! I am appalled at the treatment I received and their refusal to budge on this unfair charge! Management never contacted me directly, but chose to put their desk staff in the position of relaying this information to me. Family members who stay here frequently will boycott any future stays, and I will be pursuing this further.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Qsuze13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Extremely disappointed in the service, management and unwillingness to make a bad situation right for a guest. Reservation was booked over a month ago via phone for a Saturday and Sunday night. No confirmation email or phone call was received at any point prior to date of reservation. Cara from the "guest" house called on Saturday morning to ask why we had not arrived on Friday. We were never planning to. They did send a confirmation email but it was revealed upon our arrival that they incorrectly typed the email address (which I'm sure they received a delivery error response). The manager would not speak directly to us in regards to their error and refused to reverse the charge for a night they incorrectly booked us for. Multiple errors on their part caused extreme dissatisfaction and inconvenience to a family vacation and their unwillingness to own the error and make it right means that our large family who visits Kennebunkport multiple times a year will never stay here again. According to the Franciscan Guest House, the customer is never right.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jayme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I read the reviews, saw the pretty pictures, but the rooms are sub par. They are worth 40-50 but not 120. The rooms are like dorms and at one time must have been. They have cheap, garage sale furniture and beds. An abysmally small bathroom, when the door opens, it whacks the sink, no fan. The 1970s curtains block the AC if you have it on. The dining hall had a musty old scent with old carpet and cheap paneling. They didn't have the Lativian dinner, and all the workers were foreign, possibly Lativian. The breakfast was interesting. The free breakfast was sweet almond bars and desserts. All tasted like almond. They also had meat and cheeses and toasts, coffee and juice. And some different cheese. The paid breakfast was only fritatta and potato pancakes. The best parts were outside. You could walk to the monestary. The saltwater pool is nice with screened in porches. The pool is nice, old, but not heated. It is quite cold. It has an old outdoor carpet around the pool. The town is nearby, and the beach, but stick to the beach road. We followed the lousy not to scale tourist map and ended up walking miles out of our way. This is just ok and I wish we had chosen a different "motel."

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Foodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This is a truly unique experience. The check-in clerk was very helpful and friendly. The room was old but comfortable and well-maintained. The old, soft bed was compensated by the sumptuous cold, free breakfast. We were inspired by the grotto and other shrines/acknowledgements of great saints. We took the walking trails to the river and enjoyed a terrific photo-op. It's a very short walk to town or the beach. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeffinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
288 reviews
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
1.8 km away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
0.1 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.3 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: RM283 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing