We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We found it very difficult to understand some of the harsh criticism about this excellent and peaceful place. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable, breakfast very good and the staff really helpful. We recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at the main guest house. This place is not just a hotel, so don’t expect that. The rooms are basic and very clean. The grounds are beautiful and you can walk through the gardens to the water. There is a chapel on the grounds as part of the Franciscan Monastery. There is a feeling that you are staying in a special place and it has a European feel (speak Lithuanian if you can). Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Another convenience is a location - a short 10 minute walk to town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TRyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Formally a school, the accomodation is dated and a little run down . Though very clean and close to Kennebunk beach and Kennebunkport. Short walk to both. The grounds are lovely. Close to the river.
If you not concerned about stairs, hostel type accomodation this is perfect.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jindalee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

There are few places I have stayed over the years where I can honestly say, "I know I will never stay here again." The Franciscan Guest House is one of them. The pictures and website advertise a historical place - the reality is that you are basically staying in a glorified dorm room and not a good one. From the smell to the fact that rooms aren't supplied with soap to the 1960s curtains that cover the air conditioner when shut, we truly wanted to leave and stay someplace else. We seriously considered our car. All rooms within miles were booked, as it was a Saturday night in September. The office staff was nice but that's it. This place has so much potential with the beautiful grounds but basically the rooms should be gutted and rebuilt. If you're thinking of staying here (mostly because the price is at least half of other places in town), remember the adage of, "You get what you pay for." In this case, this was money wasted. Ugh.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonkat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The room was very clean but very outdated. For the price, though, it was great for a clean place to sleep. The breakfast had a huge buffet for a $4 donation. They also served an entire dinner for $11. The grounds and hiking trails were beautiful. It was a 10 minute walk to the town, which was great because parking inn town was difficult. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
9 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
0.4 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
289 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.8 km away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
6.3 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: RM302 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing