We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and uncomfortable... don't bother”
Review of Kennebunk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kennebunk Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud and uncomfortable... don't bother”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was one of the only vacancies we could find in the area during Labor Day weekend, and we quickly realized why they had still had vacancies when we called. This place is very old, but not quite in the charming, classic B&B kind of way. Our room was very basic, no frills, bottom of the barrel amenities. The bed was large but very uncomfortable, and parts of the top sheet were wet when we got into the room. The water in the bathroom had a very unpleasant smell, and the shower and tub were old and somewhat dirty looking. The walls were paper thin and we were able to clearly hear our neighbors talking, coughing, and rolling over in their squeaky bed. The air conditioner was impossibly loud, so we had to keep it off at night making the room get stuffy and hot. They could also stand to invest in some curtains, as we had an extremely bright motion-sensor light directly outside of our window that continuously turned on and off all night long. If you have options, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lk723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    24
    38
    43
See reviews for
38
92
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were in town for a wedding so the Inn was a great location for us. We arrived around 1:00 pm and were very pleased that our room was available. The Inn is historic, so do expect all rooms to have that so called old charm. Our room was a nice size and I was surprised it had a flat screen tv. The a/c unit was to loud to have on while sleeping. The inn is known for their lobster pot pie and I can see why..it was very good. No coffee service avialble in your room, but they do have it available in the morning in a common area. Although on Sunday we went down around 8:30 am and it was not available for some reason. We also had to ask for wine glasses during our stay. On Friday evening parking behind the inn is limited due to a farmers market..not a big deal and do visit the market it's wonderful! If you stay in Kennebunk this is a nice and historic place to stay. If you want a more modern place, I would stay in Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Inn itself was kind of interesting - quite a few rooms, all rooms seem to be rather different, older, but well maintained. That being said, the area seemed quite dead. One bistro across the street, a pastry shop and a breakfast place on the street. That was about it. It was quite affordable though. Oh, the air conditioner had to run all night. It was either completely off (as in turn it off and you are not getting any air) or always on, which was a little annoying. Nice television and large comfortable king bed, but not all the rooms had king beds. Updated, very new looking bathroom. Very clean. No little refrigerator though. All in all, it was a good value, but I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My Mom and I found The Kennebunk Inn to be the ideal spot for a Mom-Dot! The modern renovations to this historic building are fantastic! The rooms warm, cozy, and comfortably quirky, just as you might hope for a historic reno. The service fantastic! A perfect location for exploring the grand old ship captains homes, Kennebunkport and surrounding villages. Don't miss dining at Academe, the in-lobby restaurant. Enjoy the lobster pot pie, it's a unique treat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomnMe_May11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in July 2011. The building is a very nice, old Victorian style bed and breakfast. The service desk people were friendly and we had no problems checking in or out. The room itself was decent sized (we stayed in one of the smaller rooms in the house), and it provided a TV in the room, a queen size bed and full bathroom. The Inn is located right on main street in Kennebunk. We thought the town was cute and close to Kennebunkport, but overall we don't feel the need to visit the area again (this had nothing to do with our stay in the Inn).

The food at the resturant was very good. We had to try to lobster pot pie, and it was certainly all that people say it is! Very good. It is a little expensive to eat there--our meal for two ended up being around $60 without alcoholic beverage, but the Inn provides $5 off coupons so that helped.

Our room had a TV with a built in DVD player on it, so we rented a Redbox DVD in town only to find that the DVD player didn't work! The management said they don't advertise DVD players in the room. We were only out $1 but we wished the DVD player had worked so we could watch a movie when relaxing at night.

The biggest surprise to us was that the Kennebunk Inn may be classified as a Bed and Breakfast...the only thing is that they don't included breakfast in the price of the room. This was a bit of a surprise to us, although I'll admit that they may state this on their website and I may have missed it somewhere along the way. They do provide juice and coffee, but you'll be on your own for breakfast.

Overall, we had a nice stay. If you like Bed and Breakfasts this may be a good place for you to stay which in Kennebunk.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the room just above the stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winzenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
5.6 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
6.0 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
10.6 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
6.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
261 reviews
6.2 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Inn

Property: Kennebunk Inn
Address: 45 Main St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7090
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): RM554 - RM1,159
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennebunk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kennebunk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing