We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY ELEGANT AND COMFORTABLE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2010

My husband was turning sixty and did not want a party. I began my research to find the perfect place to celebrate his birthday. The Captain Lord Mansion met all of my expectations. We stayed for three nights in the Excelsior and the room was beautiful and extremely comfortable and the bed was amazing! The heated bathroom floors were a great touch. The entire staff was overwhelmingly welcoming.

The Inn was a beautiful place for a birthday celebration. My husband love the delicious breakfasts as well as the mouthwatering afternoon snacks. The other guests we met at breakfast and around the fireplace added to our great time. In fact, we talked about making this a yearly weekend to meet up with the same guests each year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1pattiSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Captain Lord Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 867 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

The Captain Lord Mansion is our favorite place to be when my wife and I celebrate our Special Times in Life. We always feel at home on our visits. The care and service are outstanding. We have met and made many friends over years at the Mansion. Looking forward to our next stay.

Paul & Marge Krupa

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Callendar room for one night over the weekend. The room was delightfully decorated, with lots of vintage furniture and miscellaneous objects (the cast iron monkey pen holder might have been our favorite). The bed was very comfortable, and an antique embroidered foot ladder led up to bed, which was elevated a few feet above the floor. We arrived 2 hours early and were able to check into our room, which was convenient. The champagne my boyfriend had ordered was sitting in its ice bucket, ready to be drank. The hotel didn't overcharge for the champagne, either. It was basically a $25 bottle of champagne for $25.
At night, the hotel was very quiet--I didn't hear a peep all night until about 8:30 am when people started getting up for the 1st of 2 sittings for breakfast. They lock the front door to the Mansion at 10:30 pm but there is a code you can press to unluck it if you happen to come in later. We came back at about 11:30 pm and I believe we were the last ones in. It is a nice place to visit in the wintertime if you want the option of going to a few bars, but with an atmosphere that revolves more around relaxation and tranquility.
The Captain Lord' Mansion is about a 5 minute walk to town (although the blisteringly cold January weather prevented us from walking around town for too long), and the front desk at the hotel was more than helpful with providing us with written directions to the venues we wished to visit. There is also a large book in the lobby of the hotel filled with restaurant menus.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious and although we came downstairs a few minutes past the 9:45 am breakfast schedule, there was plenty of room at the dining room table for the extended meal. We were served 3 courses, including a fruit, yogurt and granola course, warm and gooey homemade sticky buns (for which we were provided the recipe), and then the main entree, which consisted of sausage souffle, soft boiled eggs, and hash browns.
The Captain Lord Mansion is a perfect place to go to unwind. The location, service, and well-adorned interior makes it a brilliant weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My husband and I first stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion in August of 1987. We've returned four times since then and have always been welcomed with a smile...no matter what the hour. Everyone and everything about this wonderful inn is 'tops' in our book.

So many places we've stayed have gradually deteriorated over time. Sometimes a place looks terrific on the Internet, but upon arrival you realize they must've used photos taken when they first opened for business. We're happy to say that this is NOT the case with the Captain Lord Mansion. They are constantly updating and improving.....this inn keeps getting better and better all the time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalmouthPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My husband and I celebrate our anniversary at the CLM each year, and will continue to come for many years to come, there is no other place as romantic, luxurious, yet affordable, thanks to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lichita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
37.7 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: RM991 - RM2,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing