We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home! It's the only place we'll stay!”
Review of Ocean Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Woods Resort
Ranked #17 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We just got home from another relaxing week at the Ocean Woods Resort. We stayed in the two bedroom condo. It was clean and comfortable as always. We have been coming to stay at this lovely resort for years. The condo is stocked with whatever you may need - even a lobster pot and baking pans! The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The pool area is picturesque and inviting. Goose Rocks Beach is just short walk or bike ride away! Kathleen and Peter will even offer a cute red wagon to get the little ones or your gear down to the beach. As our family continues to grow, we look forward to renting the four bedroom condo next! We have the best summer vacation memories thanks to Kathleen and Peter and their beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Condo units are a good choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneDia421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I hate writing this review because the people at Ocean Woods are very nice. Murph at the bar is a standout. However, if you have plans of staying in the 4 bedroom condo you should be aware of our issues. And, having worked in the hospitality industry, my entire group believes the management at Ocean Woods had SEVERAL other options to alleviate the issue, none of which were exercised.

While the accommodations are modest, they fit the bill for us as a family trying to explore the area, until our second night when two mice scurried through the hallway toward the TV. Yeah. Mice.

So I emailed (it was late and our two kids were sleeping) the management. We saw the mice three more times that night, enough that we were able to get video of one (I can produce this video). None of the adults slept, of course, and instead kept watch for the critters to make sure they didn't get into our kids rooms. This was a special kind of torture.

The following morning I received an email from management admonishing me for not calling the night before (did I mention my kids were asleep?) and telling me that given the country setting, sometimes these things should be expected. They understood my need to leave (Yeah, because finding accommodations for 8 people in Maine in July is SOOO easy) but offered to discreetly take care of the problem.

So, we went to dinner and they came in presumably to "clean up the issue". We found no other accommodations to house us and we were trapped. We've stayed in other "country setting" hotels and cottages in the past and NEVER encountered mice.

We didn't see anymore mice at Ocean Woods but we did see droppings. Relaxing knowing they are there, but can't see them, right?

Here is where it's interesting. We were never issued an apology. The email stated "I understand your disappointment" but no apology. Here is where it could have gone differently and should have.

1. APOLOGIZE and offer a refund/discount/bottle of booze or SOMETHING to alleviate the issue.
2. APOLOGIZE and offer to buy us dinner while they handled the issue.
3. APOLOGIZE and offer us alternate accommodations.

I don't write bad reviews as a general rule (check my ratings). I try to work things out with management. Management was not interested in working anything out. "Country setting" or not, mice carry diseases and we have kids. No one paying for accommodations should have to worry about one jumping out at them in the middle of the night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank JillKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights, used a Groupon. It was exactly as advertised, it was a charming older resort, dated decor but very friendly owners and nice amenities for the price. Very clean. Great location, can walk to Goose Rocks Beach but we chose to pay the $15 for the pass so our car was right there. Our room had 2 queens and a pullout sofa which was great so our 2 full grown teens didn't have to share a bed. Only used the pool briefly, the jacuzzi was not very hot, could use updating in that area. Nice patios and outside areas. Quiet street. Short drive to main areas of Kennebunkport. Can rent bikes and kayaks and have wagons for beach. Wonderful fresh scones every morning and nice continental breakfast. Beach was beautiful, saw 2 weddings while there!

Room Tip: Ask for largest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Stayed three nights and enjoyed the experience. Kathleen was gracious and helpful acquainting us to the area. The accomodations are clean, quiet, homey and comfortable. We enjoyed the onsite restaurant for dinner but our favorite was definitely the homemade blueberry scones at breakfast. Ocean woods is a bit off the beaten path adding to its charm.





Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We had an outstanding stay at this Resort. The facility is clean and the staff is very nice. If you travel in a sports car and you're concerned about parking, this resort has a huge parking area where your car will be safe. I would absolutely recommend this Resort and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,803 reviews
6.7 km away
The Lodge on the Cove
The Lodge on the Cove
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#6 of 6 in Kennebunkport
287 reviews
6.5 km away
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
324 reviews
7.7 km away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Woods Resort

Address: 71 Dyke Rd, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5519
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: RM508 - RM1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on ten private acres, Ocean Woods Resort at Goose Rocks Beach offers a great vacation destination for families or a romantic getaway for two. Relax, enjoy country views and ocean breezes. Just minutes from Dock Square shopping and dining in world famous Kennebunkport. 32 Spacious guest rooms with private baths, cable TV. Continental Breakfast included. Outdoor pool and hot tub, shuffleboard, basketball, tetherball, horseshoes. Affordable family rates. On-site pub and casual family dining with kid's menu and big screen TV's. Great place for weddings, reunions, business meetings and family traditions. Hosts: Kathleen Spang-Morton and Peter Morton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Woods Hotel Kennebunkport
Goose Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing