We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine getaway”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome expansive property - all free-standing well-appointed cottages. Gorgeous views of Penobscot Bay. Very peaceful even though most of the 100+ cottages were occupied. Short drive to Camden for shopping and restaurants. This is a great destination for a weekend getaway or a longer vacation.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Geachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

It is wonderful to hear that you had a perfect getaway trip at the Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center! Nothing pleases us more than learning that we exceeded a guest's expectations. We are delighted that the breathtaking views surrounding our property were a highlight of your stay. It is nice that you found great convenience in our central location as we are a short distance away from all of the shops and restaurants. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with us, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.


Drew Strout
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple of days here with the wife and kids. Upon checking in we noticed that the cabin's living room area rug was full of dog hair. I have extreme pet allergies, so I called the front desk asking that at a minimum that the cabin be vacuumed. They opted to move us instead. The second cabin had no cleanliness issues. While he we enjoyed the private beach and soccer field. The view from the summit was spectacular. We wish the the bowling ally was open...as that would have been fun. We also liked the ability to both eat out and in. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank CrazyMainer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for choosing the Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center to spend your getaway trip. We are truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience you encountered in your guest room. We appreciate you reaching out to us directly so we can immediately get you back to enjoying your time at our resort. It is certainly nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view and the private beach. We want to let you know that our bowling alley is opened during the winter and complete details are noted on our website. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to your return visit.


Drew Strout
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

As a member of the Point Lookout Fitness Center I am familiar with the property but only recently had the opportunity to do an overnight in one of the cabins. Upon check in I was fortunate to overhear the person on the desk telling another couple about the benefits of holding a wedding ceremony and reception at the resort. Much was said about the maintenance of the guest cabins; a conversation that set the bar very high. Unfortunately our cabin fell a bit short of the level set by the front desk. Cleanliness was the issue, cobwebs from the ceiling fan, dirty exhaust fan in the bathroom, dirty glassware in the cabinet, stains on leather chair. I even repaired a loose cabinet door.

On the positive side, as an example of the peaceful nature of the property, there was a wedding taking place at the summit during our stay. The only way we knew this was signage placed on the road directing wedding guests. We didn't hear a peep.

Overall, it is a wonderful site: dark, quiet, very peaceful. If I had not overheard that conversation, I would have had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. Hearing the disappointment in your review is not the stay that we want for our guests. We understand the importance of a comfortable stay, so we will share your concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure we make improvements in the amenities and services that we provide. We are glad that you enjoyed the peace and quiet, and it is great that you were not disturbed by any outside noises. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back to the Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center again soon.


Drew Strout
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay after our trip to Acadia, and Point Lookout Resort could not have been a luckier find! Not only was the cabin a great size with like home accommodations, but the property was amazing! The view from The Summit is plenty to make it worth the trip, but it doesn't stop there. We will for sure be back, hopefully with family and friends. The cabins have plenty of room to share. PS They offer a generous military discount--thank you!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for your service for our country. It was an honor to welcome you and your husband to the Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center. Hearing that your experience at our resort makes you want to return again has made our day. We are thrilled to know that you appreciated the comfort of your cabin and the spectacular views of the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future with another fantastic stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The location of this property has a breath taking view. You have to drive or hike to the top but the view you see is well worth it. It's one of the most beautiful sites I've seen in my travels. Your on the Maine coast and this view shows it all. The "Cabins" are really nice. They have a screened in porch you enter thru., The door has the typical insert card door into the living room - kitchen combo that covers the width of the cabin. Straight in is a center hall that leads to two bedrooms, one on either side and bathrooms attached to both. There are different sz cabins with more or less bedrooms. My only knock on the property is if your traveling with a group, as we were, you have to plan being with other members of your group, as it is not a typical hotel were you could hang out in the lobby etc. and just chat with friends. I think for people who like to walk and spend time in nature, it's an excellent choice and a beautiful part of Maine.

Room Tip: Since this is a cabin community with your own little house, so to speak, there isn't a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dressagedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointLookoutResort, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Wow, what a glowing review! It gives us great pleasure to learn that you were thoroughly impressed with our log cabins. We want nothing more than to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay here. Our resort is surrounded by beautiful mountain ranges and we are glad that you enjoyed the captivating views. We appreciate your feedback, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center.

Drew Strout
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
11.8 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
14.2 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
11.7 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
11.8 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
24.2 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: RM 448 - RM 1,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing