We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not returning so fast”

Roberto's Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 20/10
20:00
Ranked #43 of 76 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Along Trolley line, stop right in from door
Description: Over the past 30 years, our family has brought you the finest in hand crafted Italian food here in Ogunquit Maine. We stock only the finest imported olive oils, select tomatoes from the Tri-Valley Growers in California, and fresh native seafood. Our greens, herbs and vegetables are delivered to our chefs daily and to offer healthy choices, we do not use ANY salt or preservatives in our Italian recipes. We take pride in selecting and serving our food in Southern Maine and have continued this tradition for over 30 years. We are located in a restored 1850 farm house with wide beams and pumpkin pine hard wood floors, several small dining rooms and two larger rooms. Enjoy our small espresso bar, where full liquor is available and local beers are on tap. Small plates of our gourmet dishes are also available. Have fun watching a big game on our flat screen TV while enjoying the warmth of our working fireplace.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was disgusted with Robertos tonight, we left..I called 2 weeks ago for a table I love on the porch, I was told I would have it...We arrived at 7:30, but we could not be seated, that was fine, we waited quite a long time, and did not get seated.The person in charge, not the owner, just looked at us with a helpless, dumb stare..She knew due to covd we were only dining outdoors...We always go to Robertos when in Ogunquit...Last night our friends said they too had an awful experience...No one in real authority offered any suggestions..I said we would dine on the lawn with a heater, but they said none of their heaters worked..I find that hard to believe...

Anyhow we went someplace else, had a great time.I will think long and hard before returning , mostly I felt no one cared..Thats a bad sign and bad statement for a restaurant...

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying close by so decided to walk to Roberto's for dinner. Of course we had reservations.

We were seated quickly and received our drinks quickly. Our food took an extremely long time to come out; however, we completely understood. There is a terrible labor shortage in the Ogunquit area. It also didn't help that we were there during the week in September. They had no teenagers working to bus tables, etc... According to our waitress, they had 3 people call out that day as well.

Our waitress (Jen) was amazing! She (and everyone there) was going at full speed with determination. They were frustrated, of course, trying to keep their customers happy. It was a shame that there were people there who refused to understand what they were up against. It was frustrating hearing an (older) couple whine and complain the whole time. Jen was wonderful, and took it in stride. She never failed to be gracious and do her job to the best of her ability.

So, when in Ogunquit, understand that the people taking care of you are having a rough time of it. They are doing the best they can with what they have.

The food, by the way, was AMAZING. Our only issue was that they should put a sign out front indicating that the entrance is to the side of the building.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seatern03431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

After having a bad experience at another Italian restaurant in the town! We called Robertos to see if they could take our party and there response was absolutely see ya soon! The restaurant was amazing the atmosphere, food, drinks and wait staff was amazing! Our server Greg was phenomenal loved him great attitude made us laugh and completed our night with an A++ He even went out of his way to grab the staff and sing happy birthday to a family member in our group! Coming from an Italian family everything was perfect!

Thank you Roberto’s

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank triunitedstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021

we eat at roberto's every year when we come to Ogunquit. It was very good. One of our friends who met us there was disappointed however with the eggplant parm which they changed the recipe for, he said it didn't taste good. The rest of the dishes we had were very good. A big problem we really had is with the back room we were sat in, it was VERY warm in there. They had all the windows open when it was almost 80 outside and the air conditioning off. Many guests in this area were fanning themselves with menus, this should've been noticed by the wait staff and handled without having to ask for the air to be turned on, the waitress said because it was so cold when they came in they turned it off, but I can't believe that this warm room would've been comfortable for them when they are running around the place all night!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

We were seated right on time, and our waitress was very attentive. I ordered swordfish, and it was thin and a little dry. My husband ordered seafood diavol and it was ok, but very shy on the shellfish. For $38 it was ridiculous. WE asked to speak with the manager, but she refused to come and discuss it with us. I guess owners and managers around here don't care if they are rude, because they have a built in clientel ,

The seafood diavolo was all pasta, and very little shellfish. We will not be back, although I have been a patron for many years, and never encountered such rudeness from a manager or owner. For $38, she should have at least come back and discussed our dispute. They get away with this nonsense, because they are tired, and it is the end of the season, but it really is a poor excuse if you are in the hospitality business. Shame on you.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 5suzannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Roberto's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roberto's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.