We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waves Oceanfront Resort(Old Orchard Beach)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marvin Gardens Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alouette Beach Resort(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crest Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine View Lodge(Old Orchard Beach)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Orchard Beach Inn(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Concorde(Old Orchard Beach)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
84
69
33
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
69
33
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewthe private hot tuballow dogscomfortable roomsshort walk to everythingrecent renovationsgreat location right on the beachdead boltseparate bedroomgreat place to stayclose to downtowncleaning staffbeach vacationthis past weekendmemorial daybeach townyoung kids
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Wifi is absolutely horrible and the room was pretty small considering. The people in the room next to us completely took over the deck including the chairs and space in front of our room...they acted very "put out" that we wanted to use the chairs in front of our room....if we stay again it would only be in the room with the private hot tub and porch space. Disappointing stay thus time around, we used to stay here every summer...not sure we'd go back...definitely don't bother with bringing devices that use the internet or wifi.

Room Tip: Best room is the one with private hot tub...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplunk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. In terms of deck space, with every room except the oceanfronts, there is obviously no boundary as to how much deck space somebody can use. However, if you feel as though guests next to you are being excessive and maybe invading your privacy, that is something that can easily be addressed with the office to find a solution. We upgraded our wi-fi this year, to a completely new system due to internet issues from previous years. We have routers all across the building all of which can be managed from the front desk. Not sure why you were experiencing problems with our internet but it is something we will address if any further problems with it arise. I hope you would consider trying out one of our oceanfront units. I believe that you would be very pleased with it. Not that you may need it with its beautiful ocean views, but that room has it's own wi-fi router.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Every year I take my Grandchildren to the Old Colonial Motel. The Management is friendly and helpful.This is an older motel but the rooms are clean and the Maids are so helpful. The Motel is a short walk to the Pier where all the excitement is. ( I have difficulty walking and this place is perfect) They have the amenities that we all enjoy on a vacation stay. They even accept pets, which most motels do not allow. We get excited every year when it's time to go there. The views are amazing and listening to the ocean is very calming. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for leaving this great review. I am elated to hear our staff treated you well and that you always enjoy your vacations with us. We greatly appreciate our return customers and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Very close to everything we have stayed here for the past eight years kitchens in most rooms pet friendly hot tubs awesome pool outside shower to rinse off after the beach fireworks every Thursday night

Room Tip: Awesome time
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for your response. We greatly appreciate our return customers and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The property did not meet our expectations based on the photographs from their website. The bathroom had tiles missing and the workmanship was poor. The shower was very small and had a caddy hanging from the shower head, making it very difficult to shower. Housekeeping never cleaned our room one day, causing us to go to the desk and ask from clean towels. I will say our room was very clean upon check-in. There is a twenty dollar deposit required for the remote controls that can be placed on a credit card. Kind of unusual but not a deal breaker. Management was very nice and allowed us to check in early and to leave our car on property when we checked out allowing us to do some last minute shopping. I'm not sure if this property is under new ownership as it seems it's a work in progress in modernizing/up dating the property. We'll be trying a different Motel next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbonitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I apologize your stay was not the best it could have been. We are always updating our property, including current updates to our bathrooms. Our housekeepers clean full service for stay overs every day. There is a few reasons why they may not go in a room on any particular day, but considering they did not go in once tells me it must've been a valid reason that I could not be sure of unless I spoke with you and then our housekeepers. That is something that can be addressed with the office staff at any time during your stay and fixed very easily. We take cleanliness very seriously. Our twenty dollar deposit is for the room keys, in case they get lost or misplaced. The property has been under the same ownership for over 50 years. It is disappointing that we could not meet your standards for this stay and you do not plan to come back, but if you ever change your mind, I feel as though you would be pleased with the service and updates you see the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stayed at the Old Colonial for two nights in August. Basic motel room, nothing fancy, a bit run down. Room faced the water, 2nd floor. Had refrigerator, coffeemaker and microwave. Bring a few dishes and eating implements and you'll be set. Advertised wi-fi available, but it never worked in our room. Surprised that we'd have to rent the beach chairs they had available (no indication of this on the website). We'd come by train and the office staff was very helpful in letting us store our suitcase before check-in and before our departing train. Small pool. Hot tub available and in frequent use, so we didn't check it out. My only major complaint is that our room was not serviced during the 2nd day of our stay. We paid approx $230/night (including taxes) which seemed expensive but don't forget this was August. Consider coming after Labor Day?

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor; walls & ceilings seem thin
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your response. Information about our beach rentals can be found on the "Amenities" page of our website. I'm not sure why your room may not have been serviced the 2nd day, but stay overs are always supposed to consist of full service. There are a few reasons as to why they may not have gone in the room but cannot be sure unless we were spoken to directly. I apologize for that. August is our busiest time of year, but yes, after Labor Day is a great time to come because it is still a beautiful time of year and our rates drop significantly. We hope you consider coming back in the future to show you an even better stay than before. Thanks again for choosing the Old Colonial!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews