We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem hidden in plain sight”
Review of Olive Cafe

Olive Cafe
Ranked #81 of 636 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Unassuming, cozy Mediterranean restaurant in prime location. Tonight ordered the Mediterranean plate and Chicken Kebab. The hummus and falafel were great and the fried cauliflower was excellent. We have been to Olive cafe multiple times over the years and it has never disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We've been to Olive Cafe twice, most recently this weekend. We ordered the Mediterranean Plate and Vegetarian Plate (both of which are vegetarian), Fatoush Salad and side of brussel sprouts. We loved everything and it was perfect for my wife, my five year old (picky eater, he enjoyed the hummus and falafel) and one year old. I like their take on baba ganoush, which is more subtle than some other places.

Warning to fellow vegans is that the Fatoush salad had some shredded cheese on top (usually I don't think this dish uses cheese) so make sure to ask them to leave that out.

Service was efficient, exactly what's needed when traveling with two little ones.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billy_b73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I could only give this place 5 stars!!! It deserves more! Our yearly visit on our vacations now, was once again a smashing success!!! The Vegetarian Mediterranean pizza may well be the best pizza on the PLANET!!!!! From the greetings to the goodbye of our friendly and welcoming server the meals were fantastic, the atmosphere and ambience top notch !!! my only complaint is I would give this place more stars if I could. When in Portland, you must try it.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Great authentic cuisine. Service not rushed. Good price points for portion received. Will visit again.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank StopNEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Little restaurant where owner does it all. My husband loved the Lamb he got. I'm more picky so a place like this I can't comment. But he was in love with this little gem as he called it

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank Silvastreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing