We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
527
342
119
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
342
119
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews armory lounge milk street steam room old port complimentary coffee valet parking perfect location historic building charming hotel within walking distance turn down service two blocks valet service each morning third floor new england shops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Our first time to Portland. This is a great location to walk the shops in the old port area, boat tours, trolley tour, restaurants all nearby. This is a historic hotel with a lot of character. For us the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Yes you could hear voices and doors closing in the hallway. I was awakened at about 2 am with loud voices in the hall. We were in room 404. Room and bathroom are much larger than a standard room.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

What a great way to start our day!

After a long day’s drive, we were quickly checked in and helped with restaurant recommendations. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was modern with lots of counter space. Portland Regency is in a perfect location too!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NanNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I write this as I lay sleepless in my $500/night dingy and noisy room. Whenever someone in a neighboring or upstairs room turns on a faucet or flushes the toilet, I hear it. When the AC comes on it is extremely loud. The room is dusty and shabby. There are much better hotels in Portland. Avoid this one!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JELNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We don’t mind paying $500/night for our family of 5 when the welcome is warm and the accommodations wonderful. But when the staff is a brusque and unhelpful, and the “deluxe” rooms as as cramped, smelly and soiled as we found on our stay at the Portland Regency Hotel, we consider it a stiff price indeed.

Plus points:
central location
very comfortable beds

Minus points:

cramped room
entryway smelled of cat or mouse
no rollaway bed provided until we asked
bedding on rollaway bed was soiled
room was never made up until we asked
expensive valet parking
staff was unfriendly and brusque

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We began our week in Maine at the Portland Regency - beautiful hotel located a block from Old Portland and all the fresh Maine lobster you can eat. Comfortable, spacious rooms and complimentary morning coffee delivered to your door. Staff gave excellent dining recommendations both casual and fine dining. Our group would meet in the outside cafe/garden park for cocktails to start the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews