We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spillover Motel(Stratton)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel(Carrabassett Valley)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Alexandrin(Saint Georges)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Moose Mountain Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge at Moosehead Lake(Greenville)
US$479
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
64
14
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
14
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgethe ownermoosehead lakerustic cabinroaring fireprime ribbeautiful spotfront porchfull kitchenlodge roomsmaine lodgegreat hospitalitycross country skiingfree of chargerented a pontoon boatmaster bedroomlodging options
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed a couple of days in a cabin by the lake. Wonderful location, relaxing and very scenic. Swimming was great. As another guest mentioned, we also had mice in our cabin (I didn't mention them to the others staying with us until after we left) but I only saw them once. Perhaps they were frightened by us and moved out for a few days. We ate in the restaurant, even made reservations, but they kept running out of food and having to change our order. The waitress was as helpful as she could be but the kitchen did not seem to be well organized. The beds were pretty lumpy and the decor is accurately described as rustic. We did have a stove (that we didn't use) and a refrigerator. I would stay again simply because of the location but next time I'd stock up on groceries and prepare my own meals and only eat in the dining room once or twice. The management did tolerate a bunch of drunks sitting on the porch one evening who verged on rudeness to other guests but we simply left and sat on our own porch. Enjoyed the hot tub, too. I rated them very good because of the location - with a little work, this could be a great property. It may be that there real season is winter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlliniTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

in our cabin at least. We stayed three nights, found the location perfect - idyllic in fact, right on the lake. Lovely rustic cabin with sufficient furniture and kitchen equipment to make most meals work, a fire pit, picnic tables etc. We'd brought a BBQ and charcoal, so we were set.

However, virtually every light switch/lamp in the place had faulty (dangerous) fittings and there needed to be more central light generally. This made for a very dark cabin.

When leaving, I thought I'd give the housecleaning staff a hand and stripped the beds - wish I hadn't. The pillows... reminded me of the quote by Bill Bryson from A SHORT HISTORY OF NEARLY EVERYTHING..: "Your pillow alone may be home to 40 million bed mites. (To them your head is just one large oily bon-bon). And don't think a clean pillow-case will make a difference... Indeed, if your pillow is six years old--which is apparently about the average age for a pillow--it has been estimated that one-tenth of its weight will be made up of sloughed skin, living mites, dead mites and mite dung.” So if visiting, bring your own pillow!

A plus was a receptionist who went above and beyond to get us on a moose safari by boat which was very enjoyable, quite thorough and informative, but alas - through no fault of theirs - no moose. Still provided a lovely 3 hours on the lake.

Such a pity - prime location, very romantic, just attention to detail...
Former B&B Owner

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The good news is that The Birches has a beautiful panoramic location on the edge of Moosehead Lake. We had a nice deck right over the water with comfortable Adirondack chairs. The convenient fire pits offered an easy cooking area and a great spot to hang out in the evening. The office staff and wait staff, Donna, MaryAnn, Holly and Marsha, were super friendly and helpful and always offered interesting conversations. The main lodge was very nice and offered a friendly bar and a dining room with terrific food and huge portions. They also offered outdoor dining in pleasant areas next to the lake. My wife said the fitness center was new and up to date. The rustic cabins are as advertised - rustic, very rustic. So the bad news is the cabin included lots of spider webs in the inside window frames and outside porch. The windows had flimsy curtains and only two windows could be opened. The bathroom is cramped, one low wattage bulb, no shelf space and the small shower stall walls flopped in and out if you touched them. The cabin lighting is sparse and we had to move lamps in the bedroom to read at night. Granted it is a rustic cabin and it was almost cozy if we overlooked the details above. I just didn’t think it was worth the $207 per night for a log cabin. For that price we should have at least received some amenities like free breakfast (like a B&B), daily towel service or maybe free use of the kayaks. See my review of the Wave Walker in Surry, ME near Acadia for model accommodations at a lower price. I would have given a higher rating if the prices were lower.

The morning pontoon moose tour was excellent and Tony was a great tour guide. The evening jeep tour was disappointing.

Try to visit Pittston Farms. If you have kids they'll love it. it's a huge working farm with cows, horses and goats. They serve big meals and home made ice cream and milk shakes. The adults will like their museum. it's a little far from The Birches but you'll probably see moose and maybe bear along the way. Jen, the chef, was a delight as was her husband and owner Gus.

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon cabin with a deck over the lake and a little private beach. It was the furthest from the lodge, no one on our left and super quiet. Our friends had the Green Eyes cabin. A nice porch with better access and more room for the fire pit.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in cabin VIII last October and had a great time. It was very cozy, with it's own wood stove. We loved the living area with a large table where we played cards. It was right on the water so we could sit on our picnic table and watch the ducks. We loved it and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the cabins!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stace44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Wonderful place to stay. My family and I have been coming to the Birches for the past 11 years. The cabins are rustic, cozy and right on the water. The views are spectacular. The staff is very friendly. Now when we come we feel like family. The lodge has a feel of warmth and relaxation. Two big fireplaces and comfy couches beckon you to sit and sip a drink. Food is yummy, home cooked taste and great pies ! Great place to take the family and enjoy a week of relaxation and connect with nature.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brassua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews