We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place”
Sunrise over the Penobscot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below. The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below.
The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
First floor family room.
Oz is a downward dog. Namaste.
When it's time to nap the beach shack waits you.
local granite walls line to entryway to the home.
Your own private beach.
One of a kind hand made pine table tat seats 24.
Oz loves visiting everyone staying here.
Welcoming path.
Light house bedroom with half bath and 4 beds.
Deck off second floor bedrooms
Bedroom with deck looking onto the water. June of 2017 this room will have 2 bunk beds installed.
No words needed. You've worked all year, it's time to relax.
Livingroom with working fireplace.
Reading, resting or simply taking in the beauty of our meadow.
One of the paths to our front door.
The view out to The Penobscot never grows old.
Open living, dining and sunroom with a wall of glass facing the ocean and trees.
Beautiful plantings and gardens.
With walls of glass on both ends of the main living room the house is alway filled with sunlight.
Twisting and turning your way back from your beach.
Cookout on your own beach
Relaxing Sunroom with skylights and windows onto the water and beautiful trees. 2 twin daybeds.
First floor King size bedroom with large windows and ceiling fan.
Follow the coast to Sandy Point Park and Steamboat Wharf.
Your 300 foot private beach. Swim, play, cook out explore.
On our beach you can walk for miles on sand and through forest trails,
Sandy Point beach is all yours.
View from the bunk house.
Beautiful peaceful surroundings. Not your average cook cutter home.
Follow the sign you can't go wrong.
Great places to food shop and 2 Farmers markets near by.
Queen bed and twin beds share this cozy room with full bath attached.
Cozy bedroom everywhere property sleeps over 25.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queens different angle.
See more photos at:
Light House Loft with skylight half bath with four beds.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queen beds.
Sunrise yoga on the deck.
second floor library with beautiful with of our meadow.
1st floor queen bedroom with adjoining full bath.
Handrails and steps to second floor from a locally harvested tree.
Construction (eft) of our new two story bunkhouse is underway.
Peaceful Comfortable sofa that can turn into a sleeper sofa.
Water facing deck with bbq grill, lobster cooker and seating for 20
Owners favor place to fall asleep in front of a roaring fire.
Odem's Ledge just off  our beach. 1700's ship wreck artifacts still left uncovered.
Your own Funky Beach shack.
Large colorful artwork from a national know local artist.
Down Steamboat Wharf until you see the ocean turn onto Hersey Retreat Rd and your vacation has begun
Water facing deck with bbq grill, Lobster cooker and seating for 20.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Sandy Point, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It was the best place for a big group like us that 's 17 adults,2 kids and a havanese dog. We stayed from Sep. 1 -4, 2017. We love the retreat house,the long hardwood dining table where we always had a sumptuous meal esp. lobsters, the kitchen is great and complete , perfect for cooking for a big group. I love the common open space where we gather altogether , played cards, had games and prayed .The rooms are cosy and clean. The location is special. It is close to grocery Hannaford and just an hour to Bar Harbor /Acadia Park. We attended worship service at Lighthouse Bible Church at Searsport , Me just 12 minutes away from the house. Some of our group visited Fort Knox/Penebscot Narrow Observatory (a must) and others went to Antique flea markets. Thanks Shankari and Paul for allowing us to experience the aura of your property and of course for being so nice. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay though it was short. I hope to be back for a longer stay God willing.May God continue to bless both of you and your business,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Elizabeth you guys are the best! It's wonderful that you made the time to experience many of the sites and points of interest that makes Sandy Point so special. You were so easy and pleasant to deal and we loved the photos you shared with us that are now on our Facebook Group Page: Retreat House Maine. You are very kind. Blessings to you and your family.
Respectfully,
Paul & Shankari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a nice week in the house with all the family (8 adults and 9 children). Plenty of room for everyone and had everything we needed for a fantastic stay. The time down on the beach along the Penobscot was fabulous! It felt like the time went way too fast and was over too soon. Would love to get back again sometime.

Communication from the owners was excellent as they were very responsive and helpful. Totally recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you Tom for bringing your family to The Retreat House. We are glad everyone had fun especially the kids having their own beach to play on. Time does fly by when your on vacation which is why you have to come back again. It was a pleasure having you stay here. Much Thanks. Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artisticb...
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
“Mind and body recharge”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family had lots of space, comfortable and very beautiful. The owners were very helpful in coordinating our trip and meeting our needs. Area is beautiful, lots of different things to see and do. Campfires in beach especially fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you Bonnie,
We so happy the week here with your extended family was unrivaled and everyone had fun. I hope you send us some photos of your group so we can share them on our Facebook page.
Thanks for treating our home like it was your home, you are all welcome back anytime to recharge again.
Sincerely,
Shankari & Paul
The Retreat House
SandyPoint, ME
207-385-1092
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickikins...
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Trying to find accommodations for a large group of guests can be difficult at best, but we consider ourselves extremely lucky that we came upon The Retreat House in Stockton Springs Maine, overlooking beautiful Penobscot Bay. Not only were the accommodations perfect for our groomsmen and their partners, all 18 of them, but the owners went above and beyond to see that we had everything we needed for our special Weekend.
The house speaks for it self with multiple rooms and bathrooms decorated to match the beauty of the woodsy setting and the calming effect of the ocean's Bay below. I couldn't imagine anything less for our gracious guests.
If you are planning a wedding or any other large gathering in the area, I would highly recommend you contact the owners and book The Retreat House and I guarantee you will be pleased.

Sincerely,
Vicki Kinsman

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you Vicki for that beautiful review. We are so glad everyone had a good time and that the weather was perfect for Jaclyn's wedding. We have been fortunate enough to be selected as one of the rental homes in Sandy Point recommended by French's Point Wedding Center.
It was a pleasure working with you on the arrangements & details to coordinate your Bridal Party you were a joy. Our Best wishes to Jaclyn & Ryan.
Sincerely,
Shankari & Paul
The Retreat House
Sandy Point, ME
207-385-1092
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, intimate yet spacious, scenic venue for a large gathering”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed a magnificent week at the Retreat House - I award five stars for the pleasure of our experience. What a great venue for a family reunion! Owner Paul Barclay was extremely welcoming, warm and sincere in his efforts to accommodate us, which meant a lot to us. Our rental took place shortly after ownership transition and he and crew had clearly put in a lot of work in a short period of time to be as ready as possible our challenging panoply of people.
Our group tested the limits of the space in a variety of ways – two wheelchairs, toddlers and children, and sheer number of people (28) stretching through four generations. After being turned down from numerous large rental houses, I was grateful (or maybe even incredulous) to even find a venue that could accommodate us all, let alone also fulfilling our need for two wheelchair-accessible bedrooms on the main level, as well as being by the water in a beautiful Maine environment worthy of distant travel for family members! The delightful bonus was the atmosphere at Retreat House. Warm and intimate, yet spacious enough for us to move around, share a meal, relax, and enjoy the spacious deck and lovely view. The spaces enable a feeling of togetherness but not crowded, yet also with getaway nooks. I loved the way we could comfortably socialize in the spaces. Interior details like the extra-long, live-edge table, benches and stairs and the welcoming fireplace contributed a cozy “Maine” interior - a casual hominess, rather than 5-star but sterile elegance. Just what we wanted!
The beach is PERFECT for kid play, with a safe shallow “wading pool” indent enabling kids to play in the water and adults to watch them without safety fears. Lots of hammocks, the little fort, easy chairs and fire ring extend a comfortable and fun beach experience. We loved how it connects all the way to Sandy Point, making long loop walks down the beach and along the quiet lane to Sandy Point a real pleasure.
It was really important for us to research the house’s layout and features ahead of time so that we could determine what adaptations we would need for our group – and how WE would need to adapt. The deck, interior stairs and 2nd floor loft can be made safe for toddlers with the aid of safety netting; we brought our own netting and three child gates. Paul kindly provided ramps at the doorways for the wheelchairs. Guests learned ahead of time that they would be sharing bedrooms and bathrooms, and what degree of privacy to expect; expect to be flexible here. The 72-step wood stairway with railing leading down to the beach was rickety; I expect with the speed and conscientiousness with which Paul attends to things, it will be more secure soon. Adults always accompanied kids going down to the beach. We enjoyed kayak and bicycle outings with our own boats and bikes.

We all really enjoyed a relaxing and fun week in an environment, inside and out, that fulfilled our hopes for a real Maine retreat. I was proud to share my state with my extended family at this special spot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank Anita,
You have been my favorite guest this year. I admire the time and energy you put into making your families retreat perfect in every way. From the floor plans and preparation I witnessed you were amazing. Boats, trailer, netting and everything you coordinated was very impressive. Thank you for the great photos of your family in action we loved them. And finally thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful 5 star review of our property. Much thanks, Paul & Shankari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing