We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but those summer prices....ouch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

If you have a car and don't mind driving to points interesting, this could be your place. Cheaper than elsewhere in the summer, it was still ridiculously expensive. The place was a Hampton Inn, and like all well-run Hampton Inns, (there are a few that are not well run), this one was what one would expect, with a little extra "Maine nice" thrown in. The people there were warm and welcoming. The location great, if you want to visit the Maine mall or take a flight at the airport. For other attractions, you need the car. Not that anything is far away in Portland. It would recommend this hotel highly to those on a visit to the area.

Room Tip: stay off the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0ldengut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

In spite of my harried state, the Hampton folks mellowed me out. From the shuttle driver to the desk clerk, everyone was super. Room was clean, cool and comfortable. Nice bathroom. Really good night,s sleep. Almost enough to make me forget airline mess. Breakfast was ok. Good selection of items but just average in quality.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our guests, especially when they are pleased with our property.

We all try to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable during the stay. I am very pleased to hear that this was the case during your visit. I'll be sure to let my colleagues know that you appreciated their efforts.

We do hope to see you again next time you are in the Portland area.

If you have additional details you'd like to share with us feel free to contact us.

Best wishes,

Drew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Hotel was convenient to the freeway, mall, and restaurants and a short drive to Old Port. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and rooms were clean and comfortable. We could hear the freeway traffic from our room when air conditioner was not running.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tamra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our hotel. It's always great to hear from our guests, it's especially good to get a 5 star review.

We all try to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable. I'm pleased to hear that we did this during your stay.

We certainly hope you'll come visit us again in the near future next time you come into the Portland area.

If you have any additional comments or details that you would like to share with us please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best wishes,

Drew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Quiet hotel...You would never know you are so near the airport...Only about a 10 minute drive to the Old Port in Portland...Near major highways with easy off and on...Also near the Maine Mall if shopping is your 'thing!' I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank BarbaraC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It's always great hearing from our guests.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We all try to make sure all our guests are comfortable. It's good to hear that this was accomplished.

We certainly hope to see you again the next time you come into the Portland area.

If you have any additional comments or details you'd like to share please feel free to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Drew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

I returned to this hotel for a few reasons. It is close to the airport. The shuttle service is reliable even at 5:00 am. The buffet breakfast was set up by 4:30. The choices were numerous. You could have fruit, hot and cold cereal, bagels,muffins,or make your own waffles.
The staff is friendly. When I checked in I had a choice of rooms. The fresh baked cookies are a nice touch. I know I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank foodie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
2.6 km away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,434 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Address: 171 Philbrook Ave, South Portland, ME 04106-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Portland
#2 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: RM 347 - RM 986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Hampton Inn South Portland
South Portland Hampton Inn
Portland Airport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing