We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Harbour Cottage Inn(Southwest Harbor)
Book now, pay at stay
US$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$286
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Seas Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$387
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromwell Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
28
53
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
53
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingbit datedcontinental breakfast was greatquiet sidethe wi fibar harborlocation is greatfourth staynice balconysmall townacadia parkshort walk into townclassic mainelarge roomyogurtfour nightsbed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We checked in to the main motel, great sized balcony & amazing views. The room was a bit dated & mismatched, but clean & the bed was comfy. Shame there was no air conditioning. Breakfast was fine, yoghurts, bagels, the usual stuff. We took it to our room and ate on the balcony, or in the adirondack chairs in the garden. Close to shops & restaurants. Don't go here expecting luxury, but for the price great value, great view. My one concern was that the breakfast ladies stood at the reception door smoking, not good when all the signs say no smoking near doors.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

The Harbor View is a good deal. THere is a main 3 story building which houses the office and all rooms face the harbor. There is a parking lot in front of the main building; the lot is lined with a row of attached motel style units on each side of the lot. There is a little service road beyond the lot with a couple of cabins.

My experience: On the plus side, the Harbor view is affordable. It is walking distance to the little town center which had some nice eateries. The main building faces the harbor and is on the water. All rooms in the main building have water views. The staff is relaxed but nice and the feeling there was casual and laid back. There is a little breakfast, which, for health conscious eaters, probably won't be too attractive, but coffee and tea and real o j, in fridge, & bags of ice for the rooms was appreciated. On the top floor of the main building, there is a large room that has 3 separate beds and a fridge.. This was the only accommodation I could find in the wider Acadia area with 3 beds which was a great find and perfect for our needs. The room was large, the furnishings are old as others have commented on.. this is not an issue for us, as the bed was comfortable (at least the one I slept in) and I had a good night sleep in the bed. Coverlets are always kind of gross to me in hotels.. this was no exception.. there was some sand on ours which may me consider asking for a new coverlet. The wi fi seems to go to sleep about 11 pm every night.. during the day I didn't have a problem but it was frustrating at night when I was trying research to make plans for the following day.

The room at the 3rd floor is adjoined to another by a door that could allow these two rooms to open into a suite.. This would be great for a big family etc.. but,, for us two of the four nights we spent were very unpleasant because of it.. One night, one of our party who was sleeping in a bed against the adjoining wall said he was unable to sleep because of how loudly someone was snoring in the other room. The next night, the adults in that room had a party and we could hear every word, ice being dug into, voices growing more slurred louder, none of us slept until they did, which was after 2 am. I went to the desk at 1 am, but it was closed for the night.. That really is my only complaint and it is not something you can really plan for , you never know who youre going to get next door,, and the walls are very thin between.

Room Tip: water harborview in main building.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zephyrgirl335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Staff are great - friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful - walking distance to the small town of Southwest Harbor with several restaurants and stores. Do keep in mind these are Down East Maine tides - the photos are at high tide, and for hours each day, the bay empties, and you'll be looking at ocean bottom. Easy to get to Bar Harbor (although even in the off season parking there is a challenge), and same for Acadia park. The motel rate should be considered a bargain for the area. Our rate included a simple continental breakfast.
Cons: No air conditioning. It was unseasonably hot in early June, and the second floor unit we stayed in does not have cross ventilation unless the front door is left open. The motel does supply a fan. Interior is a bit dated. Frame construction transmits noise from the unit above - where during our stay a toddler apparently liked to get up as early as 5am and run across the floor. During off-season some local restaurants and shops may not be open, or have limited hours.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rtraveler10570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Public Relations Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. You did an excellent job describing your stay, including the surrounding area. I can understand your frustration in regards to the noise from above and the temperature being hotter than normal. 9 times out of 10, these are not issues and I apologize for the inconvenience. Typically, the ocean breeze keeps things reasonable as far as the temps are concerned, but we will look into ways to create better ventilation when needed. We hope you will come back and visit, as we are committed to improving the quality of stay for all of our guests.

Sedge Saunders
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

The property has both a couple of motel units and several cottages. We stayed in one of the larger cottages as we needed sleeping capacity for 5. Cute, comfortable, and convenient.

A bedroom downstairs for mom and dad, lus 3 beds upstairs for the kids. Perfect view of the Harbor to watch the activity and beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

Just a short 3 minute walk to downtown Southwest Harbor but it's off of Main Street about a quarter of a block so it's super quiet. Plenty of room for the kids to run and explore.

Clean, comfortable, and affordable. Being off the main track it's kind of a hidden gem.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank HalDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Public Relations Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your review of the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. Your description of the property and location was superb, and touched on why so many people enjoy staying at the Harbor View. It's practical in it's location to the lovely village of Southwest Harbor, but tucked away enough to provide privacy and tranquility. We hope you will come back again some day for another stay.

Sedge Saunders
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We have stayed st the Harbor View with friends many times over the years, and think it is absolutely delightful. Don't come here if you're looking for marble floors and gold fixtures. The rooms and cabinets are well-furnished, clean, and basic. The view is lovely, and it's so nice to be on the "quiet side" of Acadia. The little town of Southwest Harbor is a nice relief from the hectic activity in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cabritaBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Public Relations Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbor View Motel. Your description was spot on, and we're glad you have enjoyed your visits to Southwest Harbor and the Harbor View. You couldn't be more accurate in your account of the "quiet side". We hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Sedge Saunders
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews