We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 5 day stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor View Motel And Cottages
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Not the Ritz but we'd be happy to go back. Why? The motel room though older was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect with a view of the harbor and a short walk into town . We travel with our cat and it's pet friendly. We never did hear a dog bark. We had to go into Bar Harbor to get into Arcadia NP . It was so crowded I'd say it was mobbed. We were so glad we were staying on the quiet side. The WI Fi was spotty but ,hey, we were on vacation and it was good to be " disconnected ". If you can't live without it you can go to the office seating area or out on the office deck and you can get the WiFi connection. Pleasant journies, Hal

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We liked the location of Harbor View - just like the name says, a view of the harbor. Much of the time the tide was out, so the view was more mud than harbor - but that's when you can watch the herons and other birds, so not really an issue. When it warms up you can open the patio door and sit on your deck. Easy walk to restaurants downtown. Try for an upper floor in the main building - first floor was noisy: people moving around upstairs, people moving around and talking in the adjoining building, water running in other rooms - we felt guilty showering at 6:30 because we knew how much noise we were making for other rooms. But the price is great for the location, the folks in the office are friendly and helpful, and the location is great if you can live being away from the crowds in Bar Harbor. Bring shampoo. Stay again? If I could get a second floor room.

Room Tip: Go for second or third floor in the main building to avoid people walking on your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TskMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The hotel for the price was very good! The room was nice and the beds were very comfortable!! We had a family reunion..many rooms and a few cabins... the staff was outstanding!! The continental breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. It's nice to hear we were able to help with your family reunion. Our large campus, along with the variety of units, allow for large gatherings such as yours. I'm glad we were able to meet your needs. I do have one questions...if everything was above average in your description, why did you give an average rating? Thanks again for your review, and I hope you will come back and visit again soon.

Sedge Saunders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was our fourth stay at The Harbor View. It was another fantastic tay the woman who checked us in was very pleasant and accommodating. . It is a short walk to downtown and the quaint shops.
The room was clean and cozy we were very comfortable. We took a nice walk down to the harbor just a few yards from our room. The breakfast was a perfect pickme up for the morning hike.You can be sure you will see us again next summer. Thank You Fred

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0ach110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. It was nice to hear that you've been back a few times and we haven't disappointed you. You did a fantastic job describing some of the reasons why people come back each year, especially the ideal location for walking to town and enjoying all Southwest Harbor has to offer. You obviously have a good feel for the place and I'd love to hear some things you think we could improve on...we want to make sure we're staying up to date with the needs of our customers. Thanks for choosing the Harbor View Motel and we hope you come visit us again.

Sedge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My wife and I just finished our second stay at the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. Each stay was a perfect experience. Booking in advance was hassle free. At check in, the lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The room (102) was clean, clean, clean! The view was outstanding. The bed and furnishings were comfortable. The Red Sox could be found easily on the television. The location was quiet and tranquil. The view from the room and the porch was exceptional.The bathroom was spotless with great water pressure from the shower. When we checked out the following morning, we were once again greeted by two very pleasant ladies. We had a couple of cups of good hot coffee and delicious blueberry muffins.

I can't believe one can find a better deal in the region. A remarkable location, at a very affordable price! Even if there is a better deal in the Bar Harbor area, my wife and I won't go looking for it. We will be very happy staying for a third time at the Harbor View Motel and Cottages.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the first and second floors of the main building and both have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spwatson1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedge S, Manager at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbor View Motel. I was pleased to hear that your second trip to visit us was just as pleasant as the first. Your review did a nice job of emphasizing why so many people come back year after year. We take great pride in providing a clean environment, and I'm glad your room did not disappoint. We are continually striving to improve our guests' experience, so if there's anything we can improve on, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you.

Sedge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.6 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
3.5 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
15.1 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
15.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
15.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Motel And Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Motel And Cottages

Address: 11 Ocean Way, Box 701, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4426
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: RM270 - RM540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Motel and Cottages is a family friendly accommodation that has motel units, efficiencies, and cottages, and is located right on the water just outside of Southwest Harbor. We have a million dollar view overlooking the picturesque harbor and it is walking distance from the village which has many restaurants, cafes, and galleries. Please come visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbor View Motel And Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing