We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Southwest Harbor)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$290
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$218
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
US$278
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
US$228
US$222
Otel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Manor(Bar Harbor)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier One Vacation Rentals(Southwest Harbor)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
254
50
13
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
50
13
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housebar harborcrepesprosciuttoquiet sideeach morningbreakfast was deliciousshirred eggsfresh fruitgranolainteresting antiquesprivate entrancefront porchquiet respitecommon areas arearea attractionscommon room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We chose Harbour Cottage Inn to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and were delighted with our choice. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by innkeeper Don, who showed us to the Yawl Room on the second floor - a bright, cozy room with a very comfortable queen bed and ensuite bath.
Coffee and a nice variety of teas were available in the first floor gathering room. Breakfast was served at our choice of tables on the lovely outside porch or in the indoor dining area. A hot dish (shirred eggs on our first morning, Swiss cheese quiche on our second - both delicious!) was served with an herb biscuit and a choice of four sides - sausage, smoked salmon, artichokes or prosciutto, along with a wonderful fresh fruit salad and delicious warm muffins, scones, and breads. We enjoyed chatting with other guests as we had our breakfast.
An interesting variety of local activity brochures and menus were provided in the gathering room.
We loved the two-hour Rockefeller Bridge Carriage Tour at Wildwood Stables. We also enjoyed the Lighthouse Restaurant and its fabulous lobster stew for lunch. The Drydock Restaurant in SW Harbour was also delicious.
We would definitely return to the beautiful Harbour Cottage Inn on another visit to Acadia!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PamelaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonSouthwestHarbor, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

WE were honored too have you here for your 25th anniversary. Thanks for taking the time to write such a beautiful review and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

If you have a chance to move in time into the long lost past, would you miss it?

Yes, it is not inexpensive, but, I would say, it is part of experience you are searching in travel, the chance to meet other people, cross paths with future and the past, and leave long lasting memories. Every one of these things is here. We were staying in Captain's Nook, and our rooms were the part of the game. The Ship, the Sea, and Maine.

Some other reviewers were complaining about huge clatter of 'useless' things in common room, but for me it is just another detail of the picture.

Don, and his associate were excellent in their attention to guests. I am still surprised how quickly, and efficiently, they were serving at breakfast time. Minor mistake in our bill with Bookings was promptly fixed.

Also, I should add, the Inn was completely filled. Evidently the owners touch something which cause people to return.

Everything was clean, comfortable, and fitting.

Best wishes to owners, and future adventurers.

The

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vladimir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonSouthwestHarbor, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks a million for your warm and kind remarks. It is so nice to know that we are appreciated. We do get a high percentage of repeat guests which says a lot. We hope you will be one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I'd visited Acadia N.P. back in 2009 and stayed here with fond memories so I chose it again when visited with a group of 12 this September. Don, the inn keeper, is very nice and helpful. All the rooms are nicely decorated and maintained, although some of the beds are kind of too soft. We booked 5 rooms including the Southwest Suite for its kitchen and living room so our group can have a private gathering place. But only 1 bathroom for this 3-bedroom unit is a small drawback.

The breakfast is excellent! We were very lucky to have nice weather during our 4 days stay and sitting on the porch enjoying the delicious breakfast was such a treat! The inn is in a very quite neighborhood but very close (walking distance) to the Beal's Lobster Pier (wonderful lobster rolls!) and downtown Southwest Harbor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachell866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rachel we loved having you group. Repeat guest comprise a large part of our business and you brought many with you. Thanks for the vote of confidence. Everyone seemed to really enjoy being here. Come back for a 3rd time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We chose this inn because of its location as well as other reviews. It was all that had been described and more! My husband and I like the Southwest Harbour area as it is close to the National Park, has great restaurants and is quiet, quaint and pretty. The decor of the inn is bright, welcoming and comfy and the porch is a wonderful place to hang out after hiking. Don has an extensive knowledge of the area and helped with suggested hikes and restaurants. Javier was a master in the kitchen with breakfast of fresh fruit, muffins, biscuits and entree of the day. The room was nicely appointed, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The whole property is well maintained. The breakfast and housekeeping staff were well trained and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bingo! We truly surpassed your expectations. That is always our mission. Thanks for letting us know with such kind and heartfelt feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We loved this place! We were only able to stay one night, but we enjoyed it so much that we'll be back and hope to stay longer next time. The owner was very welcoming and did everything he could to ensure our comfort. The Inn is quite historic and elegant; it feels like one of those beautiful old coastal summer cottages. The rooms are charming, very clean and well-kept, and, despite the historic feel, they have modern amenities like A/C, heat, ceiling fans, cable TV, and very comfortable beds. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood, and it's an easy 10-minute walk to Main St. restaurants and shops. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and it being a nice morning, it was served outside on the porch. They also have a lovely breakfast room.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank sweaver606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

One night is never enough to enjoy this wonderful area.You mentioned wanting to come back and we so look forward to that. Thanks a million!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews