We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Serene and Beautiful Inn......Perfect Location on "The Quiet Side"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017

After more than 30 years of exploring the Maine Coastline and frequenting numerous Inns and Hotels.....I have to say that The Harbour Cottage Inn is second to none in its gracious hospitality , charm and peacefulness.. My corner room "The Dory" was immaculate..... more than comfortable with all the amenities one could hope for and a most comfortable King bed ! Don, the owner, was an awesome host. Very attentive and helpful in recommending dinning and local sites to see. This was my first experience at this Inn.....it most assuredly will not be the last. The Best B&B in my experience !

Room Tip: for extended stays the "Pier One" units are beautiful.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We chose Harbour Cottage Inn to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and were delighted with our choice. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by innkeeper Don, who showed us to the Yawl Room on the second floor - a bright, cozy room with a very comfortable queen bed and ensuite bath.
Coffee and a nice variety of teas were available in the first floor gathering room. Breakfast was served at our choice of tables on the lovely outside porch or in the indoor dining area. A hot dish (shirred eggs on our first morning, Swiss cheese quiche on our second - both delicious!) was served with an herb biscuit and a choice of four sides - sausage, smoked salmon, artichokes or prosciutto, along with a wonderful fresh fruit salad and delicious warm muffins, scones, and breads. We enjoyed chatting with other guests as we had our breakfast.
An interesting variety of local activity brochures and menus were provided in the gathering room.
We loved the two-hour Rockefeller Bridge Carriage Tour at Wildwood Stables. We also enjoyed the Lighthouse Restaurant and its fabulous lobster stew for lunch. The Drydock Restaurant in SW Harbour was also delicious.
We would definitely return to the beautiful Harbour Cottage Inn on another visit to Acadia!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PamelaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

If you have a chance to move in time into the long lost past, would you miss it?

Yes, it is not inexpensive, but, I would say, it is part of experience you are searching in travel, the chance to meet other people, cross paths with future and the past, and leave long lasting memories. Every one of these things is here. We were staying in Captain's Nook, and our rooms were the part of the game. The Ship, the Sea, and Maine.

Some other reviewers were complaining about huge clatter of 'useless' things in common room, but for me it is just another detail of the picture.

Don, and his associate were excellent in their attention to guests. I am still surprised how quickly, and efficiently, they were serving at breakfast time. Minor mistake in our bill with Bookings was promptly fixed.

Also, I should add, the Inn was completely filled. Evidently the owners touch something which cause people to return.

Everything was clean, comfortable, and fitting.

Best wishes to owners, and future adventurers.

The

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vladimir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I'd visited Acadia N.P. back in 2009 and stayed here with fond memories so I chose it again when visited with a group of 12 this September. Don, the inn keeper, is very nice and helpful. All the rooms are nicely decorated and maintained, although some of the beds are kind of too soft. We booked 5 rooms including the Southwest Suite for its kitchen and living room so our group can have a private gathering place. But only 1 bathroom for this 3-bedroom unit is a small drawback.

The breakfast is excellent! We were very lucky to have nice weather during our 4 days stay and sitting on the porch enjoying the delicious breakfast was such a treat! The inn is in a very quite neighborhood but very close (walking distance) to the Beal's Lobster Pier (wonderful lobster rolls!) and downtown Southwest Harbor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachell866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We chose this inn because of its location as well as other reviews. It was all that had been described and more! My husband and I like the Southwest Harbour area as it is close to the National Park, has great restaurants and is quiet, quaint and pretty. The decor of the inn is bright, welcoming and comfy and the porch is a wonderful place to hang out after hiking. Don has an extensive knowledge of the area and helped with suggested hikes and restaurants. Javier was a master in the kitchen with breakfast of fresh fruit, muffins, biscuits and entree of the day. The room was nicely appointed, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The whole property is well maintained. The breakfast and housekeeping staff were well trained and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
15.4 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
0.1 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
14.9 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
14.8 km away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 42 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
14.6 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: RM 561 - RM 1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing