We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently amazing!”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 2pm. Open Thursday through Sunday.
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We're up to the Ogunquit/Wells area 1x/2x a year and always make the trip to Congdons. Superlative food,...great selection, delicious baked goods (always have to bring home some fresh baked bread).The service is always fast and friendly. When we announced that we had brought some newcomers, our server quickly delivered a blueberry fritter and some donut holes for the table to share. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ImPackedRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi ImPackedRU,
We love hearing that we are a staple for your trips to Maine! Thank you for your great comments on our dishes and service. Our staff is always happy to take care of our guests and ensure that they have the best experience possible. Thank you for introducing your friends to Congdons! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Congdon’s is our favorite place in Wells We love the donuts and just about everything else. If you have a favorite you better get there very early in the morning or order the day before because they will sell out, they’re that good. You would think in November/December in a beach area this wouldn’t be a problem, think again. Got there on a Thursday around 12:30 parking lot was packed. The people are all very nice as well. A must try you won’t be disappointed

Thank Paulabear519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi Paula,
It's great to hear that we are a favorite of yours. We love hearing that our doughnuts are so tasty as are our other dishes. Thank you for your kind words and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Great! Period. Just great. Terrific food. Wonderful service. Terrific value. When we are in the area it’s our go to restaurant. Doughnuts are the best.

Thank Hartland28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi Hartland,
We're glad to hear that everything was so fantastic for you. It's great that Congdon's is a must visit for you when you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

These doughnuts are extremely tender and that is the best thing I can say about it. Though one might want to know why this is so. One thought I have is that they use an incredible amount of fat, which some people may not like. Or perhaps some suspicious method. Outside of that, the doughnuts definitely taste, and even look, artificial. I personally highly doubt there is real chocolate or lemon in the doughnuts I had, though maybe I am wrong. There probably is fake color. Also, the doughnuts are not very big at $1.79 each. I have had real gourmet doughnuts at Kane's in Saugus MA where you can tell they use real cream and other pure ingredients, and they are far superior to these. I would like to know why the doughnuts are so oddly tender...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Hello Daniel,
We're sorry our doughnuts didn't delight you. Rest assured there's nothing suspicious about the method in which we make our doughnuts -- just the same recipe our family has used for more than 60 years. There are no preservatives and the level of fat is consistent with any other doughnut, including Kane's, which we agree is another top-notch bakery. Our customers rave about the freshness of our doughnuts, so we're surprised to hear your experience wasn't the same. We are proud of our flavors and are quite particular about the products we use. We hope you give us another shot at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Saw this donut shop in a recent review and had to stop by. There were lots of varieties and we had a hard time choosing, but we a couple. For me to rate a good donut shop you need to try the plain then some of the different choices. The plain was light sweet and a top quality donut. The blueberry powered one was unique and excellent as well. We were extremely pleased with this place and will be back soon to try more including what looked to me a decadent whoopee pie. Well worth the stop.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NHNative2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi NH Native,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed the variety of doughnuts that we offer and liked the doughnuts that you tried. We hand make our doughnuts every day to provide the freshest doughnuts our guests can get. We look forward to seeing you again to try some more of our tasty treats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing