We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Apathetic Customer Service Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Do not stay at any Marriott Suites location - and especially the one in Bethesda, MD. Staff, customer service associates, and even escalation managers are as dismissive, irresponsible, and apathetic as they come. Marriott takes no ownership for wrong doings to customers, and hide behind legislative mandates that makes customers feel like liabilities instead of as guests. Do not trust them to stand by you if anything goes wrong during your stay and do not expect them to run any sort of thorough investigation if you file a claim. In fact, they will err on the side of the company instead of the side of the customer because, you know, then they'd have to admit a wrong, which they clearly do not know how to do. Avoid at ALL costs.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nashua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shani B, Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Greetings Nashua M-
Thank you again for bringing this issue to our attention. As discussed in our previous communications, our leadership team has done everything possible in cooperation with our Consumer Affair and corporate offices to investigate your claim. I am so sorry that you feel this has not been resolved to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Consistently overbooked so despite a confirmed reservation you are told there is no availability. Nearest 'alternative' hotel is over 20 minutes away without traffic and well over 40 minutes in traffic. They are unapologetic and refuse to honor Marriott's overbooking policies. Extraordinarily poor service especially in management. Will never stay at this property again. Rebooking 6 future reservations to non-Marriott properties.

Room Tip: Avoid this property altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GreeneAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsanc086, Front Office Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear GreeneAL
I sincerely apologize for not being able to honor your reservation, as it had been previously confirmed. Unfortunately, we were in a sold-out situation and wanted to ensure that you had accommodations in one of our sister hotels. We value your loyalty, and I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding the Marriott relocation policies. If you would like to share more information, please feel free to contact me at berta.orellana@marriott.com or by calling 301-897-5600.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Bethesda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Platinum member for context but after this I probably will start avoiding Marriott. Late flight. I show up around 1 AM. Doors locked so I need to call the front desk to let me in. They cannot honor my reservation so they put me in a cab to another hotel in another town. Coming in from west coast, this meant I had to stay up extra late and wake up extra early, allowing an extra 45 mins of travel in the morning due to traffic. I come in and they hold my bags and I get a room for my second night at least. They were all apologetic because as a platinum member I am supposed to get a bunch of points for the inconvenience. They tried several times to get out of it and each time I had to show them the policy. At checkout they found a loophole they were willing to stand behind and declined to honor what they reluctantly but surely promised the night before. They happily gave me the finger as soon as they felt that they didn't have to do anything despite the craziness of the first night.

The hotel was nice enough, despite some brown (rust?) stains on towels and some staining on the floor in the shower. I will avoid it in the future though, knowing how they treat people.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mgslp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsanc086, Front Office Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Mgslp1,
My sincere apologies for the inconveniences this may have caused you during your travel, I definitely understand how stressful this may have been especially because you travelled from so far to stay with us. This is not the level of service we strive to offer. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your benefits as a Platinum Elite Member. Please feel free to contact me via e-mail or phone berta.orellana@marriott.com
301-897-5600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel is exceptional for business travel. The staff is welcoming from the moment you walk in the door. The service at the bar at night time is top notch and the food is good if you don't want to venture out. My only complaint about the bar area at night is that it can get a bit loud when groups are meeting for Happy Hour. This is to be expected, though, in a lounge area.

Breakfast at the bar area is also nice. The staff is helpful, and while the selection is limited it is great for a grab and go meal.

I always take the shuttle to our office, and the shuttle staff is always super nice. They have the routes down and you will make it to your destination safe and sound.

The rooms are very nice with a separate seating area and bedroom. I enjoy being able to relax in the seating area before heading to bed.

Be sure to sign up for Marriot rewards so you get the free WiFi!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDJ_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hello PDJ_TX - We appreciate the excellent rating and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind words about the staff service as well as the food. I was also happy to read that you found our shuttle to be very convenient. If I can ever be of any assistance with any future reservations, please let me know. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel was fine. Clean and comfortable bed. The issue I have is with a staff member. When I was down eating breakfast there was a staff member, male, in a white jacket talking to some servers by the breakfast buffet. He said loud enough for anyone by the buffet to hear - "I am going down to Texas with my boat to make some money. I will tell them - you want off your roof? Give me $10." I about dropped my plate. SERIOUSLY??? This is a national tragedy, something that people have died from, many people hurt and countless displaced from their homes and you are talking about making money off of them?? SHAME ON YOU!!! Unfortunately it makes me want to never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heidi637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shani B, Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Greetings heidi637, I would like to sincerely apologize for the interaction you were witness to in our restaurant on August 30th. Those comments you overheard are not only inappropriate but insensitive as well. I am as shocked and disgusted as you are and rest assured I will deal with the matter personally.
What you experienced is certainly not our standard level of service and if you would like to share any additional details about your experience, please feel free to reach out to me directly at shani.burton@marriott.com.
If you are ever in the Bethesda area again, I would like to welcome you back and allow us to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
3.1 km away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
149 reviews
5.0 km away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
5.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
434 reviews
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
5.8 km away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20817
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: RM420 - RM1,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott Suites welcomes guests with inviting hospitality and spacious suite accommodations that are perfect for long stays. Our sophisticated extended-stay hotel in Bethesda, Maryland lets travelers enjoy large guestrooms conveniently located near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and 3 major airports. We are also close to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda
Bethesda Marriott Suites Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing