We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Repurposed Church Coffee Shop”

Beans in the Belfry
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Award winning destination coffee house in a century old historic church building in a historic small railroad town. Open daily from 8am to 9pm, on Friday and Saturday until 10pm and on Sunday until 7pm. We offer a relaxed atmosphere with table and couch seating. Our coffee is always organic, fair trade and freshly roasted. We serve artisan tea, chai, all espresso drinks such as latte, mocha, cappuccino; also local and imported craft beer and wine. Our food menu includes all day breakfast, panini sandwiches, soups, salads, and delicious baked goods such as cakes, pies, dessert bars, many of them made in house. On most Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings we offer live music such as blues, folk, bluegrass, popular tunes; on Sunday we serve a four-course brunch to the tunes of a live jazz band from 11am to 2pm .
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Nice to see an old church not go to waste. Beans in the Belfry has a cool individual feel to it. It’s quiet and relaxing.

The staff is courteous and the coffee is really good. I’d venture to say it’s the best coffee in Brunswick.

In town, need coffee, check the place out. Worth a stop in. They have all the coffee you need, from house brewed to iced to all the froufrou drinks. They also have an assortment of deserts in a glass case that just beg you to try them.




1  Thank R0BS411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna P, Owner at Beans in the Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hello R0B, thank you for stopping in and giving us a high rating for atmosphere, service and best coffee in town!!! Yes, our coffee is single origin, organic, fair trade and locally roasted just for us in Frederick. We grind a batch shortly before brewing, and that's a safe way to get great coffee. Oh, also, we have a water conditioning system so the full flavor of coffee can be realized. Glad you saw our pastry case. We bake the pies in house, and most of the dessert bars, and some of the cakes. Other items are commercially baked for us by reputable 'names'. We look forward to seeing you again soon, the Beans' team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Met a friend here for lunch after a music session. An old church respectfully repurposed as a casual restaurant in the middle of and old American town. Ambiance was amazing; bluegrass string groups jamming in the choir area on the balcony area and people just stopping by for casual conversation or a full meal. A wide variety of excellent foods and great service at fair prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna P, Owner at Beans in the Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Paul, what a dream review from you. It sounds like I dictated it myself. Thank you so much for your visit and for your kind words. Your high rating really gives us a boost of energy to keep on working hard to create a good experience for our customers. We look forward to seeing you and your friend again soon. Hanna and the Beans' team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

It’s simple cozy and welcoming. A great place to relax and meet old friends and or discuss business in a casual atmosphere

Thank VictorManwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna P, Owner at Beans in the Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Victor, thank you for your visit and kind comments. We appreciate your review. If you have suggestions that would earn us a higher rating from you, we would really be grateful if you would send them directly to customerservice@beansinthebelfry.com We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We went to the Sunday Jazz Brunch to celebrate the birthday at this former church building. The place is quirky, with traditional tables, in addition to couches, nooks, and a balcony. The acoustics were great for the music. The food was fresh and served quickly. Make sure to visit the bakery case before you leave.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bess_A_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna P, Owner at Beans in the Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hello Bess, thank you so much for celebrating a birthday during our Sunday Jazz Brunch. I am so glad everything was to your liking. How kind of you to leave a high rating for us on this site and to let prospective customers know about us. We look forward to seeing you again. We'll be sure to have a bakery case well stocked! Hanna and the Beans' team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Their menu is diverse and eclectic and yummy. Great sandwiches and desserts that will make your mouth water. They often have live bands and other activities .

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beans in the Belfry also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Beans in the Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing