We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great hosts, fabulous porch”

The Cambridge House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cambridge House
Ranked #2 of 5 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We had planned a trip through Cambridge on our way to friends in Delaware and it should have been a sleepy visit but the Ironman competition had been rained out due to those heavy storms but little Cambridge pulled together and gave those men and women a second chance! An amazing feat indeed. The Cambridge House supplied us all with ear plugs for the night as we were not that far from the finish line and the cutoff time was midnight.

The B&B is charming, our first floor room was roomy, the breakfasts were terrific and the entire feel was like coming to really great friends to visit....and friends with an ecological bent to boot.

As usually happens at a great B&B the morning chat, sharing ideas and discovering less than 6 degrees of separation amongst us.

Our room was very comfortable and larger than expected. The bathroom was nice and since I prefer a shower not having a tub was no problem for us.

Jim and Marianne Benson are wonderful hosts and very good about directing you to good places.

We look forward to the spring and a visit back up to Cambridge!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015

This B&B is right in the heart of Cambridge, a short walk to restaurants and shops on Poplar Street. We stayed for two days over the July 4th weekend and walked down to the water to see the spectacular fireworks display that Cambridge puts on. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts good. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stoupagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had an easy and enjoyable stay. The house and rooms are spacious and the prices was right. It is in a great location and almost everything is in walking distance. The dog and cat were a fun addition. There is a hot tub. Delicious coffee and tea machine. In walking distance of a
lighthouse museum and large dock area. Breakfasts were good albeit could be a little warmer.
Nice porch outside.

Room Tip: There is a fair amount of traffic at nite, so If you are a lite sleeper it may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Cambridge House is a great value and has the ideal location; 5-7 minute walk to either the marina/lighthouse in one direction or the many restaurants and street festivals on Poplar/Race streets in the other. It also seemed like one of the few B&Bs in the St. Michaels/Cambridge area that was reasonably priced and didn't insist on a 7-day cancellation policy (only 3-day), which was important for us. My wife and I stayed in the Hunt Room, which was large, roomy, with nice windows, an electric fireplace and a bathroom (including walk-in shower). The queen bed was not super comfortable, however; they could do with a mattress upgrade, although I will admit that my wife and I are super picky about mattresses. Also, if you care about that sort of thing, there seemed to be some carpet discoloration where you first walk in. But the room was very clean and pleasant overall. The Cambridge House has no feathers in any of its rooms--important as we are allergic--and we appreciated having the fan in the room. We didn't end up using the hot tub, which didn't look very private to me. The owners are very nice people. Also, the cat and dog that lived there were nice animals, not noisy, and didn't seem to bother anyone. We had breakfast the first day, which was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greyjoy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Looking for a relaxing overnight get-away, we booked an evening at the Cambridge House. We couldn't have been more pleased. The big rambling house afforded lots of privacy and the room was large and comfortable. Doors stick here and there and the angles are awkward in places, but that is part of the property's charm. The location couldn't be better - a block from the wharf and a short stroll from downtown. The front porch was a great spot to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the world go. To top it off breakfast was quite good.

The hosts are very welcoming and seem eager to please. As one reviewer noted, there is a dog who has free range of the house. We can take or leave dogs so no matter. The only time it was an issue when when the dog chose to nuzzle up next to the table watching us while we ate breakfast. Securing the dog during meal time will solve that problem.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
187 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
14.9 km away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
0.4 km away
Albanus Phillips Inn
Albanus Phillips Inn
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge House

Address: 112 High St., Cambridge, MD 21613-1844
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: RM124 - RM556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cambridge House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic getaway or a productive business retreat in this charming 1847 manor located in the historic district, within walking distance to the marina, restaurants, specialty shops, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing