We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to camp in the D.C. area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Cherry Hil was recommended to us by several people as the place to camp while visiting the D.C. area, and I can see why. The campground is clean, well maintained and has all the amenities you want in a campground and then some. The laundry room was the nicest and largest I have ever seen in a campground. The staff is very helpful and they give you a lot of important information when you arrive. The location is great as well, just off the highway and close to the Metro. There is even a bus to take you to the Metro if you don't want to drive there yourself. The sites are a good size. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: Not a hotel but a campground. A bit pricey for a campground, but worth it for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn T, Guest Relations Manager at Cherry Hill Park Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us! Happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Cherry Hill is a great place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi and cable work well. The 2 pools are clean and nice. There is a sauna and cafe for breakfast, lunch , or dinner. Plenty of space for everyone to stretch out. They have bus service to the metro to DC and beyond. If you have time, don't miss the night tour from Cherry Hill to all the monuments. It is fabulous!!! The guide is extremely knowlegable, friendly and talked just about non stop from 6 to 11 ~ it was all VERY interesting! There is a good bit of walking but so worth it! We highly recommend a stay in this park if you are in the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank papadaPawleysIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn T, Guest Relations Manager at Cherry Hill Park Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed our tour! Thanks for coming, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here three nights in the tent sites. Overall the campground is great, amenities fantastic. The tent sites are in a 'secluded' area of the campground, the drawback being the noise from the highway. It doesn't stop, and at night you can expect the sound of loud race-rocket motorcycles and jake braking tractor trailers. I think a little more attention could be paid to the leveling of the tent sites as well. We slept at an unavoidable annoying slight downhill grade. Bathroom 2 for the tentsites is wonderful. Exceptionally clean, with free, untimed hot showers. The pressure drops when toilets flush, but it stays hot. The main bathhouse at the pool area could use some upgrading/attention. Breakfast at the cafe is affordable and satisfying. Overall an enjoyable stay, way cheaper than local hotels....which is our aim in traveling. We will be staying here whenever we are in town to visit/retrieve our daughter from college. Don't hesitate to book a site here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ppin1pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn T, Guest Relations Manager at Cherry Hill Park Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks very much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we'll take your suggestions on level sites and noise into account as we continue to make improvements. We are currently in the process of putting in camping pods, enclosed camping structures that will help block road noise and (we hope) help buffer noise for the other tent sites as well. We hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The 2 reasons why we didn't give it 5 stars were because our site wasn't larger and we prefer more of the state park feel. Other than that the park offers tons for families, movies every night, 2 pools, splash pad, hot tub, small cafe, arcade, jungle gym, lounge area, miniature golf, courts, very clean washroom/shower. Staff were great with tourism help. We would definitely return to this campground. The area I liked the best for parking your trailer would be Carlsbad Cove along the outside.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dadsunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed a week July 2017. Huge campground, but very quiet, clean restrooms, pool area - 2 pools with 2 lifeguards, snack bar/cafe/ice cream by the pool area, several washer/dryers, sitting areas, they show a movie nightly, hay rides, splash area, mini golf, great store for camping needs, can buy bus/train passes on site, bus comes to the site, the train station is only 4-5 miles away with lots of parking. Our site had a grill, picnic table, another table with 4 chairs, 2 sewer ports which was awesome, as our toy hauler is 38 feet long and was easy to hook up sewer and grey waste without stretching hoses. The spots are all pretty level, so quick setup. Staff are great, check in was quick, which was amazing, there were about 7-8 campers lined up to check in. Grocery store, restaurants are close by. Would definitely stay here again! Also, have nice playground for kids, walking trail, ponds and some neat cabins for rent.

Room Tip: It is a campground, all the sites looked great. You just have to make sure of your camper size.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these College Park hotels
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#4 of 11 in College Park
492 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
2.5 km away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#8 of 11 in College Park
303 reviews
2.4 km away
Super 8 College Park Wash DC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in College Park
Price Range: RM 787 - RM 834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing